About the Child Disability Benefit (CDB)

  1. What is the Child Disability Benefit?
  2. When is the Child Disability Benefit payment issued?
  3. Who can receive the Child Disability Benefit?
  4. My child has a disability. Is my child eligible for the Child Disability Benefit?
  5. How do I apply for the Child Disability Benefit?
  6. How is the Child Disability Benefit calculated?
  7. How much income can I earn and still be entitled to the Child Disability Benefit?

1. What is the Child Disability Benefit?
The Child Disability Benefit (CDB) is a tax-free benefit of up to $2,695 per year ($224.58 per month) for families who care for a child under age 18 with a severe and prolonged impairment in physical or mental functions.

2. When is the Child Disability Benefit payment issued?
The CDB is paid monthly to individuals who are eligible for the Canada Child Tax Benefit (CCTB) and also as a supplement to the Children's Special Allowances (CSA).

3. Who can receive the Child Disability Benefit?
Families who are eligible for the CCTB for a child will receive the CDB only if the child is also eligible for the disability tax credit.

4. My child has a disability. Is my child eligible for the Child Disability Benefit?
Not necessarily. To be eligible for the CDB, the child must have a severe and prolonged impairment in physical or mental functions. An impairment is prolonged if it has lasted, or is expected to last, for a continuous period of at least 12 months. A medical practitioner has to complete and certify that the child has a severe and prolonged impairment and must describe its effects on Form T2201, Disability Tax Credit Certificate. Once the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) receives a completed Form T2201, the CRA will advise you if the child is eligible for the disability tax credit and the CDB supplement.

For more information go to the disability tax credit.

5. How do I apply for the Child Disability Benefit?
If you are eligible for the CCTB but you have not filed Form T2201, Disability Tax Credit Certificate, for a child who may be eligible for the CDB supplement complete only the sections of Part A of Form T2201 that apply to you, ask a medical practitioner to complete and certify Part B. Send your completed and signed form to your tax centre. The Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) will determine whether or not you are eligible  for the disability tax credit and the CDB supplement.

You can send the form to the CRA at any time during the year. By sending the CRA your form before you file your income tax and benefit return, you may prevent a delay in your assessment. The CRA will review your form before we assess your return. Keep a copy of the completed form for your records.

If you have already applied for the Canada Child Tax Benefit (CCTB) for a child who is eligible for the disability tax credit, the CDB will be calculated automatically for the current and the two previous CCTB benefit years. Beyond these benefit years, a written request to the appropriate tax centre or tax services office will have to be submitted.

If you have not applied for the CCTB for your child, but have already filed Form T2201, complete and send Form RC66, Canada Child Benefits Application to your tax centre. The CRA will determine whether or not you are eligible for the CCTB and the CDB supplement.

Fees
You are responsible for any fees that a medical practitioner charges to complete Form T2201 or to give the CRA more information. However, you may be able to claim these fees  as medical expenses on line 330 or line 331 of your income tax and benefit return. See your tax package for details.

6. How is the Child Disability Benefit calculated?

For the period of July 2015 to June 2016, the CDB provides up to $2,695 per year ($224.58 per month) for each child who is eligible for the disability amount.

The CDB amount is calculated using a base amount, which is associated with the number of children for whom you receive the CCTB. You will receive the full CDB amount if your adjusted family net income is less than the base amount for your family size, as indicated in the chart below.

The following chart lists the income levels that the CDB will begin to be reduced depending upon the number of children you have.
Number of children for whom you receive the CCTB

Base amount

1

$44,701

2

$44,695

3

$44,678

4

$50,438

5

$56,198

6

$61,958

7

$67,717

8

$73,477

9 or more

Contact the CRA

If your adjusted family net income is more than the base amount, your CDB will be reduced as follows:

  • If you have one child who is eligible for the CDB, the amount of CDB is reduced by 2% of your adjusted family net income that is more than the base amount for one child for which you receive the CCTB (see the above chart).
  • If you have two or more children who are eligible for the CDB, the amount of CDB is reduced by 4% of your adjusted family net income that is more than the base amount for the number of children for which you receive the CCTB (see the above chart).

7. How much income can I earn and still be entitled to the Child Disability Benefit?
You can determine the amount of income you can earn and still be entitled to the Child Disability Benefit by referring to our Child Disability Benefit Guideline Table.

Date modified:

Au sujet de la prestation pour enfants handicapés (PEH)

  1. Qu'est-ce que la prestation pour enfants handicapés?
  2. Quand la prestation pour enfants handicapés est-elle versée?
  3. Qui peut recevoir la prestation pour enfants handicapés?
  4. Mon enfant a une déficience. Est-il admissible à la prestation pour enfants handicapés?
  5. Comment demander la prestation pour enfants handicapés?
  6. Comment l'Agence du revenu du Canada calcule-t-elle la prestation pour enfants handicapés?
  7. Quel est le revenu maximum que je peux gagner avant de devenir inadmissible à la prestation pour enfants handicapés?

1. Qu'est-ce que la prestation pour enfants handicapés?
La prestation pour enfants handicapés (PEH) est un montant non imposable pouvant atteindre 2 695 $ par année
(224.58 $ par mois). Elle est destinée aux familles qui subviennent aux besoins d'un enfant de moins de 18 ans ayant une déficience grave et prolongée des fonctions physiques ou mentales.

2. Quand la prestation pour enfants handicapés est-elle versée?
La PEH est versée mensuellement aux particuliers admissibles à la prestation fiscale canadienne pour enfants (PFCE) et aussi comme supplément aux allocations spéciales pour enfants (ASE).

3. Qui peut recevoir la prestation pour enfants handicapés?
Les familles qui sont admissibles à la PFCE auront droit à la PEH seulement si leur enfant est admissible au crédit d’impôt  pour personnes handicapées.

4. Mon enfant a une déficience. Est-il admissible à la prestation pour enfants handicapés?
Pas nécessairement. Pour être admissible à la PEH, l’enfant doit avoir une déficience grave et prolongée des fonctions physiques ou mentales. Une déficience est prolongée si elle a durée ou si on peut s'attendre à ce qu'elle dure au moins 12 mois consécutifs. Un professionnel de la santé doit indiquer et attester que l'enfant a une déficience grave et prolongée et doit en décrire les effets sur  le formulaire T2201, Certificat pour le crédit d'impôt pour personnes handicapées.

Lorsque l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) aura reçu le formulaire T2201 dûment rempli, l'ARC vous avisera si l'enfant est admissible au crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées et au supplément de la PEH.

Pour en savoir plus, allez au crédit d'impôt pour personnes handicapées.

5. Comment demander la prestation pour enfants handicapés?
Si vous êtes admissible à la PFCE, mais que vous n'avez pas soumis le formulaire T2201, Certificat pour le crédit d'impôt pour personnes handicapées, pour un enfant qui pourrait être admissible au supplément de la PEH, remplissez seulement les sections de la partie A du formulaire T2201 qui s’applique à vous, demandez à un professionnel de la santé de remplir et d’attester la partie B. Envoyez le formulaire complété et signé à votre centre fiscal. L'ARC déterminera ensuite si vous êtes admissible ou non au crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées et au supplément de la PEH.

Vous pouvez envoyer le formulaire à l'ARC à n'importe quel moment de l'année. En envoyant votre formulaire à l'ARC avant de produire votre déclaration de revenus et de prestations, vous pouvez éviter des retards dans la cotisation de votre déclaration. L'ARC examinera votre formulaire avant d'établir la cotisation de votre déclaration. Conservez une copie de ce formulaire pour vos dossiers.

Si vous avez déjà présenté une demande pour la Prestation fiscale canadienne pour enfants (PFCE) pour un enfant admissible au crédit d'impôt pour personnes handicapées, la PEH sera calculée automatiquement pour l'année courante et les deux années de versement de prestations antérieures de la PFCE. Au-delà de ces années de prestations, il faudra soumettre une demande écrite au centre fiscal approprié ou au bureau des services fiscaux.

Si vous n'avez pas demandé la PFCE pour votre enfant, mais que vous avez déjà soumis le formulaire T2201, remplissez le formulaire RC66, Demande de prestations canadiennes pour enfants et envoyez-le à votre centre fiscal. L'ARC déterminera ensuite si vous êtes admissible à la PFCE et au supplément de la PEH.

Frais
Vous êtes responsable de  tous les frais exigés par le professionnel de la santé pour remplir le formulaire T2201 ou pour fournir plus de renseignements à l'ARC. Toutefois, vous pourriez les demander comme frais médicaux à la ligne 330 ou à la ligne 331 de votre déclaration de revenus et de prestations. Pour en savoir plus, consultez votre guide d'impôt.

6. Comment la prestation pour enfants handicapés est-elle calculée?
Pour la période de juillet 2015 à juin 2016, la PEH pourra atteindre 2 695 $ (c'est à dire 224,58 $ par mois) pour chaque enfant qui est admissible au crédit d'impôt pour personnes handicapées.

Le montant de la PEH est calculé à partir d'un montant de base qui est déterminé en fonction du nombre d'enfants pour lesquels vous recevez la PFCE. Vous recevrez le montant total de la PEH si votre revenu net familial rajusté est inférieur au montant de base correspondant à la taille de votre famille, tel qu'indiqué dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Le diagramme suivant énumère le niveau des revenus à partir du moment où la PEH commencera à être réduite en fonction du nombre d’enfant(s) que vous avez.
Nombre d'enfants pour lesquels vous recevez la PFCE         Montant de base
1 44 701 $
2 44 695 $
3 44 678 $
4 50 438 $
5 56 1984
6 61 958 b$
7 67 717 $
8 73 477 $
9 ou plus Communiquez avec l'ARC

Si votre revenu net familial rajusté est supérieur au montant de base, la PEH sera réduite comme suit :

  • Si vous avez un enfant admissible à la PEH, le montant de PEH sera réduit de 2 % de la partie de votre revenu net familial rajusté qui dépasse le montant de base pour un enfant pour lesquels vous recevez la PFCE  (voir le tableau ci-dessus).
  • Si vous avez deux enfants ou plus admissibles à la PEH, le montant de PEH sera réduit de 4 % de la partie de votre revenu net familial rajusté qui dépasse le montant de base pour le nombre d'enfants pour lesquels vous recevez la PFCE (voir le tableau ci-dessus).

7. Quel est le revenu maximum que je peux gagner avant de devenir inadmissible à la prestation pour enfants handicapés?
Vous pouvez déterminer le montant de revenu que vous pouvez gagner tout en demeurant admissible à la prestation pour enfants handicapés, en consultant le Tableau de référence de la prestation pour enfants handicapés.

Date de modification :