GST/HST information for governments and diplomats

 On this page

Does the GST/HST apply to the federal government?

In general, we consider the federal government to be a single entity that includes all its departments, branches, agencies and some corporations. Federal Crown corporations are separate legal entities and are registered separately for GST/HST purposes.

Supplies made to the federal government

You have to charge the GST/HST on the taxable supplies of property and services you make to the federal government. Special rules may apply to supplies of real property. For more information, see GST/HST Memoranda Series Chapter 19, Special Sectors: Real Property.

You may be eligible to claim ITCs for any GST/HST paid or payable on purchases you made to make taxable supplies of property and services.

Supplies made by the federal government

The federal government has to charge the GST/HST on its taxable supplies. However, a number of supplies provided by government entities are exempt.

Examples – Exempt supplies made by a government

Does the GST/HST apply to provincial and territorial governments?

Each provincial and territorial government (including all of its departments or ministries, and certain of its Crown corporations, boards, commissions, and agencies) is registered as one entity for the purpose of the GST/HST. Transactions between these bodies are not subject to the GST/HST. To find out which bodies are included with each provincial and territorial government, call 1-800-959-5525.

You charge the GST/HST to employees of a provincial or territorial government who make official business purchases in their own name.

Supplies made to a provincial government in the participating provinces or to the provincial government of British Columbia, Nunavut, or Quebec

You have to charge the GST/HST on taxable supplies of property and services you make to the following governments (including all of its departments or ministries, and certain of its Crown corporations, boards, commissions, and agencies):

  • New Brunswick
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Nova Scotia, Ontario
  • Prince Edward Island
  • British Columbia
  • Nunavut
  • Québec

These government entities may be eligible to apply for a rebate to recover the GST/HST paid or payable on eligible purchases. The Form GST490, GST/HST Rebate Application for Federal, Provincial and Territorial Governments can be filed using one of the following methods:

These government entities may also be eligible to apply for a rebate to recover the QST paid or payable on eligible purchases. For more information, see QST and GST/HST Rebates for Departments and Agencies of the Governments of Canada and Québec

Supplies made to a provincial government in a non-participating province or the territorial governments of the Northwest Territories or Yukon

If an authorized official provides evidence that the supplies are being purchased by a provincial or territorial department or entity, you do not charge the GST/HST on taxable supplies of property and services made to the following governments (including all their government departments or ministries, and some of their Crown corporations, boards, commissions, and agencies):

  • Alberta
  • Manitoba
  • Northwest Territories
  • Saskatchewan
  • Yukon

We will accept a certification clause that an authorized official of a provincial or territorial government entity, in one of these provinces or territories, has signed as satisfactory evidence. This is a statement on provincial or territorial purchase documents that certifies that a provincial or territorial government is purchasing the property or services with Crown funds. As the vendor, keep the purchase documents with the certification clause in case we ask to see them.

Supplies made by a provincial or territorial government

Provincial and territorial governments have to charge the GST/HST on their taxable supplies of property and services. However, a number of supplies provided by government entities are exempt.

Examples – Exempt supplies made by a government

Does the GST/HST apply to diplomats and foreign representatives?

You have to charge GST/HST on taxable supplies of goods and services you make to:

  • diplomatic missions
  • consular posts
  • international organizations
  • diplomatic agents
  • consular officers
  • designated officials of international organizations

You have to charge GST/HST whether they make purchases for themselves or their organizations. Foreign representatives are not exempt from paying GST/HST. You must collect the GST/HST from them, even if they show you a diplomatic identification card.

However, they may be eligible to apply for a GST/HST rebate if you give them acceptable documentation for their purchases. For more information, see Form GST498, GST/HST Rebate Application for Foreign Representatives, Diplomatic Missions, Consular Posts, International Organizations, or Visiting Forces Units.

Forms and publications

Date modified:

Renseignements sur la TPS/TVH pour les gouvernements et les diplomates

Sur cette page

Est-ce que la TPS/TVH s'applique au gouvernement federal?

Généralement, nous considérons le gouvernement fédéral comme une seule entité qui comprend tous les ministères, toutes les directions, toutes les agences et certaines sociétés. Les sociétés d’État fédérales sont des entités légales distinctes et sont inscrites séparément aux fins de la TPS/TVH.

Fournitures effectuées au gouvernement fédéral

Vous devez facturer la TPS/TVH sur les fournitures taxables de biens et de services que vous fournissez au gouvernement fédéral. Des règles particulières peuvent s’appliquer aux fournitures d’immeubles. Pour en savoir plus, consultez chapitre 19, Secteurs particuliers : Immeubles de la série des mémorandums sur la TPS/TVH.

Vous pourriez être admissible au crédit de taxe sur les intrants (CTI) pour n'importe quelle TPS/TVH payée ou payable sur les achats faits pour effectuer des fournitures taxables de biens et de services.

Fournitures effectuées par le gouvernement fédéral

Le gouvernement fédéral doit facturer la TPS/TVH sur ses fournitures taxables. Toutefois, certaines fournitures effectuées par les entités gouvernementales sont exonérées.

Exemples – Fournitures exonérées effectuées par un gouvernement

Est-ce que la TPS/TVH s'applique aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux?

Chaque gouvernement provincial et territorial (y compris tous leurs ministères et certains de leurs sociétés d'état, offices, commissions, organismes et agences) est inscrit comme une seule entité aux fins de la TPS/TVH. Les transactions au sein de ces entités ne sont pas assujetties à la TPS/TVH. Pour savoir quel organisme fait partie de chaque gouvernement provincial et territorial, composez le 1-800-959-5525.

Vous facturez la TPS/TVH aux employés d'un gouvernement provincial ou territorial qui font des achats en leur propre nom.

Fournitures effectuées à un gouvernement provincial d'une province participante ou au gouvernement provincial de la Colombie-Britannique, du Nunavut ou du Québec

Vous devez facturer la TPS/TVH sur les fournitures de produits et de services taxables que vous fournissez à ces gouvernements(y compris tous leurs ministères et certains de leurs sociétés d'état, offices, commissions, organismes et agencies) :  

  • Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
  • Nouvelle-Écosse
  • Ontario
  • Île-du-Prince-Édouard
  • Colombie-Britannique
  • Nunavut
  • Québec

Ces entités gouvernementales pourraient avoir droit à un remboursement de la TPS/TVH payée ou payable sur des achats admissibles. Le formulaire GST490, Demande de remboursement de la TPS/TVH pour les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux peut être rempli grâce aux méthodes suivantes:

Ces entités gouvernementales pourraient aussi avoir droit à un remboursement pour récupérer la TVQ payée ou payable sur des achats admissibles. Pour en savoir plus, consultez Remboursement de la TPS et de la TVQ pour les ministères et les organismes du gouvernement du Canada et du gouvernement du Québec.

Fournitures effectuées à un gouvernement provincial d'une province non-participante ou au gouvernement territorial des Territoires du Nord-Ouest ou du Yukon

Si un représentant autorisé vous présente une preuve que les fournitures sont achetées par une entité ou un ministère provincial ou territorial, vous ne facturez pas la TPS/TVH sur les fournitures taxables de biens et de services effectuées à ces gouvernements (y compris tous leurs ministères et certains de leurs sociétés d'état, offices, commissions, organismes et agences) :

  • Alberta
  • Manitoba
  • Territoires du Nord-Ouest
  • Saskatchewan
  • Yukon

Nous acceptons comme preuve suffisante une disposition d’attestation signée par un représentant autorisé d’une entité gouvernementale provinciale ou territoriale provenant d’un de ces provinces ou territoires. Il s’agit d’une disposition qui figure sur les documents d’achat des provinces ou des territoires et qui atteste que les biens ou les services sont achetés par un gouvernement provincial ou territorial avec des fonds publics. En tant que vendeur, vous devez conserver les documents d’achat portant cette attestation, au cas où nous voudrions les voir plus tard.

Fournitures effecutées par un gouvernement provincial ou territorial

Les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux doivent facturer la TPS/TVH sur leurs fournitures taxables de biens et de services. Toutefois, certaines fournitures effectuées par des entités gouvernementales sont exonérées.

Exemples – Fournitures exonérées effectuées par un gouvernement

Est-ce que la TPS/TVH s'applique aux diplomates et représentants étrangers?

Fournitures effectuées aux diplomates et représentants étrangers

Vous devez facturer la TPS/TVH sur les fournitures taxable de biens et de services que vous fournissez aux acteurs suivants:

  • les missions diplomatiques;
  • les postes consulaires;
  • les organismes internationaux;
  • les agents diplomatiques;
  • les fonctionnaires consulaires;
  • les représentants désignés d'organismes internationaux.

Vous devez facturer la TPS/TVH que les achats soient pour eux-mêmes ou pour leur organisme. Les représentants étrangers ne sont pas exemptés de payer la TPS/TVH. Vous devez percevoir la TPS/TVH même s'ils vous fournissent une carte d'identité diplomatique.

Toutefois, ils peuvent être admissibles à un remboursement de la TPS/TVH si vous leur donnez les documents nécessaires lors de l'achat. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le formulaire GST498, Demande de remboursement de la TPS/TVH pour les représentants étrangers et les membres des missions diplomatiques, des postes consulaires, des organisations internationales et des unités de forces étrangères présentes au Canada.

Formulaires et publications

Date de modification :