Small businesses and self-employed income

The information on this page is for:

  • sole proprietorships
  • partnerships
  • self-employed individuals, including those earning income from commissions

If you are incorporated, this information does not apply to you. Instead, see the information at Corporations.

If you are starting a small business, see the Checklist for new small businesses. The checklist provides important tax information.

What's new for small businesses and self-employed.

Business income includes money you earn from a:

  • profession
  • trade
  • manufacture or
  • undertaking of any kind, an adventure or concern in the nature of trade, or any other activity you carry on for profit and there is evidence to support that intention.

For example, income from a service business is business income. However, business income does not include employment income, such as wages or salaries received from an employer.

Note

You have to report all amounts of income that are required for calculating income for tax purposes. If you do not report all your income, you may be subject to a penalty of 10% of the amount of income that you did not report. For more information, see Business Income Tax Reporting.

Other topics on this page:

Bringing in assets

Determine the fair market value of transferred assets, and the implications of acquiring an existing business.

Fair market value for your assets

You might transfer to your business assets that belong to you personally. If you are operating a sole proprietorship, this is a reasonably simple process. The Income Tax Act requires that you transfer these assets to the business at their fair market value (FMV). This means that we consider you to have sold the assets at a price equal to their FMV at that time.

If this amount is greater than your original purchase price, you must report the difference as a capital gain on your income tax and benefit return. Your business will show a purchase of these assets, with a cost equal to the FMV at the time of the transfer. This is the value that you will add to the capital cost allowance (CCA) schedule for income tax purposes.

For income tax purposes, when you transfer the property to a Canadian partnership or a Canadian corporation, you can transfer the property for an elected amount. This amount may be different from the FMV, as long as you meet certain conditions. The elected amount then becomes your proceeds for the property transferred, as well as the cost of the property to the corporation or partnership.

The rules regarding these transfers of property are technical. They allow you to change your business type from a sole proprietorship to a corporation or partnership or from partnership to a corporation, on a tax-free basis. For more information, see Interpretation Bulletin IT-291, Transfer of Property to a Corporation Under Subsection 85(1), Information Circular IC76-19R3, Transfer of Property to a Corporation Under Section 85, and Interpretation Bulletin IT-413R, Election by members of a partnership under subsection 97(2).

For GST/HST purposes, you may be able to claim an ITC for the GST/HST paid or payable on property such as capital property and inventory, that you have on hand on the day you register. For more information, go to Input tax credits and see Guide RC4022, General Information for GST/HST Registrants.

Buying an existing business

When you are considering becoming a business owner, you have the option of buying an existing business or starting a new one. The option you choose will have a significant effect on how you will account for the purchase of the business assets for income tax purposes.

When you buy a business, you generally pay a set amount for the entire business. In some cases, the sale agreement sets out a price for each asset, a value for the inventory of the business and, if applicable, an amount that you can attribute to goodwill.

If the individual asset prices are set out in the sale agreement, and the prices are reasonable, then you should use these prices to claim capital cost allowance (CCA). If the individual asset prices are not set out in the contract, you have to determine how much of the purchase price you should attribute to each asset, how much to inventory, and how much, if any, to goodwill. These amounts should coincide with the amounts the vendor determined when reporting the sale.

The amount you allocate to each asset should be its fair market value (FMV). You should allocate to goodwill the balance of the purchase price that remains after you allocate the FMV to each asset and to inventory.

Example

You buy a business for $480,000.

The total of the FMV of the net identifiable assets of the business is as follows:

Accounts receivable $80,000 + inventory $40,000 + land $120,000 + building $200,000 = total net identifiable assets $440,000

The value of the goodwill is determined by subtracting from the purchase price the net identifiable assets as follows:

Purchase price $480,000 - net identifiable assets $440,000 =  amount attributed to goodwill $40,000.

Once you have determined the values for the assets and the goodwill, add the fixed assets (such as buildings and equipment) into the appropriate classes for the purpose of claiming the capital cost allowance (CCA). The goodwill is considered to be an eligible capital expenditure, which is treated in a manner similar to assets eligible for CCA.

Treat the value of the inventory as a purchase of goods for resale, and include it in the calculation of cost of goods sold in your income statement at the end of the year.

GST/HST when you buy a business

For GST/HST purposes, if you buy a business or part of a business and acquire all or substantially all (at least 90%) of the property that can reasonably be regarded as necessary to carry on the business, you and the vendor may be able to jointly elect to have no GST/HST payable on the sale by completing Form GST44, Election Concerning the Acquisition of a Business or Part of a Business. You cannot use this election if the seller is a registrant and you are not a registrant. In addition, you must buy all or substantially all of the property, not only individual assets.

For the election to apply to the sale, you have to be able to continue to operate the business with the property acquired under the sale agreement. You have to file Form GST44 on or before the day you have to file the GST/HST return for the first reporting period in which you would have otherwise had to pay GST/HST on the purchase.

Even when you use the election, GST/HST will still apply to a taxable supply of a service made by the seller; a taxable supply of property made by way of lease, licence, or similar arrangement; and, if the buyer is not a registrant, a taxable sale of real property.

Shares of a corporation

Another way of buying an existing business is to buy the shares of a corporation. This does not affect the cost base of the assets of the business. As explained previously, a corporation is a separate legal entity and can own property in its own name. A change in the ownership of the shares will not affect the tax values of the assets the corporation owns. Generally, the purchase of shares of a corporation is not subject to GST/HST.

For more information on changes to your business, go to Changes to your business.

Forms and publications

Related topics

Other related topics

Government partners

Multimedia

Date modified:

Revenu des petites entreprises et travailleurs indépendants

Les renseignements sur cette page s'adressent aux:

  • entreprises individuelles
  • sociétés de personnes
  • travailleurs indépendants, y compris ceux qui gagnent un revenue de commissions

Si vous êtes constitué en société, ces renseignements ne sont pas pour vous. Consultez plutôt les renseignements à Sociétés.

Si vous démarrez une petite entreprise, consultez la Liste de contrôle pour les nouvelles petites entreprises. Cette liste fournit des renseignements fiscaux importants.

Quoi de neuf pour les petites entreprises et travailleurs indépendants.

Un revenu d’entreprise comprend l’argent que vous gagnez : 

  • d’une profession
  • d’un métier
  • d’une entreprise de fabrication ou
  • d’une entreprise de tout autre genre. Il englobe aussi un projet comportant un risque, une affaire à caractère commercial ou toute autre activité que vous exercez en vue d’en tirer un bénéfice, et il existe des preuves de cette intention.

Par exemple, le revenu d’une entreprise de services est un revenu d’entreprise. Par contre, le revenu tiré d’un emploi, c’est à dire le salaire reçu d’un employeur, n’est pas un revenu d’entreprise.

Par exemple, le revenu d'une entreprise de services est un revenu d'entreprise. Par contre, le revenu tiré d'un emploi, c'est-à-dire le salaire reçu d'un employeur, n'est pas un revenu d'entreprise.

Remarque

Vous devez déclarer tous revenus requis afin de calculer votre impôt sur le revenu. Si vous ne les déclarez pas tous, vous pourriez devoir payer une pénalité égale à 10 % des montants que vous n’avez pas declarés. Pour plus d'information, visitez Déclaration d'impôt sur le revenus d'entreprise.

Sur cette page:

Apport de biens dans une entreprise

Déterminer la juste valeur marchande de l’actif transféré, et apprendre les implications d'acquérir une entreprise.

Juste valeur marchande

Vous pouvez transférer à votre entreprise des biens qui vous appartiennent personnellement.

Si vous exploitez une entreprise individuelle, il s’agit d’un processus assez simple. Selon la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu, vous devez faire ce transfert en fonction de la juste valeur marchande (JVM) des biens. Cela veut dire que nous considérons que vous avez vendu les biens à un prix égal à leur JVM au moment du transfert. Si ce montant est supérieur au prix que vous aviez payé à l’origine, vous devez déclarer la différence comme gain en capital dans votre déclaration de revenus.

Votre entreprise comptabilisera cette opération comme un achat de biens à un coût égal à leur JVM au moment du transfert. C’est cette valeur que vous ajouterez à l’annexe de la déduction pour amortissement (DPA) aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu.

Aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu, vous pouvez aussi faire le choix de transférer un bien à une société canadienne ou à une société de personnes canadienne pour une certaine somme. Cette somme peut être différente de la JVM si vous remplissez certaines conditions. La somme choisie devient alors votre produit de disposition du bien transféré, ainsi que le coût du bien pour la société ou la société de personnes.

Les règles de transfert de biens sont techniques. Elles vous permettent de modifier, sans conséquence fiscale, le type de structure de votre entreprise pour la faire passer d’une entreprise individuelle à une société ou à une société de personnes ou encore d’une société de personnes à une société. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le bulletin d'interprétation IT-291, Transfert d'un bien à une société en vertu du paragraphe 85(1), la circulaire d'information IC76-19, Transfert de biens à une société en vertu de l'article 85, et le bulletin d'interprétation IT-413, Choix exercé par les membres d'une société en vertu du paragraphe 97(2).

Aux fins de la TPS/TVH, vous pouvez peut-être demander un crédit de taxe sur les intrants (CTI) pour la TPS/TVH payée ou payable sur des biens que vous avex transférés à votre entreprise, comme des immobilisations ou l’inventaire que vous déteniez au moment de votre inscription. Pour en savoir plus, allez à Crédits de taxe sur les intrants, et consultez le guide RC4022, Renseignements généraux sur la TPS/TVH pour les inscrits.

Acquisition d'une entreprise existante

Si vous envisagez de devenir propriétaire d’une entreprise, vous avez le choix entre en acquérir une existante ou en démarrer une nouvelle. Votre choix aura des répercussions importantes sur la façon dont vous comptabiliserez l’acquisition des biens de l’entreprise aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu.

En général, quand vous achetez une entreprise, vous payez un prix déterminé pour l’ensemble de l’entreprise. Dans certains cas, le contrat de vente indique le prix de chaque élément d’actif, la valeur de l’inventaire de l’entreprise et, le cas échéant, un montant attribué au fonds commercial.

Si le prix de chaque élément d’actif est dans le contrat de vente et que les prix sont raisonnables, utilisez‑les pour calculer la déduction pour amortissement (DPA).

Si le prix de chaque élément d’actif n’est pas dans le contrat, calculez quelle part du prix d’acquisition est attribuable à chaque élément d’actif, d’inventaire et au fonds commercial, s’il y en a un. Ces montants doivent correspondre à ceux déclarés par le vendeur.

Le montant que vous attribuez à chaque élément d’actif doit être sa JVM. La valeur du fonds commercial équivaut au solde du prix d’acquisition après que vous avez attribué une JVM aux éléments d’actif et à l’inventaire.

Exemple

Vous achetez une entreprise pour un prix d'acquisition total de 480 000 $.

Le total de la JVM des éléments identifiables de l'actif net de l'entreprise est calculé comme suit :

Comptes clients 80 000 $ + inventaire 40 000 $ + terrain 120 000$ + bâtiment 200 000 $ = total des éléments identifiables de l'actif net 440 000 $.

La valeur du fonds commercial (achalandage) est calculée en soustrayant du prix d'acquisition la valeur totale des éléments identifiables de l'actif net comme suit :

Prix d'acquisition 480 000 $ - le total des éléments identifiables de l'actif net 440 000 $ = montant attribué à l'achalandage 40 000 $.

Après avoir calculé la valeur des éléments d’actif et du fonds commercial, ajoutez les immobilisations (par exemple, les bâtiments, l’équipement) dans les catégories prévues pour le calcul de la déduction pour amortissement (DPA). Le fonds commercial est considéré comme une dépense en capital admissible, que nous traitons de manière semblable aux biens qui donnent droit à la DPA.Traitez la valeur de l’inventaire comme un achat de marchandises destinées à être revendues. Par conséquent, ajoutez cette valeur au calcul du coût des marchandises vendues dans votre état des résultats de fin d’année.

TPS/TVH lors de l'acquisition d'une entreprise

Aux fins de la TPS/TVH, si vous achetez une entreprise ou une partie d’entreprise et que vous acquérez la totalité ou presque (au moins 90 %) des biens qu’il est raisonnable de considérer comme nécessaires à son exploitation, vous et le vendeur pouvez peut être ne pas payer de TPS/TVH au moment de la vente. Pour faire ce choix, vous et le vendeur devez remplir le formulaire GST44, Choix visant l’acquisition d’une entreprise ou d’une partie d’entreprise. Vous ne pouvez pas faire ce choix si le vendeur est un inscrit, mais que vous n’êtes pas un inscrit. De plus, vous devez acheter la totalité ou presque des biens, et non seulement certains d’entre eux.

Pour que votre choix soit accepté, vous devez être en mesure d’exploiter l’entreprise avec les biens acquis selon le contrat de vente. Vous devez produire le formulaire GST44 au plus tard le jour où vous devez produire la déclaration de TPS/TVH pour la première période de déclaration au cours de laquelle vous auriez autrement eu à payer la TPS/TVH sur l’achat.

Même lorsque vous faites ce choix, la TPS/TVH s’appliquera toujours à la fourniture taxable d’un service exécuté par le vendeur, à la fourniture taxable d’un bien par bail, licence ou accord semblable et, lorsque l’acheteur n’est pas un inscrit, à la vente taxable d’un bien immobilier.

Actions d’une société

Une autre façon d’acquérir une entreprise existante est d’acheter les actions d’une société. Cela ne change pas le coût de base des éléments d’actif de l’entreprise. Puisqu’une société est une entité juridique distincte et qu’elle peut posséder des biens en son propre nom, un changement de propriété des actions n’a pas de répercussion sur la valeur fiscale des éléments d’actif qui lui appartiennent. En général, l’achat des actions d’une société n’est pas assujetti à la TPS/TVH.

Pour en savoir plus sur les changements effectués à votre entreprise, lisez à Changements effectués à votre entreprise.

 

Formulaires et publications

Sujets connexes

Autres sujets connexes

Partenaires gouvernementaux

Multimédia

Date de modification :