Questions and answers – Liaison Officer Initiative (LOI)

1. What is the Liaison Officer Initiative (LOI)?

The Liaison Officer Initiative (LOI) is designed to help small and medium-sized businesses meet their tax obligations. This approach involves activities that are designed to provide taxpayers with education and support. A visit from a Liaison Officer (LO) does not constitute an audit and will not result in any CRA-driven changes to past tax filings. The focus of the LOI is to help businesses “get it right from the start” by providing them with in-person support and guidance at key moments of their business life cycle. The CRA undertakes three types of activities as part of the LOI:

  • Small Business Support Visits
    • Specially trained CRA Liaison Officers (LOs) will visit businesses from selected industry sectors that have voluntarily agreed to participate to provide income tax support and guidance. LOs will address tax related questions and concerns raised by the taxpayer, provide general information about tax obligations and highlight income tax errors common to their industry or business sector.
  • Books and Records Reviews
    • The LO will review the taxpayer's books and records and provide advice and guidance on the accuracy and completeness of the taxpayer's records, so that any potential issues can be addressed prior to tax filing.
  • Compliance Support Arrangements (CSA)
    • Following a visit or review, or when information has been provided, in order to reinforce the opportunity for learning and awareness, LOs will ask taxpayers to sign a CSA as an acknowledgement that they have understood the nature of their tax responsibilities, those of the CRA and the information they received.
      • The CSA highlights the key responsibilities of both parties, identifies unintentional or recurring income tax errors that are common to the taxpayer's business sector and outlines industry benchmarks that the taxpayer can use to compare their performance to the sector in general

2. Is the LOI a new approach?

The LOI was adopted by the CRA in April 2014 and many of the concepts on which it is based have been adopted by other tax administrations around the world. The LOI focuses on helping Canada's small and medium-sized businesses understand what their tax obligations are and get their tax filing “right from the start.”

3. Why did the CRA adopt the LOI?

98% of Canadian businesses are small and medium-sized. By adopting an innovative approach that promotes tax compliance through direct support and education, the CRA is working to build and strengthen its relationships with Canadian businesses, enhance the services it provides to taxpayers while reducing red tape, and equally important, reduce the level and frequency of tax reporting errors.

4. Why does the CRA feel that this approach is useful to Canadian businesses?

While most Canadian businesses are compliant with Canada's tax laws and regulations, there are some that could improve their level of compliance if they could avoid the unintentional or recurring errors they make on their tax returns. The CRA wants to help Canadian businesses avoid tax-related problems and additional red tape by helping them understand their tax obligations. By meeting their tax obligations, businesses can potentially avoid time-consuming audits or other interventions from the CRA.  

Other tax administrations around the world have reported much success through the approach adopted under the CRA's LOI.

5. What other countries have adopted similar approaches?

The CRA is part of a group of tax administrations around the world that exchange and share best practices in tax administration and income tax compliance. Some countries that have had success with similar types of approaches to improve business compliance include the US, the UK, Australia, New Zealand, Sweden, Ireland and the Netherlands.

6. When was the LOI launched?

The CRA launched the LOI as a pilot project from certain Tax Services Offices throughout the country in April 2014. The LOI became a permanent program in April 2015.

7. How will industry sectors be selected for the LOI?

The goal of the LOI is to provide support and guidance to businesses so that they can correctly file their returns. Interactions with Liaison Officers will provide taxpayers with the information they need to better understand their industry and how they fit within it, address questions and concerns, and avoid common tax reporting errors. The program is not about identifying high-risk non-compliers and assessing past tax filings. That responsibility will remain with CRA's audit programs. Industry sectors will be selected for the LOI based on the following criteria:

  • The sector is not the focus of significant audit treatments or special projects;
  • The sector has historically experienced low to moderate rates of change to tax returns as a result of audit activity.

8. How are specific businesses selected for the LOI?

After the industry sector has been chosen, businesses from within that sector are randomly selected and provided the opportunity to participate in the LOI.

9. What can a selected business or industry association expect from the LOI?

Selected Businesses

The LOI will offer various services aimed at helping businesses meet their tax obligations from the beginning of the tax filing process, thereby reducing red tape and the necessity of future interventions by the CRA to ensure their tax filings are correct. The services offered may vary from one business to another, and may include:

  • General information identifying unintentional or recurring errors made in the selected industry sector and recommendations on how to fix them; 
  • An invitation from an LO to make an appointment for a small business support visit;
  • An invitation from an LO to conduct a books and records review;
  • An invitation from an LO to enter into a CSA. The CSA is voluntary, and is not binding in a court of law. The CSA is meant to outline key responsibilities of both the taxpayer and the CRA, and provide industry benchmarks to the taxpayer to be used for self-comparison.

Industry Associations

Industry associations representing businesses in the selected industry sector, or a tax advisor/preparer representing a selected business, may receive enquiries about this initiative. By contacting the tax information line (1-800-959-5525) or by visiting the CRA LOI website, associations and representatives will be able to obtain additional information to assist their members.  

10. Is the LOI an audit program?

The LOI is not part of the traditional audit program but rather a complement to it. Specially trained CRA Liaison Officers (LO) will visit small businesses to offer information, assistance and general awareness of tax obligations as well as advice about unintentional or recurring errors that are common to the sector. These visits will not result in an adjustment or changes to the balance of previously-filed income tax returns. 

11. What is a books and records review?

A books and records review is a review by the LO of a business's books and records in order to identify any issues that could prevent the taxpayer from meeting their tax obligations. The review enables the CRA to provide the business with relevant, targeted information that will help them accurately file their income tax return in a timely manner. A books and records review can help a business avoid unintentional and recurring errors before the business tax return is filed.

12. What is the purpose of industry “benchmarks”?

Industry benchmarks help businesses assess their performance by comparing themselves to the sector in general.

Industry benchmarks are established using information that businesses report on their financial statements and tax returns. Benchmarks may include financial ratios that can be calculated using financial statements. If a business performance is significantly out of alignment with the performance benchmarks established for similar businesses in its sector, it may signal that there are issues related to its tax affairs that require attention.

13. Should businesses that do not fit into the benchmarks for their industry sector be concerned?

Industry benchmarks are established using information that businesses report on their financial statements and tax returns. They may include financial ratios that can be calculated using financial statements.

Benchmarks can be used by a business to see how it compares to the sector in general.

Businesses that do not fall within the industry benchmarks may wish to contact a tax advisor to discuss the reasons why they fall outside the standards identified for their specific industry sector.

14. Can I refuse to meet with the CRA Liaison Officer?

The LOI is voluntary and intended to help small and medium-sized businesses. When a business owner or representative receives an invitation for a meeting with a CRA LO, he or she is encouraged to take advantage of the opportunity and make an appointment to discuss the business activities and tax situation. The purpose of the visit is to provide useful information that will help a business comply with its tax obligations, and to answer any tax-related questions or concerns.

15. Must I agree to the books and records review and do I have to sign the compliance support arrangement (CSA)?

Some of the businesses chosen to participate in the LOI may be asked to participate in a books and records review and/or sign a CSA. In both cases, the goal is to help Canadian businesses avoid tax-related problems by helping them understand their tax obligations.

The purpose of the books and records review is to support businesses in determining if they are on the right track and their affairs are in order. Based on the books and records review, unintentional or recurring errors may be identified and, with the aid of information provided by the CRA, self-corrected by the business before the tax return is filed.

The intent of the CSA is to outline the roles and responsibilities of both the business and the CRA and to reinforce the opportunity for learning and awareness by remaining as a written reminder of what was discussed. The CSA, which will be signed by the business owner and the LO, is voluntary and is not binding in a court of law.

16. If I notice a mistake on my tax return, how long do I have to correct it?

Taxpayers should correct any mistakes on a previously filed return immediately through a request for adjustment, whether you are a self-employed individual or an incorporated business. For more information, call the business income tax enquiries line at 1-800-959-5525.

17. If I participate in the LOI and errors are found, can I still make a voluntary disclosure?

The Voluntary Disclosures Program allows taxpayers to come forward and correct inaccurate or incomplete information or to disclose information they have not reported during previous dealings with the CRA, without penalty or prosecution. You may make a voluntary disclosure if there has been no audit or criminal investigation (“enforcement action”) started on your file. LOI is not considered an enforcement action. For more details about this program, go to Voluntary Disclosures Program.

18. Where can I find more information about the LOI?

Up-to-date information on the LOI can be found on the CRA website. For further information, you may call the business phone line at 1-800-959-5525.

Date modified:

Questions et réponses – Initiative relative aux agents de liaison (IAL)


1. Qu'est-ce que l'Initiative relative aux agents de liaison? (IAL)

L’initiative relative aux agents de liaison (IAL) a été conçue afin d'aider les petites et moyennes entreprises à respecter leurs obligations fiscales. Cette approche comprend des activités qui sont conçues dans le but d’offrir aux contribuables de l’information et du soutien. Une visite d’un agent de liaison ne constitue pas une vérification et ne donnera pas lieu à des changements aux déclarations déjà produites et cotisées par l’ARC. L'initiative vise à aider ces entreprises à « bien faire les choses dès le début » en leur fournissant un soutien et des conseils en personne à des moments clés de leur cycle économique. Dans le cadre de l"IAL, l'ARC mène les trois activités suivantes :

  • Visites de soutien aux petites entreprises
    • Des agents de liaison de l'ARC, spécialement formés, visiteront les entreprises de secteurs d’activité sélectionnés qui ont accepté de participer et leur offriront des conseils et du soutien en matière d'impôt sur le revenu. Les agents répondront aux questions fiscales de ces entreprises, leur donneront des renseignements généraux sur leurs obligations fiscales et leur feront part des erreurs liées à l'impôt sur le revenu qui sont fréquentes dans leur secteur d'activité.
  • Examen des registres comptables
    • Un agent de liaison examinera les registres comptables de l'entreprise et lui donnera des conseils pour l'aider à en assurer l'exactitude et l'intégralité. De cette façon, tout problème potentiel pourra être réglé avant même que l'entreprise produise ses déclarations de revenus.
  • Arrangement de Soutien à l'Observation (ASO)
    • Une fois que l'agent de liaison a terminé la visite ou l'examen, ou qu'il a fourni de l'information à l'entreprise, il demandera à cette dernière de signer une ASO qui devient un outil d'apprentissage et de sensibilisation. Ce faisant, l'entreprise démontre qu'elle a compris les renseignements reçus, ainsi que ses responsabilités fiscales et celles de l'ARC. Elle peut être invitée à signer l'un des deux types d'entente suivants :
      • L'ASO énonce les principales responsabilités des deux parties et énumère les erreurs involontaires ou répétées propres au secteur d'activité de l'entreprise.

2. L'IAL est-elle une nouvelle approche? 

L'ARC a adopté l’IAL en avril 2014, cependant, bon nombre de ses concepts sont déjà appliqués par d'autres administrations fiscales. L'IAL vise à aider les petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes à comprendre leurs obligations fiscales et à produire leurs déclarations de revenus correctement, et ainsi « bien faire les choses dès le début ».  

3. Pourquoi l'ARC a-t-elle cette initiative?

98% des entreprises canadiennes sont des petites et moyennes entreprises. En adoptant une approche innovatrice qui favorise l'observation fiscale grâce à de l'information et à un soutien direct, l'ARC travail à établir des relations avec les entreprises canadiennes et à renforcer ses relations existantes. Elle travaille aussi à améliorer ses services, à réduire la paperasse et, de façon toute aussi importante, à réduire le degré et la fréquence des erreurs dans les déclarations de revenus.  

4. Pourquoi l'ARC croit-t-elle que cette approche sera utile aux entreprises canadiennes?

La plupart des entreprises canadiennes observent la législation fiscale du Canada. Toutefois, certaines d'entre elles pourraient mieux les observer si elles cessaient de faire des erreurs involontaires ou répétées dans leurs déclarations de revenus. L'ARC veut aider les entreprises canadiennes à éviter les problèmes fiscaux et à remplir moins de paperasse en s'assurant qu'elles comprennent leurs obligations. En respectant leurs obligations fiscales, les entreprises peuvent éviter de faire l'objet de longues vérifications ou d'autres mesures d'exécution de la part de l'ARC.

D'autres administrations fiscales ont fait état d'un grand succès après avoir adopté l'approche préconisée par l'Initiative relative aux agents de liaison de l'ARC.

5. Quels autres pays ont adopté des approches semblables?

L'ARC fait partie d'un groupe d'administrations fiscales qui échangent des pratiques exemplaires relativement à l'administration des impôts et des taxes et à l'observation en matière d'impôt sur le revenu. Certains pays ont adopté avec succès des approches semblables en vue d'améliorer l'observation des entreprises, entre autre les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni, l'Australie, la Nouvelle-Zélande, la Suède, l'Irlande et les Pays-Bas.

6. Quand est-ce que l’IAL a été lancée?

En Avril 2014, l’ARC a lancé l’IAL comme un projet pilote dans certains bureaux des services fiscaux à travers le pays. Depuis Avril 2015, l’IAL est devenu un programme régulier.

7. Comment les secteurs d'activités seront-ils sélectionnés pour l'IAL?

Le but de l’IAL est de fournir un soutien et des conseils aux entreprises afin qu’elles puissent produire correctement leurs déclarations. L’intervention des agents de liaison auprès des contribuables donnera à ces derniers, les informations dont ils ont besoin pour mieux comprendre leur industrie et comment ils cadrent avec elle. Cette intervention permettra de répondre aux questions des contribuables et de savoir comment éviter les erreurs fréquentes sur l’impôt. Dans ce programme, il ne s’agit pas d’identifier les délinquants à haut risque ou de vérifier les déclarations antérieures; cette responsabilité relève toujours du programme de vérification de l’ARC. Pour l’IAL, les secteurs de l’industrie seront sélectionnés en fonction des critères suivants :

  • le secteur n'est pas visé par d'importantes activités de vérification ou par des projets spéciaux;
  • le secteur a toujours présenté un taux de changement aux déclarations faible ou modéré à la suite d'une vérification.

8. Comment sélectionnera-t-on les entreprises aux fins de l'IAL?

Une fois que le secteur d'activité aura été sélectionné, des entreprises de ce secteur seront choisies au hasard et on les invitera à participer à l'IAL.  

9. À quoi une entreprise ou association industrielle sélectionnée peut-elle s'attendre de l'IAL?

Entreprises sélectionnées

Dans le cadre de l'IAL, divers services seront offerts aux entreprises pour les aider à être conformes avant même de produire leurs déclarations de revenus. Il y aura moins de paperasse à remplir, et l'ARC aura moins recours à des mesures visant à assurer que les déclarations de revenus sont correctes. Ces services peuvent varier d'une entreprise à l'autre et comprennent notamment :

  • Des renseignements généraux sur les erreurs fiscales répétées ou involontaires qui sont commises dans le secteur d'activité sélectionné et des recommandations en vue de les corriger.
  • Une invitation, par un agent de liaison, à prendre rendez-vous pour une visite de soutien aux petites entreprises.
  • Une invitation, par un agent de liaison, à faire examiner les registres comptables de l'entreprise.
  • Une invitation, par un agent de liaison, à signer un ASO. L'ASO est signée sur une base volontaire et n'a pas force exécutoire et ne lie pas les parties devant un tribunal. L’ASO énonce les principales responsabilités de l'entreprise et de l'ARC et présente les points de références pour le secteur d'activité de l'entreprise. Cette dernière peut utiliser ces points pour comparer son rendement à celui d'autres entreprises du même secteur.

Associations industrielles

Il est possible que des entreprises sélectionnées demandent à leur association industrielle, à leur conseiller fiscal ou à leur préparateur de déclarations de revenus de leur fournir des renseignements sur cette initiative. Pour être en mesure de bien leur répondre, les associations et les représentants des entreprises peuvent s'informer en contactant les Renseignements fiscaux, au 1-800-959-1958, ou en visitant le site Initiative relative aux agents de liaison de l'ARC.  

10. L'IAL est-elle un programme de vérification?

L'IAL n'est pas un programme de vérification; elle vient plutôt le compléter. Des agents de liaison spécialement formés par l'ARC feront des visites de soutien aux petites entreprises pour les informer, les aider et les sensibiliser à l'égard de leurs obligations fiscales. Ces agents feront aussi part aux entreprises des erreurs qui sont fréquentes dans leur secteur d'activité. Ces visites n'entraîneront pas de redressement du solde des déclarations de revenus déjà produites.

11. Qu'est-ce qu'un examen des registres comptables?

Il s'agit d'un examen qu'un agent de liaison réalise en vue d'établir si les registres comptables d'une entreprise empêchent celle-ci de respecter ses obligations fiscales. Cet examen permet à l'ARC de donner à l'entreprise les renseignements précis dont elle a besoin pour produire sa déclaration correctement et au bon moment. Grâce à l'examen de ses registres comptables, une entreprise peut éviter de faire des erreurs involontaires ou répétées avant de produire sa déclaration de revenus.

12. À quoi servent les « points de référence »?

Les points de référence aident les entreprises à évaluer leur rendement par rapport à celui d'autres entreprises du même secteur d'activité.

Ils sont établis au moyen de renseignements que les entreprises déclarent dans leurs états financiers et leurs déclarations de revenus. Ils peuvent comprendre des ratios sont habituellement calculés au moyen des états financiers. Si le rendement d'une entreprise est nettement différent des points de référence établis pour son secteur d'activité, cela peut indiquer la présence des problèmes fiscaux qui doivent être corrigés.

13. Est-ce-que les entreprises non conformes aux points de référence pour leur secteur d'activité devraient s'inquiéter?

Les points de référence pour chaque secteur d'activité sont établis au moyen de renseignements que les entreprises déclarent dans leurs états financiers et leurs déclarations de revenus. Ils peuvent comprendre des ratios sont habituellement calculés au moyen des états financiers.

Une entreprise peut se servir de ces points de référence pour comparer son rendement à celui d'autres entreprises du même secteur d'activité.

Une entreprise qui n'est pas conforme aux points de référence pour son secteur d'activité devrait s'adresser à un fiscaliste pour en discuter.

14. Puis-je refuser de recevoir la visite d'un agent de liaison de l'ARC?

L'IAL se fait sur une base volontaire et vise à venir en aide aux petites et moyennes entreprises. Lorsqu'un propriétaire d'entreprise ou son représentant est invité à rencontrer un agent de liaison de l'ARC, il est encouragé à profiter de cette occasion et à prendre rendez-vous afin de discuter de ses activités commerciales et de sa situation fiscale. Cela lui permettra d'obtenir des renseignements utiles qui l'aideront à respecter ses obligations fiscales et de trouver réponses à ses questions sur les impôts et les taxes.

15. Dois-je consentir à l'examen des registres comptables et signer l'ASO?

On pourrait demander à certaines des entreprises sélectionnées dans le cadre de l'initiative de participer à un examen des registres comptables, de signer un ASO. Dans de tels cas, on cherche à aider les entreprises canadiennes à éviter les problèmes fiscaux en s'assurant qu'elles comprennent leurs obligations fiscales.

L'examen des registres comptables vise à vérifier si l'entreprise est sur la bonne voie et si ses affaires fiscales sont en règle. Il permet de relever si elle a fait des erreurs involontaires ou répétées. L'entreprise peut ensuite, à l'aide des renseignements fournis par l'ARC, corriger ses erreurs avant de produire ses déclarations de revenus.

L'ASO définit les rôles et responsabilité de l'entreprise et de l'ARC. De plus, étant donné que l'arrangement fait état des discussions qui ont eu lieu, elle devient pour l'entreprise un outil d'apprentissage et de sensibilisation. Elle est signée par le propriétaire de l'entreprise sur une base volontaire et par l'agent de liaison. L'arrangement et n'a pas force exécutoire ne lie pas les parties devant un tribunal.  

16. Si je remarque une erreur dans ma déclaration de revenus, combien de temps ai-je pour la corriger? 

Si vous êtes un travailleur indépendant ou une entreprise constituée en société, vous devez corriger immédiatement toutes les erreurs dans les déclarations déjà produites au moyen d'une demande de redressement. Pour en savoir plus, appelez le service des demandes de renseignements des entreprises au 1-800-959-7775.

17. Si je participe à l'IAL et que des erreurs sont trouvées, puis-je quand même faire une divulgation volontaire?

Le Programme des divulgations volontaires permet aux contribuables de prendre l'initiative de corriger tout renseignement incomplet ou erroné, ou de fournir des renseignements qu'ils ont omis de déclarer auparavant à l'ARC, sans pénalité ni poursuite. Vous pouvez faire une divulgation volontaire si votre dossier ne fait pas l'objet d'une mesure d'exécution. L'Initiative relative aux agents de liaison n'est pas une mesure d'exécution. Pour en savoir plus sur ce programme, allez à Programme des divulgations volontaires.

18. Où puis-je obtenir plus de renseignements sur l'IAL?

Vous trouverez des renseignements à jour dans le site Web de l'ARC. Pour obtenir plus de détails, vous pouvez téléphoner aux Renseignements aux entreprises, au 1-800-959-7775.

Date de modification :