Place of supply rules for services

There are a number of significant changes to the current place of supply rules for supplies of services. The rules for supplies of services are generally based on the home or business address of the recipient (or another address of the recipient) obtained by the supplier in the normal course of business except for certain types of services for which specific place of supply rules will apply.

Canadian element

The Canadian element of a service means the portion of the service that is performed in Canada.

Deemed performance of service

For purposes of the place of supply rules that apply to services, where an agreement for a supply of a service is entered into but the service is never performed, the service is deemed to have been performed where the service was to be performed, as the case may be, under the terms of the agreement.

The new rules for determining in which province a supply of a service is made are described below.

Deemed supplies of services

Where a supply of a service is made for an amount that includes a payment that is for a period (referred to as a "billing period") that is the whole or a part of the period during which the service is or is to be rendered under the arrangement, a separate supply of the service for a separate amount is considered to be made by the supplier and received by the recipient for each billing period. Furthermore, the supply for each billing period is considered to be made on the earliest of the first day of the billing period, the day on which the payment for that period becomes due and the day that payment is made. The separate supplies of the services that are considered made for each billing period can be subject to HST at a different rate to the extent that those supplies can be considered made in a different province based on the application of the place of supply rules for services.

Forms and publications

Date modified:

Règles sur le lieu de fourniture pour les services

Il y des changements importants aux règles sur le lieu de fourniture des services. Les règles sur le lieu de fourniture pour les fournitures de services sont généralement basées sur l'adresse du domicile ou de l'entreprise de l'acquéreur (ou une autre adresse de l'acquéreur) obtenue par le fournisseur dans le cours normal des activités d'une entreprise à l'exception de certain types de services spécifiques qui seront assujettis à des règles particulières sur le lieu de fourniture.

Élément canadien

Élément canadien d'un service comprend la partie de celui-ci qui est exécutée au Canada.

Service réputé être effectué

Aux fins des règles sur le lieu de fourniture visant les services, le service dont la fourniture est prévue par un accord, mais qui n'a jamais été effectuée, à l'acquéreur est réputé avoir été effectuée là où il devait l'être aux termes de l'accord.

Les nouvelles règles pour déterminer dans quelle province une fourniture d'un service est effectuée sont décrites ci-dessous.

Fournitures de services réputées

Lorsqu'un service est effectué pour un montant qui comprend un paiement pour une période (appelée « période de facturation ») représentant la totalité ou une partie de la période pendant laquelle le service est rendu ou doit être rendu aux termes de l'accord, une fourniture distincte du service pour un montant distinct est considérée avoir été effectuée par le fournisseur et reçu par l'acquéreur pour chaque période de facturation. En outre, la fourniture pour chaque période de facturation est considérée effectuée à la date plus récente des jours suivants : le premier jour de la période de facturation, le jour où le paiement pour cette période devient payable et le jour où le paiement est effectué. Les fournitures distinctes qui sont considérées être effectuées pour chaque période de facturation peuvent être assujetties à la TVH à un taux différent dans la mesure où ces fournitures peuvent être effectuées dans une province différente selon l'application des règles sur le lieu de fourniture visant les services.

Formulaires et publications

Date de modification :