Forms T183 and T1013

Form T183, Information Return for Electronic Filing of an Individual's Income Tax and Benefit Return

Download Form T183, Information Return for Electronic Filing of an Individual's Income Tax and Benefit Return.

Print the form directly from your software product or from the site above.

The Form T183 must be completed in duplicate with the Part F signed by the taxpayer or the person who is required to file the return under the Income Tax Act (for example: Trustee in Bankruptcy or Legal Representative) before the return is electronically transmitted.

The form is year specific and only the current year version is acceptable.

Note: The use of signature labels or stamps on Form T183 is not acceptable. A signature by someone other than the taxpayer, the trustee, or the legal representative, is acceptable as long as an applicable power of attorney exists. If a power of attorney exists, this must be retained with the T183 form for at least six years following the date the return was electronically filed.

The entries on Form T183 must accurately reflect the entries on the electronic return. If the return is not accepted as originally transmitted, and the changes required for retransmission alter the refund or balance owing by more than $300, a new Form T183 must be completed and signed by the client.

Part G – Document Control Number (DCN)

EFILE–certified software generates a document control number at the time a record is created. Record this DCN in Part G.

Retention of documents

As required by subsection 150.1(4) of the Income Tax Act, both you and your client have to keep a copy of the completed signed Form T183. Instruct your client not to submit the form unless we ask for it. Keep your copy in a secure location.

Form T183 must be kept for at least six years following the date that the return was electronically filed. Written permission is required for you or your client to destroy Form T183 before the six-year period is up. For more information, see Information Circular IC78–10R5, Books and Records Retention/Disposal.

We will periodically monitor Form T183 and will ask you for completed copies. If you fail to provide these completed forms when we ask for them, we may suspend your electronic filing privileges.

Form T183 has options for client authorization for alternative address and for tax preparer pre and post-assessment contact (similar to Form T1013, Authorizing or Cancelling a Representative). See the reverse side of Form T183 for further details. When Part E (2012) or Part D (2013 and subsequent tax years) is transmitted, upon assessment of the electronic tax return, the consent request information for your client will be updated electronically. The authorization will apply to the tax year and return indicated on Form T183.

The expiry date for client authorization to permit tax preparer contact will also be captured electronically. If that return is selected for review after the assessment, but before the expiry date on Form T183, and if supporting documents are required, we will contact you and not your client, unless otherwise indicated by the tax preparer pre-assessment and/or post-assessment review contact code. The contact letter will be written in the preferred language of the client. To cancel this authorization, your client must send us a completed paper version of Form T1013, Authorizing or Cancelling a Representative.

When Part E (2012) or Part D (2013 and subsequent tax years) is not transmitted and the return is selected for review after the assessment, we will contact your client directly, whether or not there is a T1013 form on file.

Form T1013, Authorizing or Cancelling a Representative

Download Form T1013, Authorizing or Cancelling a Representative

General information

EFILE service providers can electronically submit Form T1013, Authorizing or Cancelling a Representative, to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) using certified EFILE T1 tax preparation software. The form(s) may be submitted in batches from one to thirty and the filing option is available year round. The electronic form must be received by the CRA within six months of its signature date. Otherwise, it will not be processed.

EFILE service providers are able to electronically submit T1013 forms to authorize registered representatives only; therefore for security purposes, the CRA will not accept electronically submitted authorizations for non-registered representatives. To become a registered representative you must register your business number (BN), or obtain a RepID or GroupID with the CRA's Represent a Client online service. For more information about Represent a Client, or to register with the service, go to Represent a Client.

When electronically submitting Form T1013, immediate access to your clients' accounts will be granted via our online services, once the authorization has been updated to the taxpayer's account. However, if a taxpayer has a "care of" (c/o) address on their account, online access will not be granted until the taxpayer or legal representative for the taxpayer contacts the CRA and confirms the authorization. In the meantime, you will have access to your client's account by phone, in person, or in writing.

Currently, the time it takes to process an electronic request to authorize or cancel a representative is as follows:

  • In the majority of cases, electronic T1013 forms are being processed and updated to taxpayers' accounts instantly. This allows those using the Represent a Client service immediate access to their client's account. However, online access for taxpayers with a "care of" address will remain unavailable until the taxpayer or legal representative for the taxpayer contacts the CRA to confirm the authorization.
  • The remaining electronic T1013 forms that cannot be processed automatically will be actioned within five business days. If information is missing and the form cannot be processed, the CRA will strive to obtain the required information directly from the taxpayer. The submission of the T1 return or the updating of a taxpayer's address may also allow for the updating of the electronically submitted T1013.

Currently, the time it takes to process a paper T1013 is 20 business days or less once received by the CRA, provided the request is complete.

Electronic submission of Form T1013 remains the fastest and most effective means of transmitting third party authorizations to the CRA.


Important reminders

Legal representative signature checkbox – This checkbox is mandatory when your client is signing the form on behalf of a taxpayer and they are the executor or administrator of the taxpayer's estate, they have power of attorney, or they are the legal guardian. This box must be ticked to show that the form was signed by the legal representative. A copy of the legal document that gives the person authority to act as a legal representative must be sent to the taxpayer's tax centre if it is not already on file with the CRA.

Print name field – If the legal representative signed the form, the legal representative's name should be indicated in the print name field.

Duplicate forms – Do not fax or submit paper copies of any electronically submitted Form T1013 unless you are requested to do so by the CRA.

Retention of the Form T1013

Please keep your copy of Form T1013 in a secure location. Form T1013 must be kept for six years following the date that the form was electronically transmitted to the CRA.

We will be monitoring the electronic submission of Form T1013 for which you have received a confirmation number and will ask to see copies of completed forms. If you fail to provide these completed forms, we will remove your authorized representative information from the affected taxpayer accounts and we may suspend your T1013 electronic filing privileges.

 

Date modified:

Formulaires T183 et T1013

Formulaire T183, Déclaration de renseignements pour la transmission électronique d'une déclaration de revenus et de prestations d'un particulier

Téléchargez le Formulaire T183, Déclaration de renseignements pour la transmission électronique d'une déclaration de revenus et de prestations d'un particulier.

Imprimez le formulaire directement à partir de votre logiciel ou du site ci-dessus.

Le formulaire T183 doit être remplie en deux exemplaires avec la partie F signée par le contribuable, ou la personne qui est tenue de produire la déclaration en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (par exemple : le syndic ou le représentant légal), avant que la déclaration soit transmise par voie électronique.

Le formulaire est pour une année précise et nous acceptons seulement la version de l'année courante.

Remarque : L’utilisation d’étiquettes et d’étampes comportant une signature sur le formulaire T183 n'est pas acceptable. Une signature d'une personne autre que le contribuable, le syndic ou le représentant légal est acceptable si une procuration pertinente existe. S'il existe une procuration, il faut la conserver avec le formulaire T183 pendant au moins six années suivant la date à laquelle la déclaration a été produite par voie électronique.

Les entrées sur le formulaire T183 doivent correspondre aux entrées de la déclaration électronique. Lorsque la déclaration originale n'est pas acceptée et que des changements effectués à la déclaration avant la retransmission modifient le remboursement ou le solde dû de plus de 300 $, un nouveau formulaire T183 doit être rempli et signé par le client.

Partie G – Numéro de contrôle du document (NCD)

Le logiciel TED homologué génère un numéro de contrôle du document quand un fichier est créé. Inscrivez cette information dans la Partie G.

Conservation des documents

En vertu du paragraphe 150.1(4) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, vous-même ainsi que votre client devez conserver une copie du formulaire T183 rempli et signé. Informez votre client qu'il ne doit pas nous envoyer le formulaire sauf si nous le lui demandons. Conservez votre copie dans un endroit sûr.

Le formulaire T183 doit être conservé pour une période d'au moins six ans à partir de la date où la déclaration a été transmise par voie électronique. Si vous ou votre client désirez détruire le formulaire T183 avant l'expiration de la période de six ans, une autorisation écrite doit être demandée. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter la circulaire d'information IC78-10R5, Conservation et destruction des registres comptables.

Nous effectuerons périodiquement un contrôle des formulaires T183 et vous demanderons de nous fournir des exemplaires de ceux-ci complétés. Le défaut de fournir les formulaires complétés sur demande pourrait entraîner la suspension de vos privilèges de transmission électronique.

Le formulaire T183 offre la possibilité aux clients d’autoriser l’envoi à une autre adresse et le contact avec le préparateur pour les revues avant et après cotisation (similaire au formulaire T1013, Demander ou annuler l’autorisation d’un représentant). Veuillez consulter l’endos du formulaire T183 pour plus de détails. Lorsque la partie E (2012) ou la partie D (2013 ou années d’imposition suivantes) est transmise, et que la déclaration électronique aura fait l’objet d’une cotisation, les renseignements relatifs à la demande d’autorisation seront mis à jour électroniquement. L’autorisation est seulement pour l’année d’imposition et la déclaration indiquée sur le formulaire T183.

La date limite concernant l’autorisation au déclarant par voie électronique de représenter le client sera aussi mise à jour électroniquement. Si cette déclaration est choisie pour une revue après la cotisation, mais avant la date d’échéance sur le formulaire T183, et que des renseignements supplémentaires sont requis, nous communiquerons avec vous, et non pas avec le client, sauf indication contraire du code de contact pour l’examen précotisation et/ou l’examen postcotisation pour les préparateurs.  La communication sera dans la langue du client. Pour annuler cette autorisation, le client doit nous envoyer une version papier du formulaire T1013, Demander ou annuler l’autorisation d’un représentant.

Lorsque la partie E (2012) ou la partie D (2013 et les années d’imposition suivantes) n’est pas transmise et que la déclaration est choisie pour une revue après la cotisation, nous communiquerons directement avec le client, peu importe si un formulaire T1013 se trouve au dossier ou non.

T1013, Demander ou annuler l’autorisation d’un représentant

Téléchargez le Formulaire T1013, Demander ou annuler l’autorisation d’un représentant

Renseignements généraux

Les fournisseurs du service TED sont en mesure de soumettre, par voie électronique, le formulaire T1013, Demander ou annuler l'autorisation d'un représentant, à l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) au moyen d'un logiciel TED certifié pour la préparation des déclarations de revenus T1. Les formulaires peuvent être soumis en lot d'un à trente et l'option de soumission est disponible tout au long de l'année. Le formulaire électronique doit être reçu par l'ARC dans les six mois qui suivent la date de signature, sinon il ne sera pas traité.

Les fournisseurs du service TED sont en mesure de soumettre, par voie électronique, les formulaires T1013 uniquement pour autoriser des représentants inscrits. Par conséquent, pour des raisons de sécurité, l'ARC n'acceptera pas les autorisations soumises par voie électronique pour les représentants non-inscrits. Pour devenir un représentant inscrit, vous devez inscrire votre numéro d'entreprise (NE), ou obtenir un ID Rep ou ID Groupe auprès du service en ligne Représenter un client de l'ARC. Pour en savoir plus sur Représenter un client, ou pour vous inscrire à ce service, allez à Représenter un Client.

Lorsqu'un formulaire T1013 est soumis par voie électronique, l'accès immédiat aux comptes de vos clients sera accordé au moyen de nos services en ligne, une fois que l'autorisation a été mise à jour au compte du contribuable. Toutefois, si un contribuable a une adresse « Au soin de » (A/S de) sur son compte, l'accès en ligne ne sera pas accordé jusqu'à ce que le contribuable ou son représentant légal communique avec l'ARC et confirme l'autorisation. Entre-temps, vous aurez accès aux comptes de vos clients par téléphone, en personne, ou par écrit.

Présentement, le temps nécessaire pour traiter une demande électronique pour autoriser ou annuler un représentant est comme suit :

  • Dans la majorité des cas, les formulaires T1013 électroniques sont traités et mis à jour aux comptes des contribuables instantanément. Cela permet à ceux qui utilisent le service Représenter un client d'accéder immédiatement au compte de leur client.
  • Les autres formulaires T1013 électronique qui ne peuvent être traités automatiquement seront traités dans les cinq jours ouvrables. S'il manque des renseignements et que le formulaire ne peut être traité, l'ARC cherchera à obtenir l'information requise directement du contribuable. Le formulaire T1013 envoyé par voie électronique pourrait être mis à jour suite à la soumission d'une déclaration T1 ou à la mise à jour de l'adresse d'un contribuable.

Présentement, le temps nécessaire pour traiter une demande T1013 sur papier est de 20 jours ouvrables ou moins, une fois que l'ARC reçoit cette dernière, à condition que la demande soit complète.

La soumission des formulaires T1013 par voie électronique demeure le moyen le plus rapide et le plus efficace de transmettre des autorisations à l'ARC.


Rappels importants

La case à cocher de la signature du représentant légal – Cette case à cocher est obligatoire lorsque votre client signe le formulaire au nom du contribuable et qu'il est l'exécuteur/administrateur de la succession du contribuable, le mandataire, ou le tuteur légal. Cette case doit être cochée afin d'indiquer que le formulaire a été signé par le représentant légal. Si ce n'est déjà fait, une copie du document juridique qui identifie la personne ayant l'autorité d'agir en cette qualité doit être envoyée au centre fiscal du contribuable.

Le champ « Nom en lettres moulées » – Si le représentant légal a signé le formulaire, le nom du représentant légal devrait être inscrit dans le champ « Nom en lettres moulées ».

Formulaires doubles – Ne télécopiez pas ou n'envoyez pas de copie papier de tout formulaire T1013 soumis par voie électronique à moins que l'ARC vous le demande.


Conserver le formulaire T1013

Veuillez conserver une copie du formulaire T1013 dans un endroit sécuritaire. Le formulaire T1013 doit être conservé pour une période de six ans après la date à laquelle il a été envoyé à l'ARC.

Nous contrôlerons les formulaires T1013 soumis par voie électronique pour lesquels vous avez reçu un numéro de confirmation et nous vous demanderons d'envoyer des copies des formulaires remplis. Si vous ne présentez pas ces formulaires remplis, nous supprimerons vos renseignements de représentant autorisés des comptes des contribuables touchés et nous pourrions également procéder à la suspension de vos privilèges liés â la transmission, par voie électronique, du formulaire T1013.

 

Date de modification :