Business expenses

As a rule, you can deduct any reasonable current expense you paid or will have to pay to earn business income. The expenses you can deduct include any GST/HST you incur on these expenses less the amount of any input tax credit claimed.

Since you cannot deduct personal expenses, deduct only the business part of expenses from business income. In addition, you cannot claim expenses you incur to buy capital property.

For more information, see the list of expenses below.

Notes

When you claim the GST/HST you paid on your business expenses as an input tax credit, reduce the amounts of the business expenses you show on Form T2125, Statement of Business or Professional Activities, by the amount of the input tax credit. Do this when the GST/HST for which you are claiming the input tax credit was paid or became payable.

Similarly, subtract any other rebate, grant, or assistance from the expense to which it applies. Enter the net figure on the proper line. Any such assistance you claim for the purchase of depreciable property used in your business will affect your claim for capital cost allowance (CCA) .

If you cannot apply the rebate, grant, or assistance you received to reduce a particular expense, or to reduce an asset's capital cost, include the total on line 8230 - Other income in Part 3 of Form T2125.

List of expenses

Forms and publications

Related topics

Date modified:

Dépenses d'entreprise

En général, vous pouvez déduire toute dépense courante raisonnable que vous avez engagée ou allez engager pour gagner un revenu d'entreprise ou de profession libérale. Les dépenses que vous pouvez déduire comprennent, entre autres, la TPS/TVH que vous engagez sur ces dépenses, moins tout crédit de taxe sur les intrants demandé.

Puisque vous ne pouvez pas déduire les dépenses personnelles, déduisez uniquement la partie qui concerne vos affaires. De plus, vous ne pouvez pas déduire les dépenses que vous avez payés pour acheter des immobilisations.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez la liste de dépenses ci-dessous.

Remarques

Si vous demandez un crédit de taxe sur les intrants pour la TPS/TVH que vous avez payée sur vos dépenses d'entreprise, soustrayez de le crédit de la dépense à laquelle il se rapporte sur le formulaire T2125, État des résultats des activités d'une entreprise ou d'une profession libérale, peu importe si la taxe a été payée ou si elle est devenue payable.

Soustrayez aussi de la dépense tout remboursement ou toute aide ou subvention reçue. Inscrivez le montant net de la dépense à la ligne appropriée du formulaire T2125. Si l'aide ou la subvention reçue vise l'achat d'un bien amortissable, elle a un effet sur votre déduction pour amortissement (DPA).

Si vous ne pouvez pas appliquer le remboursement, l'aide ou la subvention que vous avez reçu pour réduire une dépense en particulier, ou pour réduire le coût en capital d'un bien, ajoutez le montant à celui de la ligne 8230 - Autres revenus, dans la partie 3 du formulaire T2125.

Liste de dépenses

Formulaires et publications

Sujets connexes