What if the deceased was receiving the GST/HST credit

Generally, GST/HST credit payments are issued on the fifth day of the month in July, October, January, and April. If the deceased was receiving GST/HST credit payments, we may still send out a payment after the date of death because we are not aware of the death. If this happens, you should return the payment to the tax centre that serves your area.

Note

We administer provincial programs that are related to the GST/HST credit. If the deceased was receiving payments under one of these programs, you do not have to take any further action. We will use the information provided for the GST/HST credit payments to adjust the applicable credit.

What if the deceased was single, separated, divorced, or widowed and received the GST/HST credit?

If the recipient died before the scheduled month in which we issue the credit, we cannot make any more payments in that person's name or to that person's estate.

If the recipient died during or after the scheduled month in which we issue the credit and the payment has not been cashed, return it to the tax centre that serves your area so that we can send the payment to the person's estate.

If the deceased was getting a credit for a child, the child's new caregiver should contact us at 1-800-959-1953 to request GST/HST credit payments for that child.

What if the deceased's GST/HST credit is for the deceased and his or her spouse or common-law partner?

If the deceased had a spouse or common-law partner, that person may be eligible to receive the GST/HST credit payments based on his or her net income alone. If the deceased's GST/HST credit included a claim for that spouse or common-law partner, he or she should:

  • contact us at 1-800-959-1953 and ask to receive the GST/HST credit payment for the remainder of the year for himself or herself and any eligible children, if applicable; and
  • file an income tax and benefit return for the applicable previous year if he or she has not already done so.

What if the surviving spouse's or common-law partner's GST/HST credit includes a claim for the deceased?

If the surviving spouse's or common-law partner's GST/HST credit included an amount for the deceased, the payments will be recalculated based on his or her net income alone and will only include a claim for himself or herself and any children, if applicable.

What if the deceased is an eligible child?

Entitlement to GST/HST credit payments for a deceased child stops the quarter after the child's date of death. You should notify us of the date of death so that we can update our records.

Forms and publications

Related topics

Que faire si la personne décédée recevait le crédit pour la TPS/TVH

Généralement, les versements du crédit pour la TPS/TVH sont faits la cinquième journée de juillet, d'octobre, de janvier et d'avril. Si la personne décédée recevait ces versements du crédit pour la TPS/TVH, il se peut que nous continuions à les envoyer si nous ne sommes pas au courant du décès. Dans ce cas, vous devez retourner les paiements au centre fiscal de votre région.

Remarque

Nous administrons des programmes provinciaux reliés au crédit pour la TPS/TVH. Si la personne décédée recevait un paiement dans le cadre d'un de ces programmes, vous n'avez pas à prendre d'autres mesures. Nous utiliserons les renseignements fournis pour les paiments du crédit pour la TPS/TVH afin de rajuster le crédit, selon le cas.

Que faire si la personne décédée était célibataire, séparée, divorcée ou veuve et recevait le crédit pour la TPS/TVH?

Si le bénéficiaire décède avant le mois où nous effectuons un versement du crédit pour la TPS/TVH, nous ne pouvons verser aucun autre paiement au nom de cette personne ou de sa succession.

Si le bénéficiaire décède durant ou après le mois où nous effectuons un paiement et que celui-ci n'a pas été encaissé, veuillez le retourner au centre fiscal de votre région pour que nous puissions l'envoyer à sa succession.

Si la personne décédée recevait un crédit pour un enfant, la personne qui s'occupe désormais des soins de cet enfant devrait communiquer avec nous au 1-800-959-1954, car elle pourrait avoir droit au crédit pour la TPS/TVH pour cet enfant.

Que faire si le crédit pour la TPS/TVH de la personne décédée comprend un montant pour son époux ou conjoint de fait?

Si la personne décédée avait un époux ou conjoint de fait, celui-ci pourrait avoir droit au crédit pour la TPS/TVH s'il a produit une déclaration de revenus et de prestations. Les versements du crédit pour la TPS/TVH tiendront compte uniquement du revenu net de l'époux ou conjoint de fait survivant.

Que faire si le crédit pour la TPS/TVH de l'époux ou conjoint de fait survivant comprend un montant pour la personne décédée?

Si le crédit pour la TPS/TVH de l'époux ou conjoint de fait survivant comprend un montant pour la personne décédée, nous recalculerons les versements du crédit sans tenir compte du revenu net de la personne décédée. Les versements comprendront uniquement un montant pour l'époux ou conjoint de fait survivant et les enfants admissibles, s'il y a lieu.

Que faire si la personne décédée est un enfant admissible?

Le droit aux versements du crédit pour la TPS/TVH pour un enfant décédé cesse le trimestre qui suit la date du décès. Vous devez nous informer de la date du décès afin que nous puissions mettre à jour nos dossiers.

Formulaires et publications

Sujets connexes

Date de modification :