Information on Bankruptcy

What is bankruptcy?

Bankruptcy is a legal process performed by Industry Canada under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act, by which you may be discharged from most of your debts.

When you file for bankruptcy, the trustee becomes the administrator of your property and assets. One of the roles of the trustee is to wind up the property by selling all the assets and depositing the funds in trust for the creditors in bankruptcy.

Industry Canada is responsible for the enforcement of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act. The Superintendent of Bankruptcy, the Bankruptcy Tribunal, the Official Receiver in Bankruptcy, and the Trustee are all under its authority.

The first identification of a bankrupt individual is done when the trustee give us a completed Form DC905, Bankruptcy Identification Form. This should be done as soon as the trustee receives your estate number from the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy. Industry Canada will then give us any future updates related to the estate in bankruptcy.

What to file?

The trustee must file, on your behalf, an income tax and benefit return for the year immediately prior to the year of bankruptcy if a return had to be filed and you did not file it. The trustee must also file an income tax and benefit return for the period from January 1 up to the day before the date of bankruptcy; this return is called the pre-bankruptcy return. The trustee may also file an in-bankruptcy return to report income from liquidated assets (for example, RRSPs) or from businesses the trustee winds up for the benefit of creditors.

It is your responsibility to file an income tax and benefit return for the post-bankruptcy period which is from the date of bankruptcy to December 31, if the trustee does not file one on your behalf.

When an income tax and benefit return is filed by you or the trustee for the year of bankruptcy, it is important to clearly indicate that it is a pre-bankruptcy, in-bankruptcy, or post-bankruptcy return above the "Identification" section on page 1 of the return. Trustees should not insert their own address in the "Identification" section when preparing any return on your behalf. The Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy already provides us with the contact information for all registered trustees on a regular basis.

Are you getting a refund?

Refunds that are issued as a result of returns for years prior to the year of bankruptcy are considered to be the property of the estate in bankruptcy. As a result, these refunds will be sent to the trustee. Any refunds issued in relation to returns for years subsequent to the year of bankruptcy will be sent to you unless the trustee has obtained a court order.

For the year of bankruptcy, any issued refund related to the pre-bankruptcy return will be sent to the trustee. Issued refunds related to the post-bankruptcy return will also be sent to the trustee if your bankruptcy assignment date is July 7, 2008, or later. Post-bankruptcy refunds that are issued for bankruptcies with an assignment date prior to that will be sent to you unless the trustee has obtained a court order or has provided us with an Authorization and Direction letter.

For more information

  • Contact 1-800-959-8281.
  • If you have questions about bankruptcies that do not relate to income tax matters, contact the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
  • To get advice from an expert, contact a trustee in bankruptcy. See the Trustee directory or look in the yellow pages of your telephone directory under "Bankruptcies - Trustees" to find the name of a bankruptcy trustee for your province or territory.

Forms and publications

Government partners

Renseignements sur la faillite

Sur cette page

Qu'est-ce qu'une faillite?

La faillite est un processus légal administré par Industrie Canada en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité, à la suite duquel vous pouvez être libéré de la plupart de vos dettes.

Lorsque vous faites faillite, le syndic devient l'administrateur de vos biens et actifs. Un des rôles du syndic est de liquider les biens en vendant tous les actifs et en plaçant les fonds en entier en fiducie au bénéfice des créanciers.

Industrie Canada est responsable de l'application de la Loi sur les faillites et l'insolvabilité. Le Surintendant des faillites, le Tribunal de la faillite, le Séquestre officiel et le syndic sont tous sous son autorité.

L'identification initiale d'un particulier en faillite est faite lorsque le syndic nous donne le formulaire DC905, Formulaire d'identification de faillite rempli. Cela devrait se faire dès que le syndic reçoit votre numéro d'actif du Bureau du surintendant des faillites. Ensuite, Industrie Canada nous donnera toutes les mises à jour liées à l'actif visé par la faillite.

Ce qu'il faut produire

Si une déclaration de revenus et de prestations devait être produite pour l'année précédant l'année de la faillite et que vous ne l'avez pas produite, le syndic devra immédiatement en produire une en votre nom. Le syndic doit aussi produire une déclaration de revenus et de prestations couvrant la période allant du 1er janvier jusqu'au jour précédant la date de la faillite; cette déclaration est la déclaration pré-faillite.

Le syndic pourra également produire une déclaration en-faillite afin de faire état des revenus générés par la liquidation d'actifs (par exemple, des REER) ou d'entreprises qu'il a réalisés au bénéfice des créanciers.

C'est votre responsabilité de produire une déclaration de revenus et de prestations pour la période post-faillite allant de la date de la faillite au 31 décembre, si le syndic ne la produit pas en votre nom.

Lorsque vous ou le syndic produisez une déclaration de revenus et de prestations pour l'année d'imposition de la faillite, il est important d'indiquer clairement s'il s'agit d'une déclaration pré-faillite, d'une déclaration en-faillite ou d'une déclaration post-faillite au haut de la partie « Identification » de la page 1 de la déclaration. Le syndic ne devrait pas inscrire sa propre adresse dans la partie « Identification » lorsqu'il prépare une déclaration en votre nom. Le Bureau du surintendant des faillites nous fournit déjà périodiquement les coordonnées des syndics inscrits au registre.

Allez-vous recevoir un remboursement?

Les remboursements qui sont faits à la suite des déclarations des années antérieures à l'année de la faillite sont considérés comme des biens appartenant à l'actif visé par la faillite. Par conséquent, ces remboursements seront transmis au syndic. Tout remboursement émis relativement aux déclarations des années subséquentes à l'année de la faillite vous sera remis, sauf si le syndic a obtenu une ordonnance d'un tribunal.

Pour l'année de la faillite, tout remboursement émis à la suite d'une déclaration pré-faillite sera remis au syndic. Les remboursements émis à la suite de la déclaration post-faillite seront également remis au syndic si la date de cession de vos biens est le 7 juillet 2008 ou après. Les remboursements post-faillite qui sont émis dans le cas d'une faillite dont la date de cession de biens est antérieure vous seront remis, sauf si le syndic a obtenu une ordonnance d'un tribunal ou qu'il nous a remis une lettre d'autorisation et d'instructions.

Pour en savoir plus

  • Composez le 1-800-959-7383.
  • Si vous avez des questions qui ne sont pas liées à l'impôt sur le revenu, veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau du surintendant des faillites.
  • Si vous voulez obtenir les conseils d'un expert, communiquez avec un syndic de faillite. Consultez Trouver un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité ou les pages jaunes de votre annuaire téléphonique sous la rubrique « Faillites – Syndics » afin de trouver le nom d'un syndic de faillite pour votre province ou territoire.

Formulaires et publications

Partenaires gouvernementaux

Date de modification :