Indians

We want you to be aware of tax benefits that apply to you as an Indian under the Canadian Indian Act. We also want to provide you with general information regarding the application of the exemption under section 87 of the Indian Act and its effect on income tax, the goods and services tax/harmonized sales tax (GST/HST) and excise taxes. There may be exceptions to the information we have provided here, and we have not dealt with all situations.

Note

We recognize that many First Nations people in Canada prefer not to describe themselves as Indians. However, we use the term Indian because it has a legal meaning in the Indian Act.

Important notice

If you are entitled to be registered as an Indian under Bill C-3 (also known as the Gender Equity in Indian Registration Act), you may qualify for the Indian Act tax exemption for property situated on a reserve starting on January 31, 2011. This is the date that Bill C-3 came into effect.

Only income you earn, or purchases you make on or after January 31, 2011, may be exempt from tax.

If you are entitled to be registered as an Indian because of the creation of the Qalipu Mi'kmaq First Nation Band, then you may qualify for the Indian Act tax exemption for property situated on a reserve starting on September 22, 2011.

Only income you earn, or purchases you make on or after September 22, 2011 , may be exempt from tax.

Proof of registration with Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is necessary to claim the tax exemption. For general information about Bill C-3, including how to register as an Indian with AANDC, please visit the AANDC Web site.

Forms and publications

Access to forms and publications that Aboriginal peoples may need

Tax information for individuals: All topics A to Z

To get a list of all tax topics organized in alphabetical order, select a letter.

Information for...

Links to government partners

Indiens

Nous voulons vous informer des avantages relatifs à l'impôt auxquels vous avez droit en tant qu'Indien en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens du Canada. Nous voulons aussi vous donner des renseignements généraux concernant la demande d'exemption en vertu de l'article 87 de la Loi sur les Indiens, ainsi que les effets qu'elle a sur l'impôt sur le revenu, la taxe sur les produits et services/taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH) et les taxes d'accise. Il peut y avoir des exceptions relativement aux renseignements fournis, et nous n'avons pas tenu compte de toutes les situations.

Remarque

Nous savons que beaucoup de membres des Premières nations du Canada préfèrent ne pas se définir comme des Indiens. Toutefois, nous utilisons ce terme parce qu'il est défini dans la Loi sur les Indiens.

Avis important

Si vous êtes en droit d'être inscrit comme Indien en vertu du projet de loi C-3 (aussi connu comme la Loi sur l'équité entre les sexes relativement à l'inscription au registre des Indiens), vous pourriez être admissible à l'exemption d'impôt selon la Loi sur les Indiens pour les biens meubles situés dans une réserve à partir du 31 janvier 2011. C'est la date à laquelle le projet de loi C-3 est entré en vigueur.

Seuls les revenus que vous gagnez ou les achats que vous faites à partir du 31 janvier 2011, peuvent être exemptés d'impôt.

Si vous êtes en droit d'être inscrit comme Indien en vertu de la création de la bande de la Première Nation des Mi'kmaq qalipu, vous pourriez être admissible à l'exemption d'impôt selon la Loi sur les Indiens pour les biens meubles situés dans une réserve à partir du 22 septembre 2011.

Seuls les revenus que vous gagnez ou les achats que vous faites à partir du 22 septembre 2011, peuvent être exemptés d'impôt.

Preuve d'enregistrement avec Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) est nécessaire pour demander l'exemption fiscale. Pour des informations générales sur le projet de loi C-3, y compris la façon de s'inscrire comme Indien avec AADNC, s'il vous plaît visitez le site Web d'AADNC.

Formulaires et publications

Accès aux formulaires et aux publications dont pourraient avoir besoin les Autochtones

Renseignements à l'intention des...

Liens à des partenaires du gouvernement