T4 Summary

If you are filing your return electronically, do not send us a paper copy of the slips or summary. For more information, go to Filing Information Returns Electronically (T4/T5 and other types of returns).

If you are filing on paper, use the T4 Summary, Summary of Remuneration Paid, to report the totals of the amounts reported on the related T4 slips. Send the original summary and the related slips to the Ottawa Technology Centre.

As part of our continuing efforts toward sustainable development, we no longer mail out the pre-printed T4 Summary. You can get a T4 Summary here or by calling 1-800-959-5525.

Completing the T4 Summary

For detailed completion instructions, see T4 Summary line instructions.

  • Report amounts in Canadian dollars and cents, even if the amounts were paid in another currency. To get the average exchange rates, go to What are the average exchange rates?
  • Complete a separate T4 Summary for each of your payroll program accounts. The totals you report on your T4 Summary have to agree with the totals you report on your T4 slips. Errors or omissions can cause unnecessary processing delays.
  • If you have not reported any amounts on the T4 slip or Summary, there is no need to send us a form.

Forms and publications

Related topics

Date modified:

T4 Sommaire

Si vous produisez votre déclaration par voie électronique, n'envoyez pas de copie papier du feuillet ou du Sommaire. Pour en savoir plus, allez à Produire les déclarations de renseignements par voie électronique (T4/T5 et autres genres de déclarations).

Si vous produisez une déclaration sur papier, inscrivez sur le formulaire T4 Sommaire, Sommaire de la rémunération payée, les totaux des montants déclarés sur tous les feuillets T4 correspondants. Par la suite, envoyez le Sommaire original et les feuillets au Centre de technologie d'Ottawa.

Grâce aux efforts constants axés sur le développement durable, le T4 Sommaire personnalisé ne sera plus distribué. Vous pouvez obtenir un T4 Sommaire ici ou en composant le 1-800-959-7775.

Comment remplir le T4 Sommaire

Pour connaître les instructions détaillées sur la façon de remplir le Sommaire, allez à Instructions détaillées pour le T4 Sommaire.

  • Inscrivez les montants en dollars et en cents canadiens, même s'ils ont été payés en devises étrangères. Pour obtenir les taux de change annuels moyens, allez à Quels sont les taux de change moyens?
  • Remplissez un T4 Sommaire distinct pour chacun de vos comptes de programme de retenues sur la paie. Les totaux que vous inscrivez sur le T4 Sommaire doivent correspondre aux totaux des montants que vous déclarez sur les feuillets. Les erreurs ou les omissions risquent de retarder le traitement de votre déclaration.
  • Si vous n'avez pas déclaré de montant sur les feuillets T4 ou le Sommaire, vous n'avez pas besoin de nous faire parvenir de formulaire.

Formulaires et publications

Sujets connexes