Pertinent loans or indebtedness

A pertinent loan or indebtedness (PLOI) refers to a debt for which an election has been filed under:

  • subsection 15(2.11) of the Income Tax Act regarding a loan received, or an indebtedness incurred, by a non-resident corporation that is owed to a corporation resident in Canada (CRIC) that is controlled by the debtor or by another non-resident corporation with which the debtor does not deal at arm's length; or
  • subsection 212.3(11) of the Act regarding an amount owing from a foreign affiliate of a CRIC that is controlled by a non-resident corporation and the amount is owed to the CRIC.

If a debt is a PLOI, it will be subject to the new deemed interest income rule under section 17.1 of the Act instead of potentially being treated as a deemed dividend.

Section 17.1 of the Act provides interest income deeming rules for the elective PLOI regimes for shareholder loans (subsection 15(2.11) of the Act) and the new foreign affiliate dumping rules (subsection 212.3(11) of the Act). Section 17.1 of the Act generally results in the CRIC having deemed interest income, in respect of a PLOI, at a rate at least equal to the prescribed rate.

There is no explicit line or box for this deemed interest income on the T2 Corporation Income Tax Return. Interest income determined under section 17.1 of the Act should be reported by the CRIC on Schedule 125, Income Statement Information, under field code 8230, "Other revenue".


Corporation A, a non-resident corporation, controls Corporation B, a CRIC with a December 31 tax year-end. On January 1, 2015, Corporation A borrows $5,000,000 from Corporation B at 0% interest. By December 31, 2016, Corporation A has not repaid the loan. If Corporation A and Corporation B choose to elect under subsection 15(2.11) of the Act for the debt between them to be a PLOI, there is no Canadian withholding tax on a deemed dividend and, instead, Corporation B has deemed interest income starting January 1, 2015 at the regular prescribed rate (rounded to two decimal places instead of rounded up to the next whole number) plus four percentage points (4%).

These new elective rules generally apply to amounts that become owing after March 28, 2012 for both the shareholder loan and foreign affiliate dumping regimes and to amounts that became owing before March 29, 2012 for which the maturity date was extended after March 28, 2012 for the foreign affiliate dumping regime.

The non-resident corporation that controls the CRIC and the CRIC must jointly elect in writing to the Canada Revenue Agency for a debt to be a PLOI. File the election at the tax Centre of the CRIC on or before the filing-due date for the tax year in which the amount became owing (or the extension was made). If the election is filed late, a penalty of $100 for each complete month from the due date applies. The election must include the following:

  • the name and business number of the CRIC;
  • the name of the non-resident corporation that controls the CRIC;
  • the subsection of the Act that the election is filed under (for example 15(2.11) for shareholder loans or 212.3(11) for foreign affiliate dumping);
  • the name of the non-resident corporation debtor;
  • the amount of the PLOI; and
  • the date the PLOI became owing to the CRIC (or the extension was made).

Forms and publications

Date modified:

Prêt ou dette déterminé

Le terme prêt ou dette déterminé (PODD) s'entend d'une dette pour laquelle un choix est exercé selon :

  • le paragraphe 15(2.11) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, à l'égard d'un prêt reçu ou d'une dette contractée, qu'une société non-résidente doit à une société résidant au Canada (société résidente) contrôlée par la débitrice ou par une autre société non-résidente avec qui la débitrice a un lien de dépendance;
  • le paragraphe 212.3(11) de la Loi à l'égard d'un montant qu'une société étrangère affiliée à la société résidente (contrôlée par une société non-résidente) doit à la société résidente.

Si la dette est un PODD, elle sera considérée selon la nouvelle règle sur le revenu d'intérêts réputé énoncée à l'article 17.1 de la Loi, au lieu d'être considérée comme dividende réputé.

L’article 17.1 fournit les règles sur le revenu d’intérêts réputé pour le régime de PODD faisant état d'un choix pour les dettes d’actionnaire (paragraphe 15(2.11) de la Loi) et les opérations de transfert de sociétés étrangères affiliées (paragraphe 212.3(11) de la Loi). Il en résulte généralement, pour la société résidente, un revenu d'intérêts réputé à l'égard du PODD, et le taux qui s'applique est, au minimum le taux prescrit.

Il n’y a pas de ligne ou de boîte spécifique pour cet intérêt réputé sur la T2, Déclaration de revenus des sociétés. Tout revenu d’intérêt déterminé selon l'article 17.1 doit être déclaré par la société résidente dans l’annexe 125, Renseignements de l'état des résultats sous le code 8230 « Autres revenus ».

Exemple

La société A, une société non-résidente, contrôle la société B, une société résidente ayant le 31 décembre comme fin d'année d'imposition. Le premier janvier 2015, la société A emprunte 5 000 000 $ de la société B au taux d'intérêt de 0 %. Le 31 décembre 2015, l’emprunt n’est toujours pas remboursé. Si la société A et la société B choisissent ensemble de désigner la dette entre eux comme un PODD, selon le paragraphe 15(2.11) de la Loi, il n'y a pas de retenue d'impôt canadien sur un dividende réputé. Cependant, la société B a un revenu d’intérêts réputé qui commence le premier janvier 2015, au taux prescrit régulier (arrondi à deux décimales, plutôt qu'au nombre entier), plus 4 points de pourcentage (4%).

Ces nouvelles règles faisant état d'un choix, s’appliquent en général aux montants dus après le 28 mars 2012, pour les dettes d'actionnaire et les opérations de transfert de sociétés étrangères affiliées. Elles s'appliquent également aux montants qui sont devenu dus avant le 29 mars 2012 dont la date de maturité a été reportée après le 28 mars 2012, pour les opérations de transfert de sociétés étrangères affiliées.

La société non-résidente qui contrôle la société résidente, et la société résidente doivent choisir conjointement de désigner la dette comme PODD, par écrit, au centre fiscal de la société résidente. Produisez le choix au plus tard à la date limite de la déclaration de la société résidente pour l'année d'imposition où le montant est devenu dû (ou la date de maturité a été reportée). Si le choix est produit en retard, une pénalité de 100 $ pour chaque mois complet après la date limite s'applique. Le choix doit inclure les informations suivantes :

  • le nom et le numéro d’entreprise de la société résidente;
  • le nom de la société non-résidente qui contrôle la société résidente;
  • l'article de la Loi selon lequel le choix est produit ( par exemple 15(2.11) pour les dettes d'actionnaire ou 212.3(11) pour les opérations de transfert de sociétés étrangères affiliées);
  • le nom de la société non-résidente débitrice;
  • le montant du PODD;
  • la date où le PODD a été reçu ou engagé (ou la date de maturité a été reportée).

Formulaires et publications

Date de modification :