Setting up your business

On this page you will find information about:

For income tax purposes, we define a business as an activity where there is a reasonable expectation of profit and there is evidence to support that intention. For goods and services tax/harmonized sales tax (GST/HST) purposes, a business can also include an activity whether or not it is engaged in for profit, as well as any regular and continuous activity that involves leasing property.

Registering your business

Not all businesses need a business number (BN) and program accounts. It is important to read Do you need a business number or a program account? before registering.

The BN is a nine-digit identifier for businesses to simplify their dealings with federal, provincial, and municipal governments in Canada. It aims to give each registered business its own unique number.

You only need a BN if you need one or more program accounts. A program account is an account you register for with the Canada Revenue Agency to deal with specific programs. The most common program accounts a business will need are:

If you already have a BN and you change the legal ownership or the structure of your business, you may have to register for a new BN. For more information, go to Changing your business status.

Business services and information

Business structures

Your choice of business structure will affect how you report your business income, the type of returns you complete, and many other aspects of your business.

To find out the impact each structure would have on your business, consult the following list below:

Sole proprietorship

A sole proprietorship is an unincorporated business that is owned by one person. It is the simplest kind of business structure.

The owner of a sole proprietorship has sole responsibility for making decisions, receives all the profits, claims all losses, and does not have separate legal status from the business. If you are a sole proprietor, you also assume all the risks of the business. The risks extend even to your personal property and assets.

It is easy to set up a sole proprietorship. Simply operate as an individual or as a registered, unincorporated business. If you operate as an individual, just bill your customers or clients in your own name.

If you operate under a registered business name, bill your clients and customers in the business's name. If your business has a name other than your own, you'll need a separate bank account to process cheques payable to your business.

How does a sole proprietor pay taxes on their business income?

A sole proprietor reports all revenue generated by the business and claims all expenses incurred to earn this income on their T1 income tax and benefit return. The net income (or net loss) forms part of the sole proprietor's overall income for the year.

Sole proprietors have to file a T1 return if you:

  • have to pay tax for the year;
  • disposed of a capital property or had a taxable capital gain in the year;
  • have to make Canada Pension Plan/Quebec Pension Plan (CPP/QPP) payments on self-employed earnings or pensionable earnings for the year;
  • want to access employment insurance (EI) special benefits for self-employed persons. For more information, see Guide T4002, Business and Professional Income; or
  • received a demand from us to file a return.

You also need to file a return if you are claiming an income tax refund, a refundable tax credit, a GST/HST credit, or the Canada child tax benefit. You should also file a return if you are entitled to receive provincial tax credits.

The list above does not include every situation where you may have to file. If you are not sure whether you have to file, call 1-800-959-5525.

Note

As a sole proprietor, you may have to pay your income tax by instalments. You may also need to make instalment payments for Canada Pension Plan (CPP) contributions on your own income. For more information, go to Paying Your Income Tax by Instalments.

When you file your income tax and benefit return, you must include financial statements or one or more of the following forms, as applicable:

We will also accept a computer-generated version of these forms.

Do you have to register for GST/HST?

You may be required to register for the goods and services tax/harmonized sales tax (GST/HST) if you provide taxable supplies in Canada.

For more information, go to Registering for a GST/HST account.

Partnership

A partnership is an association or relationship between two or more individuals, corporations, trusts, or partnerships that join together to carry on a trade or business.

Each partner contributes money, labour, property, or skills to the partnership. In return, each partner is entitled to a share of the profits or losses of the business. The business profits (or losses) are usually divided among the partners based on the partnership agreement.

Like a sole proprietorship, a partnership is easy to form. In fact, a simple verbal agreement is enough to form a partnership. However, most partnerships are governed by a written agreement setting out rules for partners entering or leaving the partnership, the division of partnership income, and other matters. If money and property are at stake, we recommend that you have a written agreement.

The partnership is bound by the actions of any member of the partnership, as long as these are within the usual scope of the operations.

How does a partnership pay taxes?

A partnership by itself does not pay income tax on its operating results and does not file an annual income tax return. Instead, each partner includes a share of the partnership income (or loss) on a personal, corporate, or trust income tax return. They do this whether they received their share in money or as a credit in the partnership's capital account.

Each partner also has to either file financial statements or copies of the forms listed above that apply to their situation (computer-generated version of any of these forms is acceptable).

A partnership that carries on a business in Canada, or a Canadian partnership with Canadian or foreign operations or investments, has to file a Form T5013, Statement of Partnership Income, for each fiscal period of the partnership where:

  • at the end of the fiscal period, the partnership has an absolute value of revenues plus an absolute value of expenses of more than $2 million, or has more than $5 million in assets; or
  • at any time during the fiscal period:
    • the partnership is a tiered partnership (has another partnership as a partner or is itself a partner in another partnership);

    • the partnership has a corporation or a trust as a partner;

    • the partnership invested in flow-through shares of a principal-business corporation that incurred Canadian resource expenses and renounced those expenses to the partnership; or

    • the minister of National Revenue asked in writing a complete Form T5013.

For more information, go to Partnership and information return filing requirements; or see Guide T4068, Guide for the T5013 Partnership Information Return.

Does a partnership have to register for GST/HST?

Since a partnership is considered to be a separate person, it may be required to register for and collect GST/HST if it provide taxable supplies in Canada.

For more information, see Guide RC4022, General Information for GST/HST Registrants.

Corporation

A corporation is a separate legal entity. It can enter into contracts and own property in its own name, separately and distinctly from its owners. It may have some of the following features:

  • It is a separate legal entity with a perpetual existence;
  • It can generally raise larger amounts of capital more easily than a sole proprietorship or partnership; or
  • The shareholders cannot claim any loss the corporation sustains.

When forming a corporation, the owners transfer money, property, or services to the corporation in exchange for shares. The owners are referred to as shareholders.

You can buy and sell shares in a corporation without affecting the corporation's existence. A corporation continues to exist unless it winds up, amalgamates, or surrenders its charter for such reason as bankruptcy.

You set up a corporation by completing articles of incorporation, and filing them with the appropriate provincial, territorial, or federal authorities.

How does a corporation pay taxes?

A corporation has to file a T2 corporation income tax return no later than six months after the end of every tax year, even if it does not owe taxes. It also has to attach complete financial statements and the necessary schedules to the return.

The tax year for a corporation is its fiscal period. For more information, see Corporation.

A corporation usually pays its anticipated taxes for the year in monthly or quarterly instalments. For more information on instalment payments and the filing requirements for corporations, see Guide T4012, T2 Corporation - Income Tax Guide, or Guide T7B-Corp, Corporation Instalment Guide, or go to cra.gc.ca/payments.

Filing GST/HST returns

Corporations also have reporting periods for which they have to file their GST/HST return. For more information on these returns, including reporting periods, go to Goods and services tax/harmonized sales tax (GST/HST).

Are you responsible for your corporation's debts?

As a shareholder of your corporation, you have limited liability. This means that you and the other shareholders are not responsible for the corporation's debts. However, limited liability may not always protect you from creditors. For example, if a smaller, more closely held corporation wants to borrow money from a bank or other creditor, the creditor may ask for the shareholder's guarantee that the debt will be repaid. If you agree to this condition, you will be personally liable for that debt if the corporation does not pay it back.

This applies to taxes owing as well. If your corporation owes taxes and has obtained a loan or secured a line of credit, an advance under the loan or line of credit can be intercepted on account of the corporation's tax arrears. Notwithstanding that the proceeds of the advance have been paid to the receiver general for Canada, the corporation is deemed to have received the advance and is liable to the lender as such. When you have personally guaranteed the loan or the line of credit for the corporation, you would be liable jointly with the corporation for the amounts intercepted.

Directors may also be liable to pay amounts owed by the corporation if it has failed to deduct, withhold, remit or pay amounts as required by the Income Tax Act, the employment Insurance Act, the Canada Pension Plan, the Excise Act, 2001, and the Excise Tax Act. For more information on director's liability, see Information Circular IC89-2, Directors' Liability.

Forms and publications

Related topics

Multimedia

Video series: Starting your business

Date modified:

Établir votre d'entreprise

Vous trouverez l'information suivante sur cette page :

Aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu, une entreprise est une activité que l’on exerce avec l’intention de réaliser un profit, et qu'il y a des preuves de cette intention. Aux fins de la taxe sur les produits et services/taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH), une entreprise peut aussi inclure une activité que l’on exerce avec l’intention ou pas de réaliser un profit ainsi que toute activité régulière et continue qui se rapporte à la location de biens.

Inscrire votre entreprise

Ce ne sont pas toutes les entreprises qui ont besoin d'un numéro d'entreprise (NE) et de comptes de programme. Il est important de lire Avez-vous besoin d'un numéro d’entreprise ou d'un compte de programme? avant de vous inscrire.

Le numéro d'entreprise est un système de numérotation de neuf chiffres qui simplifie les relations entre les entreprises et les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et municipaux au Canada. Il vise à donner à chaque entreprise inscrite son propre numéro unique.

Vous avez seulement besoin d'un NE si vous avez besoin d'un ou de plusieurs comptes de programme. Une entreprise s'inscrit à un compte de programme lorsqu'elle a besoin de participer à un programme particulier de l'Agence du revenu du Canada. Une entreprise peut souvent avoir besoin : du compte de programme de :

Si vous avez déjà un NE et que vous changez le statut juridique ou la structure de votre entreprise, vous devrez peut-être demander un nouveau NE. Pour en savoir plus, allez à Changement au statut de votre entreprise.

Services et renseignements pour les entreprises

Structure d'entreprise

Votre choix de structure aura des conséquences sur la façon dont vous déclarerez vos revenus, sur le genre de déclaration que vous produirez à chaque année et sur beaucoup d'autres aspects de votre entreprise.

Pour connaître l’impact que chaque structure aurait sur votre entreprise, consultez la liste ci-dessous:

Entreprise individuelle

Il s'agit d'une entreprise non constituée en société appartenant à une seule personne (propriétaire unique). C'est la structure d'entreprise la plus simple.

Le propriétaire unique prend et assume seul toutes les décisions liées à l'entreprise. Comme il n'a pas de statut juridique distinct de celui de l'entreprise, il garde tous les profits et déduit toutes les pertes.

Si vous êtes un propriétaire unique, vous assumez tous les risques d'affaires. Ces risques peuvent même toucher vos biens et actifs personnels.

Pour lancer une entreprise individuelle, il suffit de mener des activités en tant que particulier ou d'exploiter une entreprise enregistrée non constituée en société. Si vous exploitez une entreprise personnelle, facturez vos clients à votre propre nom. Si vous exploitez une entreprise enregistrée, facturez vos clients au nom de votre entreprise. Notez que si votre entreprise a un nom différent du vôtre, il vous faudra un compte bancaire distinct pour le traitement des chèques payables à votre entreprise.

Comment un propriétaire unique paie-t-il l'impôt sur ses revenus d'entreprise?

Il déclare tous les revenus que génère son entreprise ainsi que toutes les dépenses encourues pour gagner ces revenus dans sa déclaration T1 de revenus et de prestations. Le revenu net (ou perte nette) fait partie de son revenu global pour l'année.

Si vous êtes propriétaire unique de votre entreprise, vous devez produire une déclaration de revenus et de prestations dans les cas suivants :

  • vous devez payer de l’impôt sur le revenu pour l’année;
  • vous avez disposé d’une immobilisation ou réalisé un gain en capital imposable au cours de l’année;
  • vous êtes tenu de payer des cotisations au Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) ou au Régime de rentes du Québec sur un revenu de travail indépendant ou sur des gains donnant droit à pension pour l’année;
  • vous souhaitez avoir accès aux prestations d’assurance‑emploi pour les travailleurs indépendants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le guide T4002, Revenus d'entreprise ou de profession libérale;
  • nous vous avons demandé de produire une déclaration de revenus.

Vous devez aussi produire une déclaration pour demander un remboursement d’impôt, un crédit remboursable, un crédit pour la TPS/TVH ou la prestation fiscale canadienne pour enfants. Vous pourriez également avoir droit à des crédits d’impôt provinciaux.

Il y a d'autres situations où vous pourriez être tenu de produire une déclaration. Pour les connaître, communiquez avec nous au 1-800-959-7775 .

Remarque

En tant que propriétaire unique, vous devrez peut-être payer votre impôt sur le revenu et vos cotisations au RPC par acomptes provisionnels. Prévoyez ces paiements dans votre budget. Pour en savoir plus, allez à Le paiement de votre impôt par acomptes provisionnels.

Vous devez joindre à votre déclaration de revenus vos états financiers ou l’un ou l’autre des formulaires suivants, selon le cas :

Nous accepterons aussi les versions produites par ordinateur de ces formulaires.

Devez-vous vous inscrire à la TPS/TVH

Entant que propriétaire unique, vous devez vous inscrire à la TPS/TVH si vous effectuez des fournitures taxables au Canada.

Pour en savoir plus, allez à Inscription au compte de TPS/TVH.

Société de personnes

Une société de personnes est une association entre au moins deux particuliers, sociétés, fiducies ou sociétés de personnes qui s'unissent en vue d'exploiter un commerce ou une entreprise.

Chaque associé fournit argent, travail, biens ou compétences à la société de personnes. En retour, chaque associé a droit à une part des bénéfices ou assume une part des pertes de la société. La répartition des bénéfices ou des pertes entre les associés dépend en générale de l'entente conclue entre eux.

Comme dans le cas d'une entreprise individuelle, il est facile de démarrer une société de personnes. En fait, une simple entente verbale suffit. Cependant, la plupart des sociétés de personnes sont régies par un accord écrit énonçant les règles pour les associés entrant ou sortant de la société de personnes, la répartition du revenu entre les associés ainsi que d'autres points.

La société de personnes est liée par les actes de chacun de ses associés, pourvu qu'ils soient posés dans le cadre normal des activités de l'entreprise.

Comment une société de personnes paie-t-elle l'impôt sur le revenu et la TPS/TVH?

Une société de personnes ne paie pas d'impôt sur ses bénéfices d'exploitation et ne produit pas de déclaration de revenus annuelle. Chaque associé inclut plutôt sa part des revenus ou des pertes de la société de personnes dans une déclaration de revenus des particuliers, des sociétés ou des fiducies. Ils doivent le faire, peu importe s’ils reçoivent leur part des bénéfices en argent ou sous forme de crédit au compte de capital de la société de personnes.

Chaque associé doit produire des états financiers, ou les formulaires énumérés ci-dessus qui s'appliquent à leur situation (nous acceptons des versions électroniques de ces formulaires).

Une société de personnes qui exploite une entreprise au Canada ou une société de personnes canadienne, qui exerce des opérations ou qui a des placements au Canada ou à l'étranger doit produire un formulaire T5013, État des revenus d’une société de personnes, pour chaque exercice ou elle est dans l’une des situations suivantes :

  • à la fin de l’exercice la valeur absolue combinée de ses recettes et des ses dépenses dépasse 2 millions de dollars ou la société de personnes compte plus de 5 millions de dollars en actifs;
  •  à un moment quelconque de l’exercice :
    • elle est une société de personnes multiple (elle a une autre société de personnes comme associée ou est elle-même l’associé d’une autre société de personnes);
    • Elle compte parmi ses associés une société ou une fiducie;
    • Elle a acquis les actions accréditives d’une société exploitant une entreprise principale qui a engagé des frais relatifs à des ressources canadiennes et a renoncé à ces frais en faveur de la société de personnes;
    • le ministre du Revenu national a demandé par écrit de produire un formulaire T5013.

Pour en savoir plus, allez à Société de personnes et exigences concernant la production de déclaration de renseignements, et consultez le Guide T4068, Guide pour la déclaration de renseignements des sociétés de personnes T5013.

La société de personnes doit-elle s’inscrire à la TPS/TVH?

Puisqu'un société de personnes est considéré une personne distincte, elle peut être tenue de s'inscrire et de percevoir la TPS/TVH si elle fournit des fournitures taxables au Canada. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le guide RC4022, Renseignements généraux sur la TPS/TVH pour les inscrits.

Société

Une société est une entité juridique distincte. Elle peut passer des contrats et posséder des biens en son propre nom, séparément de ses propriétaires.

Voici quelques caractéristiques d'une société :

  • Elle est une entité juridique distincte ayant une existence perpétuelle;
  • Elle est, de façon générale, en mesure de réunir d'importants montants de capitaux plus facilement qu'une entreprise individuelle ou une société de personnes;
  • Les actionnaires ne peuvent pas déduire les pertes subies par la société.

Au moment de la formation de la société, les propriétaires transfèrent de l'argent, des biens ou des services à la société en contrepartie d'actions. On désigne alors chaque propriétaire par le terme actionnaire.

L'achat ou la vente des actions d'une société n'a aucune incidence sur l'existence de celle-ci. L'entreprise continue d'exister jusqu'à sa liquidation, sa fusion ou l'abandon de sa charte pour une autre raison comme la faillite.

On fonde une société en établissant des statuts constitutifs que l'on soumet à l'autorité provinciale, territoriale ou fédérale appropriée.

Comment une société paie-t-elle l'impôt sur le revenu?

Une société doit produire une déclaration de revenus des sociétés T2 au plus tard six mois après la fin de chaque année d’imposition, et ce, même si elle n’a pas d’impôt à payer. Elle doit joindre à sa déclaration de revenus des états financiers complets et les annexes nécessaires. Pour en savoir plus sur les exigences de productions d'une déclaration de revenus des sociétés T2, consultez le guide T4012, Guide T2 - Déclaration de revenus des sociétés.

L'année d'imposition d'une société correspond à son exercice. Pour en savoir plus sur les exercise, allez à Sociétés.

Une société doit normalement payé une partie de ses impôts anticipés pour l'année d'imposition courante par acomptes provisionnels à tous les mois ou tous les trois mois. Pour plus d'information sur les acomptes provisionnels, consultez le guide T7B-Corp, Guide des acomptes provisionnels pour les sociétés, ou allez à Faire un paiement.

Production de déclaration de TPS/TVH

Les sociétés doivent produire des déclarations de TPS/TVH pour des périodes particulières. Ces périodes sont aussi appelées périodes de déclaration. Pour en savoir plus sur ces déclarations, incluent leurs périodes de déclaration, allez à Taxe sur les produits et services/taxe de vente harmonisée (TPS/TVH).

Êtes-vous responsable des dettes de votre société?

Comme actionnaire, votre responsabilité est limitée. C’est‑à‑dire que vous et les autres actionnaires de la société n’êtes pas responsables de ses dettes. Toutefois, cela ne vous protège pas nécessairement de vos créanciers. Par exemple, lorsqu’une petite société qui a peu d’actionnaires veut emprunter de l’argent d’une banque ou d’un autre prêteur, le prêteur peut demander aux actionnaires de fournir une garantie que la dette sera remboursée. Si vous acceptez cette condition, vous serez alors personnellement responsable de la dette si la société est incapable de la rembourser.

Cela va aussi pour l'impôt à payer. Si votre société doit de l’impôt et a obtenu un prêt ou une marge de crédit, une avance sur le prêt ou la marge de crédit peut être interceptée pour payer des arriérés d'impôts de la société. Même si le produit de l'avance a été versée au receveur général du Canada, la société est réputée avoir reçu l’avance et est responsable à ce titre envers le prêteur. Si vous avez personnellement garanti le prêt ou la marge de crédit pour la société, vous êtes responsable, conjointement avec la société, des montants interceptés.

Les administrateurs peuvent également être tenus de payer les sommes dues par la société si elle ne les a pas déduites, retenues, versées ou payées selon les exigences de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, la Loi sur l'assurance-emploi, le Régime de pensions du Canada, la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise, et la Loi sur la taxe d'accise. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la circulaire d'information IC89-2, Responsabilité des administrateurs.

Formulaires et publications

Sujets connexes

Multimédia

Date de modification :