Registered charity

A registered charity is an organization established and operated for charitable purposes, and must devote its resources to charitable activities. The charity must be resident in Canada, and cannot use its income to benefit its members.

A charity also has to meet a public benefit test. To qualify under this test, an organization must show that:

  • its activities and purposes provide a tangible benefit to the public
  • those people who are eligible for benefits are either the public as a whole, or a significant section of it, in that they are not a restricted group or one where members share a private connection, such as social clubs or professional associations with specific membership
  • the charity's activities must be legal and must not be contrary to public policy

To register as a charity, the organization has to be either incorporated or governed by a legal document called a trust or a constitution. This document has to explain the organization's purposes and structure.

For more information, see Charities and Giving.

Forms and publications

Related topics

Organisme de bienfaisance

Un organisme de bienfaisance est créé à des fins de bienfaisance et il doit consacrer ses ressources à des activités de bienfaisance. Il doit résider au Canada et son revenu ne peut pas profiter à ses membres.

L'organisme doit aussi répondre aux critères de l'avantage public. Il doit, à cet effet, démontrer qu'il remplit les conditions d'admissibilité suivantes :

  • ses activités et ses fins confèrent un avantage tangible au public
  • le public dans son ensemble ou une composante importante du public constitue ses bénéficiaires. Il ne s'agit pas d'un groupe restreint ni d'un groupe dont les membres ont en commun un rapport particulier comme dans le cas des associations philanthropiques ou professionnelles dont l'adhésion est réservée à un public restreint
  • ses activités doivent être légales et ne doivent pas être contraires aux politiques de l'État

Aux fins de l'enregistrement comme organisme de bienfaisance, l'organisme doit être constitué en société ou régi par un document juridique appelé acte de fiducie ou constitution. Ce document doit expliquer les fins et la structure de l'organisme.

Pour plus de renseignements, consultez les Organismes de bienfaisance et dons.

Formulaires et publications

Sujets connexes

Date de modification :