Housing and charitable registration

Guidance

Reference number
CG-022

Issued
February 7, 2014

Table of contents


This guidance updates and replaces Policy Statement CPS-020, Applicants that are Established to Relieve Poverty by Providing Rental Housing for Low-Income Tenants.

Note: The Canada Revenue Agency is developing more comprehensive guidance that will address additional issues related to the provision of housing by registered charities.

Summary

This guidance discusses the provision of housing that:

  • relieves poverty
  • includes specially adapted facilities or services that assist eligible beneficiaries to overcome or manage conditions associated with disabilities or with the aged

Note: Providing housing, shelter, or accommodation can further other charitable purposes not discussed in this guidance.

Housing that relieves poverty

1. Providing comfortable, modest [Footnote 1] housing to beneficiaries that are poor at less than fair market value can relieve poverty.

2. Eligible beneficiaries of purposes that relieve poverty may be described as individuals or families that are needy, necessitous, underprivileged, low-income, of small/limited means, or other judicially recognized synonyms. It may be possible to further restrict eligible beneficiaries of purposes that relieve poverty through a second characteristic (for example, poor seniors).

3. For more information on eligible beneficiaries of purposes that relieve poverty see Policy statement CPS‑024, Guidelines for registering a charity: Meeting the public benefit test.

4. An organization must assess the eligibility of beneficiaries of housing that relieves poverty at least annually. Eligibility criteria should include the income, as well as assets and liabilities of all potential or actual beneficiaries.

5. In addition, an organization must establish and adhere to reasonable policies and procedures for dealing with situations where individuals or families no longer qualify for housing that relieves poverty.

6. Many organizations that provide housing to relieve poverty have purposes that also allow them to provide other necessities or associated amenities such as:

  • meals
  • basic utilities
  • clothing
  • furniture
  • counselling

7. The following is an example of a charitable purpose that relieves poverty by providing housing:

  • to relieve poverty by providing residential accommodation at below market rate, and by providing support and incidental facilities to individuals or families who are in need

8. For more examples of purposes that relieve poverty go to Model purposes. Also see Guidance CG-019, How to draft purposes for charitable registration.

Housing that includes specially adapted facilities, services, or other amenities

9. Providing comfortable, modest housing [Footnote 2] that includes specially adapted facilities, services, or other amenities can provide eligible beneficiaries with relief from conditions associated with mental or physical disabilities, or conditions associated with the aged. [Footnote 3] The organization must ensure that this type of housing helps beneficiaries overcome or manage their particular conditions.

10. Beneficiaries of housing that includes specially adapted facilities, services, or other amenities are not required to be assessed using an income threshold or other financial criteria. In addition, the housing does not have to be provided at less than fair market value. [Footnote 4]

11. Examples of purposes that provide housing that includes specially adapted facilities, services, or other amenities include:

  • to relieve conditions associated with disability by providing specially adapted residential accommodation, incidental facilities, and support to [specify eligible beneficiaries]

  • to relieve conditions associated with the aged by providing specially adapted residential accommodation, incidental facilities, and support to [specify eligible beneficiaries]

12. For additional examples of purposes that relieve conditions associated with the aged, or with disabilities, go to Model purposes. Also see Guidance CG-019, How to draft purposes for charitable registration.

Other considerations

13. When an organization rents housing to individuals who are not eligible beneficiaries of charitable relief, this activity must either:

Note: While it is acceptable for a charity to earn investment income or engage in related business activities, doing so must remain incidental and ancillary to furthering the charity’s purposes.

Applying for registration as a charity under the Income Tax Act

14. Organizations that provide housing to charitable beneficiaries, and that are interested in applying to register as a charity under the Income Tax Act, must complete Form T2050 and supply the information and documents listed on that form. In their statement of activities (or in other documentation attached to the application), applicants must specify:

  • the criteria used to select their beneficiaries

  • the process used to select beneficiaries

  • the process used to determine rental rates

  • the policies and procedures in place to ensure that only eligible beneficiaries receive charitable benefits

  • the proportion of tenants who are not eligible beneficiaries, and whether such tenants pay market rent

  • all goods, services, and associated amenities provided by the organization to eligible beneficiaries and other tenants

  • if any space is leased to commercial tenants, all details of these arrangements and the reason for entering into these arrangements

15. Organizations that provide housing should be aware that in certain circumstances the Income Tax Act may require them to issue T5007s to beneficiaries. For more information see T4115 T5007 Guide - Return of benefits.

16. Organizations that make leasehold improvements to property leased from others may also want to see Policy statement CPS-006, Registered charities making improvements to property leased from others.

Footnotes

[Footnote 1]

While the provision of housing is an acceptable way to help relieve poverty, it is important to ensure that assistance given to individuals is no more than that required to relieve their need. For more information about private benefit see Policy statement CPS-024, Guidelines for registering a charity: Meeting the public benefit test.

[Footnote 2]

See Joseph Rowntree Memorial Trust Housing Association Ltd. and Others v. Attorney-General [1981 J. No. 8146] - [1983] Ch. 159. (Rowntree) per Peter Gibson J. on page 177:

In my judgment the trustees may provide accommodation in the form of small self-contained dwellings for aged persons in need of such accommodation.

[Footnote 3]

See Rowntree, supra note 2 per Peter Gibson J. on page 174:

These authorities convincingly confirm the correctness of the proposition that the relief of the aged does not have to be relief for the aged poor. In other words the phrase “aged, impotent and poor people” in the preamble must be read disjunctively. The decisions in In re Glyn, decd., In re Bradbury, decd., In re Robinson, decd., In re Cottam and In re Lewis, decd. give support to the view that it is a sufficient charitable purpose to benefit the aged, or the impotent, without more. But these are all decisions at first instance and with great respect to the judges who decided them they appear to me to pay no regard to the word “relief.” I have no hesitation in preferring the approach adopted in In re Neal, decd. and In re Resch's Will Trusts that there must be a need which is to be relieved by the charitable gift, such need being attributable to the aged or impotent condition of the person to be benefited. My attention was drawn to Picarda, The Law and Practice Relating to Charities (1977), p. 79 where a similar approach is adopted by the author.

[Footnote 4]

Any private benefit that results from providing the housing at less than fair market value must be incidental, meaning that it is necessary, reasonable, and not disproportionate to the public benefit that is delivered. For more information about private benefit see Policy statement CPS-024.

Date modified:

Fournir des logements et l'enregistrement à titre d'organisme de bienfaisance

Lignes directrices

Numéro de référence
CG-022

Date de publication
Le 7 fevrier 2014

Table des matières


Ces lignes directrices remplacent et mettent à jour l’énoncé de politique CPS‑020, Organismes de bienfaisance louant des logements à des personnes à faible revenu.

Remarque : L’Agence du revenu du Canada prépare des lignes directrices plus détaillées qui porteront sur les questions supplémentaires des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés qui fournissent des logements.

Sommaire

Ces lignes directrices portent sur les organismes de bienfaisance qui fournissent des logements :

  • soulageant la pauvreté
  • comprenant des installations ou des services spécialement adaptés qui peuvent aider les bénéficiaires admissibles à surmonter ou à gérer des conditions associées à une déficience ou au vieillissement

Remarque : Fournir des logements ou des abris peut réaliser d’autres fins de bienfaisance qui ne sont pas traitées dans ce document.

Fournir des logements qui soulagent la pauvreté

1. Fournir des logements confortables et modestes  1 à des bénéficiaires démunis à un prix inférieur à la juste valeur marchande, peut soulager la pauvreté.

2. Un bénéficiaire admissible au soulagement de la pauvreté peut être décrit comme une personne ou une famille défavorisée, démunie, nécessiteuse, à faible revenu ou dans le besoin (ou par tout autre synonyme reconnu par les tribunaux). Il est possible de restreindre davantage la description de ces bénéficiaires au moyen d’un deuxième attribut (par exemple, les personnes âgées démunies).

3. Pour en savoir plus sur les bénéficiaires admissibles au soulagement de la pauvreté, consultez l’énoncé de politique CPS‑024, Lignes directrices pour l’enregistrement d’un organisme de bienfaisance : satisfaire au critère du bienfait d’intérêt public.

4. L’organisme qui soulage la pauvreté en fournissant des logements doit, au moins une fois par année, évaluer l’admissibilité des bénéficiaires aux logements. Les critères d’admissibilité doivent comprendre le revenu ainsi que les éléments d’actif et les dettes de tous les membres éventuels ou réels du ménage.

5. De plus, l’organisme doit établir et se conformer à des politiques et à des procédures raisonnables pour traiter des situations où une personne ou une famille n’est plus admissible à un logement fourni en vue de soulager la pauvreté.

6. Un grand nombre d’organismes qui fournissent des logements pour soulager la pauvreté, ont des fins de bienfaisance qui leur permettent aussi d’offrir d’autres nécessités ou des commodités connexes, notamment :

  • des repas
  • des services publics de base
  • des vêtements
  • des meubles
  • des services de consultation

7. Voici un exemple d’une fin de bienfaisance qui soulage la pauvreté en fournissant des logements :

  • Soulager la pauvreté en fournissant des logements à des prix inférieurs à ceux du marché et en offrant un soutien et des installations connexes aux personnes ou aux familles dans le besoin

8. Pour voir d’autres exemples de fins de bienfaisance qui soulagent la pauvreté, consultez les Fins modèles. Consultez aussi les lignes directrices CG‑019, Comment rédiger des fins qui satisfont aux exigences de la bienfaisance en matière d’enregistrement.

Fournir des logements qui comprennent des installations ou des services spécialement adaptés ou d’autres commodités

9. Fournir des logements confortables et modestes  2 qui comprennent des installations ou des services spécialement adaptés ou d’autres commodités peut soulager, chez les bénéficiaires admissibles, des conditions associées à une incapacité mentale, à une déficience physique ou à des conditions attribuées à la vieillesse  3 . L’organisme doit s’assurer que ce type de logement aide les bénéficiaires à surmonter ou à gérer leurs conditions.

10. Les bénéficiaires de logements comprenant des installations ou des services spécialement adaptés ou d’autres commodités n’ont pas à être évalués selon le critère du seuil du revenu ou selon d’autres critères financiers. De plus, le logement n’a pas besoin d’être fourni à un prix inférieur à la juste valeur marchande  4 .

11. Voici des exemples de fins qui fournissent des logements comprenant des installations ou des services spécialement adaptés ou d’autres commodités :

  • soulager des conditions associées à une déficience en fournissant des logements spécialement adaptés et en offrant des installations connexes et un soutien aux (préciser les bénéficiaires admissibles)

  • soulager des conditions attribuées à la vieillesse en fournissant des logements spécialement adaptés et en offrant des installations connexes et un soutien aux (préciser les bénéficiaires admissibles)

12. Pour voir d’autres exemples de fins qui soulagent les conditions associées au vieillissement ou à une déficience, consultez les Fins modèles. Consultez aussi les lignes directrices CG‑019, Comment rédiger des fins qui satisfont aux exigences de la bienfaisance en matière d’enregistrement.

Autres considérations

13. Lorsqu’un organisme fournit des logements à des personnes qui ne sont pas des bénéficiaires admissibles à la bienfaisance, cette activité doit répondre à l’une des conditions suivantes :

Remarque : Un organisme de bienfaisance peut gagner un revenu de placement ou exercer des activités commerciales complémentaires, mais de telles activités doivent être subordonnées à ses fins qui relèvent de la bienfaisance.

Présenter une demande d’enregistrement à titre d’organisme de bienfaisance en vertu de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu

14. Les organismes qui fournissent des logements à des bénéficiaires admissibles à la bienfaisance et qui souhaitent obtenir le statut d’organisme de bienfaisance en vertu de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, doivent remplir le formulaire T2050 et transmettre les renseignements et les documents indiqués dans ce formulaire. Dans l’énoncé de leurs activités (ou dans un autre document joint à la demande), les demandeurs doivent préciser ce qui suit :

  • les critères utilisés pour choisir les bénéficiaires

  • le processus utilisé pour choisir les bénéficiaires

  • le processus utilisé afin de déterminer les prix de location

  • les politiques et procédures existantes visant à s’assurer que seuls les bénéficiaires admissibles reçoivent les bienfaits qui relèvent de la bienfaisance

  • la proportion de locataires qui ne sont pas des bénéficiaires admissibles et quant à savoir si ces locataires paient leur loyer au prix du marché

  • tous les produits, services et commodités connexes fournis par l’organisme aux bénéficiaires admissibles et aux autres locataires

  • si des locaux sont loués à des locataires commerciaux, tous les détails de ces arrangements et la raison de les conclure

15. Les organismes qui fournissent des logements doivent savoir que, dans certaines circonstances, la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu les oblige à remettre des feuillets T5007 aux bénéficiaires. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le document T4115 Guide T5007 – Déclaration des prestations.

16. Les organismes qui améliorent les biens qu’ils louent d’autres personnes peuvent également consulter l’énoncé de politique CPS‑006, Organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés qui apportent des améliorations à des biens qu’ils louent d’autres personnes.

Notes

Note 1

Bien que fournir un logement soit une façon acceptable d’aider à soulager la pauvreté, il est important de s’assurer que l’aide accordée aux bénéficiaires ne dépasse pas ce qui serait nécessaire pour répondre à leurs besoins. Pour en savoir plus sur les bienfaits d’intérêt privé, consultez l’énoncé de politique CPS‑024, Lignes directrices pour l’enregistrement d’un organisme de bienfaisance : satisfaire au critère du bienfait d’intérêt public.

Note 2

Consultez l’arrêt Joseph Rowntree Memorial Trust Housing Association Ltd. and Others v. Attorney‑General [1981 J. No 8146] – [1983] Ch. 159. (Rowntree) par le juge Peter Gibson à la page 177 :

[Traduction] À mon avis, les fiduciaires peuvent louer des logements sous la forme de petits logements autonomes à des personnes âgées qui ont besoin d’un tel logement.

Note 3

Consultez l’arrêt Rowntree, note 2 précitée, par le juge Peter Gibson à la page 174 :

[Traduction] Ces textes faisant autorité confirment de façon convaincante l’exactitude de la proposition selon laquelle le soulagement des personnes âgées n’a pas à être un soulagement de personnes âgées démunies. En d’autres termes, l’expression « les personnes âgées, les personnes handicapées ou les pauvres » dans le préambule doit être interprétée de façon disjonctive. Les décisions dans les affaires In re Glyn, decd., In re Bradbury, decd., In re Robinson, decd., In re Cottam et In re Lewis, decd. soutiennent le point de vue selon lequel la fin qui profite aux personnes âgées ou aux personnes handicapées relève suffisamment de la bienfaisance, sans plus. Mais il s’agit de décisions de première instance et, en toute déférence pour les juges qui les ont rendues, il me semble qu’elles ne portent pas sur le mot « soulagement ». Je n’ai aucune hésitation à préférer l’approche adoptée dans les affaires In re Neal, decd. et In re Resch’s Will Trusts, selon lesquelles il doit y avoir un besoin qui doit être soulagé par le don de bienfaisance, ce besoin étant attribué à la condition de personne âgée ou handicapée de la personne qui en bénéficie. Mon attention a été attirée par Picarda, The Law and Practice Relating to Charities (1977), p. 79, où une approche semblable a été adoptée par l’auteur.

Note 4

Tout bienfait d’intérêt privé qui découle d’avoir fourni un logement à un prix inférieur à la juste valeur marchande, doit être accessoire. Autrement dit, le bienfait d’intérêt privé doit être nécessaire, raisonnable et non disproportionné par rapport au bienfait d’intérêt public obtenu. Pour en savoir plus sur le bienfait d’intérêt privé, consultez l’énoncé de politique CPS‑024.

Date de modification :