Loyalty and other points programs

Your employees may collect loyalty points, such as frequent flyer points or air miles, on their personal credit cards when travelling on business trips, even though you reimburse them for the amounts they spend. Usually, these points can be exchanged or cashed in for rewards (goods or services, including gift cards and certificates).

Your employees do not have to include in their income the value of the rewards they received or enjoyed from the points they collect on these business trips, unless any of the following applies:

  • The points are converted to cash.
  • The plan or arrangement between you and the employee seems to be a form of additional remuneration.
  • The plan or arrangement is a form of tax avoidance.

If any of the conditions above are met, the employee has to declare the fair market value of any personal rewards he or she received on an income tax and benefit return.


If you control the points (such as when an employee uses a company credit card, you have to report on their T4 slip the fair market value of any personal rewards he or she received from redeeming the points.

Include any GST/HST that applies in the value of this benefit.

Payroll deductions

If the benefit is taxable, it is also pensionable. Deduct CPP contributions and income tax. If the taxable benefit is paid in cash, it is insurable. Deduct EI premiums. If it is a non-cash benefit, it is not insurable. Do not deduct EI premiums.

Reporting the benefit

Report the taxable benefit in box 14 "Employment income" and in the "Other information" area under code 40 at the bottom of the employee's T4 slip. For more information, see T4 - Information for employers.


To see how this policy works, see Examples - Loyalty and other points programs.

Forms and publications

Date modified:

Programmes de fidélisation ou à points

Vos employés peuvent recueillir des points de fidélité, comme les points pour grands voyageurs ou les air miles, sur leurs cartes de crédit personnelles lors de déplacements professionnels, même si vous leur remboursez les montants qu'ils dépensent. Habituellement, ces points peuvent être échangés ou encaissés comme des reconnaissances (biens ou services), y compris des chèques-cadeaux et des cartes-cadeaux.

Vos employés n'ont pas à inclure dans leur revenu la valeur de la reconnaissance qu'ils ont reçue ou dont ils ont bénéficié, ni la valeur des points qu'ils accumulent sur les voyages d'affaires, à moins que :

  • les points sont convertis en espèces;
  • le régime ou l'arrangement entre vous et l'employé soit une forme de rémunération supplémentaire;
  • le régime ou l'arrangement soit une forme d'évitement fiscal.

Si une de ces conditions est remplie, l'employé doit déclarer la juste valeur marchande de toute reconnaissance personnelle qu'il a reçue dans sa déclaration de revenus et de prestations.

Remarque

Si vous avez le contrôle des points, comme par exemple lorsque l'employé utilise une carte de crédit d'entreprise, vous devez déclarer la juste valeur marchande de toute reconnaissance personnelle, en échange des points reçus, sur son feuillet T4.

Incluez la TPS/TVH applicable dans la valeur de l'avantage.

Retenues sur la paie

Lorsque l'avantage est imposable, il ouvre droit à pension. Faites des retenues de cotisations au RPC et d'impôt sur le revenu. Si l'avantage imposable est payé en espèces, il est assurable; retenez des cotisations à l'AE. S'il est payé autre qu'en espèces, l'avantage n'est pas assurable; ne retenez pas de cotisations à l'AE.

Comment remplir le feuillet T4

Déclarez l'avantage imposable à la case 14 « Revenus d'emploi » et dans la section « Autres renseignements », sous le code 40 au bas du feuillet T4. Pour en savoir plus,
consultez T4 - Information pour les employeurs.

Exemples

Pour savoir comment appliquer cette politique, consultez les Exemples - Programmes de fidélisation ou à points.

Formulaires et publications

Date de modification :