Electronic Funds Transfer Reporting

What is Electronic Funds Transfer Reporting?

International tax evasion and aggressive tax avoidance are costly to taxpayers worldwide, and are unfair to businesses and individuals who follow the rules. The Government is committed to growing Canada’s tax base by searching out tax cheats, while simultaneously lowering the tax burden for businesses and families.

Economic Action Plan 2013 introduced important new measures to combat international tax evasion and aggressive tax avoidance. These measures included the requirement for financial institutions to report international electronic funds transfers (EFTs) of $10,000 or more to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) beginning in January 2015. This information helps the CRA to identify taxpayers who may be participating in aggressive tax avoidance or who may be attempting to conceal income and assets offshore.

This new requirement to report to the CRA applies to the same financial intermediaries that are already reporting information on international EFTs to the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) under the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (PCMLTFA). That means no added administrative burden or red tape.

What is considered an international electronic funds transfer?

An international electronic funds transfer means the transmission of instructions for the transfer of funds, other than the transfer of funds within Canada. This transmission can be done through any electronic, magnetic or optical device, telephone instrument or computer. In the case of Society for Worldwide Interbank Financial Telecommunication messages, only SWIFT MT 103 messages are included.

Reporting entities must report only EFTs of $10,000 or more. They must also report two or more EFTs of less than $10,000 each that are made within 24 consecutive hours by or on behalf of the same individual or entity when they total $10,000 or more, as these are considered to be a single transaction.

Which financial intermediaries are required to report electronic funds transfers to the CRA?

Financial intermediaries that must report are defined as “reporting entities” in the Income Tax Act (ITA). They include banks, credit unions, caisses populaires, trust and loan companies, money service businesses and casinos.
To find out more about who should report an electronic funds transfer to the CRA, go to Part XV.1 – Reporting of electronic funds transfer.

How to report electronic funds transfers

To ensure the new requirement imposes no added burden or red tape, reporting entities will submit EFTs electronically to both FINTRAC and the CRA simultaneously. This will happen simultaneously through a shared component of the existing FINTRAC reporting system. This consists of the F2R and batch reporting systems. The EFT reporting requirements for the CRA and FINTRAC are identical. Reporting entities must file EFTs no later than five working days after the day the transfer occurred.

For more information on how to submit EFTs to the CRA through the shared reporting process, go to Reporting to FINTRAC on the FINTRAC website. FINTRAC will continue to manage the existing reporting channels and provide user support to reporting entities. Reporting entities will continue to enroll only with FINTRAC.

If you have any questions related to EFT reporting requirements, call the CRA at 1-800-959-5525.

Paper reporting

If you can’t report EFTs electronically, you must report using the CRA’s Form RC438, International Electronic Funds Transfer Report. If you are submitting a paper form, you must send it separately to both FINTRAC and the CRA.

Date modified:

Déclaration des télévirements

Qu’est-ce que la Déclaration des télévirements?

L’évasion fiscale et l’évitement fiscal agressif internationaux coûtent chers aux contribuables du monde entier. Ils sont aussi inéquitables pour les entreprises et les particuliers qui respectent les règles. Le gouvernement est résolu à protéger l’assiette fiscale croissante du Canada, en mettant au jour les fraudes fiscales, tout en réduisant simultanément le fardeau fiscal pour les entreprises et les familles.

Le Plan d’action économique de 2013 présentait de nouvelles mesures importantes visant à lutter contre l’évasion fiscale et l’évitement fiscal agressif internationaux. Une de ces mesures est l’obligation, pour des institutions financières, de déclarer les télévirements internationaux de 10 000 $ ou plus à l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) à partir de janvier 2015. Ces renseignements aident l’ARC à identifier les contribuables qui pourraient participer à des activités d’évitement fiscal abusif ou qui pourraient tenter de dissimuler des revenus et des actifs à l’étranger.

Cette nouvelle obligation s’applique aux intermédiaires fiscaux qui déclarent déjà des télévirements au Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE), comme l’exige la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes. Elle ne leur impose donc pas de fardeau administratif ou de paperasse supplémentaire.

Qu’est-ce qu’un télévirement international?

Cela consiste à transmettre des instructions pour le transfert de fonds à l’extérieur du Canada au moyen d’un dispositif électronique, magnétique ou optique, d’un téléphone ou d’un ordinateur. Dans le cas des messages de la Society for Worldwide Interbank Financial Telecommunication, seuls les messages SWIFT MT 103 sont visés par cette définition.

Les entités déclarantes doivent déclarer tout télévirement de 10 000 $ ou plus. Elles doivent aussi le faire lorsque deux télévirements ou plus de moins de 10 000 $, mais totalisant 10 000 $ ou plus, sont faits sur une période de 24 heures de suite par la même personne ou entité, ou en son nom. Ces télévirements sont en effet considérés comme étant une seule opération.

Qui sont les intermédiaires financiers tenus de déclarer les télévirements à l’ARC?

Il s’agit des « entités déclarantes » définies dans la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, notamment les banques, les coopératives de crédit, les caisses populaires, les sociétés de fiducie et de prêt, les entreprises de transferts de fonds ou de vente de titres négociables et les casinos.

Pour savoir quelles autres entités sont tenues déclarer un télévirement à l’ARC, allez à Partie XV.1 – Déclaration des télévirements.

Comment déclarer un télévirement

Pour éviter que cette nouvelle obligation ne leur impose un fardeau ou de la paperasse supplémentaire, les entités déclarantes feront leur déclaration par voie électronique au CANAFE et à l’ARC en même temps. Ce procès se déroulera utilisant une composante partagée intégrée au système F2R et de transmission par lots, qui est le processus de déclaration utilisé par le CANAFE. Les exigences de l’ARC et du CANAFE en ce qui concerne les télévirements sont les mêmes. Les entités déclarantes doivent déclarer les télévirements au plus tard dans les cinq jours ouvrables.

Pour en savoir plus sur la transmission à l’ARC d’une déclaration relative aux télévirements au moyen du processus partagé de déclaration, allez à Déclaration à CANAFE  sur le site Web du CANAFE. Le CANAFE continuera de gérer les méthodes actuelles de déclaration et d’offrir de l’aide aux entités déclarantes. Ces dernières devront s’inscrire uniquement auprès le CANAFE.

Pour toute question au sujet de l’obligation de déclarer les télévirements, téléphonez à l’ARC au 1-800-959-7775.

Déclaration sur papier

Si vous ne pouvez pas déclarer les télévirements par voie électronique, vous devez utiliser le formulaire RC438, Déclaration relative à un télévirement international, de l’ARC. Vous devez ensuite en envoyer une copie au CANAFE et une autre à l’ARC.

Date de modification :