Liaison Officer Initiative (LOI)

One component of the CRA's three-point plan

The Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) is working hard to improve its services, so that small and medium-sized businesses can more easily fulfill their tax obligations while saving time and money, and cutting red tape. The Liaison Officer Initiative (LOI) is one component of the CRA's three-point plan to help small and medium-sized businesses meet their tax obligations. Through the LOI, businesses receive in-person support at key points of their business cycle, and information that will assist them in understanding their rights, navigating the tax system, cutting through red tape and more easily complying with their tax obligations. Early support and certainty help the CRA too. By identifying emerging issues and addressing questions earlier on, the CRA can stop them from developing into more serious problems that are expensive for the Agency and taxpayers to resolve.

While audits remain a part of the continuum of tools available to the CRA to ensure compliance, this initiative shifts the balance of the CRA's compliance approach to also include activities that are proactive and provide support to the taxpayer before costly and time-consuming audits may be necessary.  The activities conducted under the LOI are also geared to providing timely education and building stronger relationships between the CRA, individual taxpayers, and industry sectors.

The LOI offers a number of activities. Selected small and medium-sized businesses that voluntarily choose to participate will benefit from one, two or all of the following activities:

  1. Small Business Support Visits: Personalized information can go a long way in helping businesses get it right. Liaison Officers (LO) will visit a taxpayer's place of business on a voluntary, one-to-one basis to provide income tax support and guidance. LOs will address tax-related questions and concerns raised by the taxpayer, provide general information on tax obligations, and advise the taxpayer about unintentional or recurring errors common to the taxpayer's industry or business sector.
  2. Books and Records Review: Poor record keeping is one of the most common contributors to non-compliance among small businesses. The LO will review the taxpayer's books and records and provide advice and guidance on their accuracy and completeness, so that any potential problems can be addressed prior to tax filing.
  3. Compliance Support Arrangement (CSA): Following a visit or review, or when information has been provided, in order to reinforce the opportunity for learning and awareness, LOs may ask taxpayers to sign a CSA as an acknowledgement that they have understood the nature of their tax responsibilities, those of the CRA and the information they received. Taxpayers may be invited to sign the CSA, which highlights the key responsibilities of both parties, identifies unintentional or recurring income tax errors that are common to the taxpayer's business sector and outlines industry benchmarks that the taxpayer can use to compare their performance to the sector in general.

Small and medium-sized businesses may be asked to participate in one, two or all three of these activities. 

Related documents

Additional resources

Stay connected

To receive updates on new documents, policies, guidelines, and forms, you can:

Date modified:

Initiative relative aux agents de liaison (IAL)

Une des composantes du plan en trois points

L'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) fait beaucoup d'efforts pour améliorer ses services et aider les petites et moyennes entreprises à épargner du temps et de l'argent et à remplir moins de paperasse. L'Initiative relative aux agents de liaison (IAL) est une composante du plan en trois points que l'ARC a conçu pour aider ces entreprises à respecter leurs obligations fiscales. Grâce à cette initiative, les entreprises recevront un soutien en personne à des moments clés de leur cycle économique. Elles obtiendront aussi l'information dont elles ont besoin pour comprendre leurs droits et le régime fiscal et réduire la paperasse. Il est certain qu’un soutien, dès le début, bénéficiera aussi à l'ARC. En effet, en identifiant les nouveaux enjeux et en réglant les problèmes dès qu’ils apparaissent, l'ARC peut empêcher que ceux ci ne s'aggravent au point de devenir coûteux, tant pour elle que pour l'entreprise.

Les vérifications continueront de faire partie de l'ensemble des mécanismes dont dispose l'ARC pour assurer l'observation. Toutefois, l'initiative permettra à l'ARC de mener des activités proactives visant à soutenir les entreprises en vue d'éviter d'avoir à faire des vérifications, qui sont coûteuses et longues à réaliser. Ces activités visent aussi à permettre à l'ARC d'offrir des renseignements au bon moment et d'établir des solides relations avec les entreprises et les secteurs d'activité.

L’IAL propose un certain nombre d’activités. Les petites et moyennes entreprises qui choisissent volontairement de participer à l’initiative, pourront participer à plus d’une des trois activités suivantes:

  1. Visites de soutien aux petites entreprises : Une information personnalisée peut grandement aider une entreprise à bien faire les choses. Avec l'accord de l'entreprise, des agents de liaison visiteront son lieu d'affaires afin de lui offrir des conseils et du soutien en matière d'impôt sur le revenu. Ils répondront aussi à ses questions d'ordre fiscal, lui donneront des renseignements généraux sur ses obligations fiscales et lui feront part des erreurs involontaires ou fréquentes dans son secteur d'activité.
  2. Examen des registres comptables : La mauvaise tenue des registres comptables est l'une des causes les plus courantes d’inobservation dans les petites entreprises. L'agent de liaison examinera les registres comptables de l'entreprise et lui donnera des conseils pour l'aider à en assurer l'exactitude et l'intégralité. De cette façon, tout problème potentiel pourra être résolu avant même que l'entreprise produise ses déclarations de revenus.
  3. Arrangement de soutien à l'observation (ASO) : Une fois que l'agent de liaison a terminé la visite ou l'examen, ou qu'il a fourni de l'information à l'entreprise, il demandera à cette dernière de signer une entente de soutien à l'observation qui devient un outil d'apprentissage et de sensibilisation. Ce faisant, l'entreprise démontre qu'elle a compris les renseignements qu'elle a reçus, ainsi que ses responsabilités fiscales et celles de l'ARC. Elle peut être invitée à signer l’ASO qui énonce les principales responsabilités des deux parties et énumère les erreurs involontaires ou répétées propres au secteur d'activité de l'entreprise. Elle présente aussi les points de référence pour ce secteur que l'entreprise peut utiliser pour comparer son rendement à celui d'autres entreprises du même secteur.

L'ARC pourrait demander aux petites et moyennes entreprises de participer à plus d'une de ces trois activités.

Documents connexes

Ressources supplémentaires

Soyez branché

Pour recevoir des mises à jour sur les nouveaux documents et formulaires et sur les nouvelles politiques et lignes directrices, vous pouvez :

Date de modification :