Meals and lodging (including showers)

Meals
To calculate your meal expenses, you can use either the simplified or detailed method, or in certain situations, the batching method.

The most you can deduct for meal expenses is 50% of your claim (unless you are a long-haul truck driver claiming meals for an eligible trip, as explained in Meal expenses of long-haul truck drivers). For example, if you use the simplified method, which is based on a daily meal rate of $17 per meal, the most you can deduct is $8.50 ($17 x 50%) for each meal.

Under either the simplified or detailed method, you can claim one meal after every four hours from the departure time, to a maximum of three meals per day. For the purposes of calculating the maximum number of meals allowed, a day is considered to be a 24-hour period that begins at the departure time.

The simplified method - This is the easiest way to calculate your meal expenses since you do not have to keep receipts for your meals, although you do have to keep a detailed list of the trips you take in a record or log book, similar to the example below.

The simplified method is based on a meal rate of $17 for each meal. Multiply the actual number of meals you ate by $17 (to a maximum of three meals per day) and report that amount on Form TL2, Claim for Meals and Lodging Expenses, under the "Meals bought" column of Part 2 – Trip and expense summary.

Example of an excerpt from a log book maintained by a truck driver using the simplified method.

Meals and lodging expenses - Simplified method
Date Departure time Destination Date Check-in time Hrs away Km driven No. of meals
June 15 7:00 Montréal June 17 16:00 57 900 7

The detailed method - If you choose to use the detailed method to calculate your meal expenses, you have to keep a log or record book itemizing each expense, similar to the example below. You also have to keep receipts to support the amount you deduct. Report the actual amount you spent on meals on Form TL2 in the "Meals bought" column of Part 2 – Trip and expense summary.

Example of an excerpt from a log book maintained by a truck driver using the detailed method.

Meals and lodging expenses - Detailed method
Date Time in
or Time out
Location Restaurant Type Cost
June 15 9:30 Oshawa  n/a n/a  0
June 15 n/a  Belleville Paradise Restaurant Lunch $ 9.20
June 15  n/a Montréal Dunn's Restaurant Dinner $22.99
June 15  n/a Montréal Quebec Motel Lodging $64.50
June 16  n/a Montréal Dunn's Restaurant   Breakfast $  5.75
June 16  n/a Belleville Paradise Restaurant Lunch $17.45
June 16 16:00 Oshawa  n/a  n/a  0

The batching method - When you are part of a work crew, such as on a train, your employer may provide you with cooking facilities. If you buy groceries and cook meals either by yourself or as a group, each person can claim up to $34 for each day. As long as you do not claim more than this amount, you do not have to keep receipts. Report this amount on Form TL2 in the "Meals bought" column of Part 2 – Trip and expense summary.

Lodging and showers
You can deduct your lodging expenses. The costs of showers are also considered to be deductible as part of lodging expenses for transportation employees who may have slept in the cab of their trucks rather than at hotels. You need to keep your receipts to support the amount you deduct.

Trips to the United States
For details on what to do if some of the trips you make are to the United States, see Trips to the United States.

Note

You must reduce your claim for meal and lodging expenses, by any non-taxable allowance or reimbursement you received or are entitled to receive from your employer.

Your employer has to sign Form TL2. You do not have to send this form with your return, but you should keep it in case we ask to see it later.

How to claim your expenses

Complete Parts 1 and 2 of Form TL2, Claim for Meals and Lodging Expenses, and have your employer complete Part 3 and sign it. Trips that qualify as an eligible trip for long-haul truck drivers (see Meal expenses of long-haul truck drivers) should be reported in Part 2B, and all other trips should be reported in Part 2A. Claim your meal and lodging expenses on line 229 of your return. You do not have to send Form TL2 with your return, but you should keep it in case we ask to see it later.

Forms and publications

Date modified:

Repas et hébergement (incluant les douches)

Repas
Pour calculer vos frais de repas, vous pouvez utiliser la méthode simplifiée, la méthode détaillée, ou dans certaines situations, la méthode des frais collectifs.

Le maximum que vous pouvez déduire pour vos frais de repas correspond à 50 % de vos dépenses (sauf si vous êtes un conducteur de grand routier qui demande la déduction des frais de repas engagés au cours d'un déplacement admissible, comme il est expliqué à Frais de repas des conducteurs de grand routier. Par exemple, si vous utilisez la méthode simplifiée, laquelle est basée sur un taux de repas quotidien établi à 17 $ par repas, le montant maximum que vous pouvez déduire par repas est de 8,50 $ (17 $ x 50 %).

Lorsque vous utilisez la méthode détaillée ou simplifiée, vous pouvez déduire un repas toutes les quatre heures à partir de l'heure de départ, jusqu'à un maximum de trois repas par jour. Aux fins du calcul du nombre maximum de repas admissibles, nous considérons un jour comme une période de 24 heures commençant à l'heure de départ.

La méthode simplifiée - Il s'agit de la méthode la plus simple pour calculer vos frais de repas, puisque vous n'avez pas à conserver les reçus qui justifient votre demande pour les repas. Cependant vous devez tenir une liste détaillée des voyages que vous faites, dans un registre ou un journal.

La méthode simplifiée est basée sur un taux de repas quotidien, établi à 17 $ pour chaque repas. Multipliez le nombre réel de repas que vous avez pris par 17 $ (jusqu'à un maximum de trois repas par jour) et inscrivez ce montant sur le formulaire TL2, Déduction de frais de repas et d'hébergement, dans la colonne « Repas achetés » de la Partie 2 - Relevé des frais et des voyages.

Example d'un extrait de registre maintenu par un conducteur utilisant la méthode simplifiée.

Frais de repas et de logement - Méthode simplifiée
DateHeure
de départ
DestinationDateHeure d'arrivéeNombre d'heures d'absenceKm parcourusNombre de repas
15 Juin 7 h Montréal 17 Juin 16 h 57 900 7

La méthode détaillée - Si vous choisissez d'utiliser la méthode détaillée pour calculer vos frais de repas, vous devez tenir un registre ou un journal pour indiquer chacune de vos dépenses, comme dans l'exemple ci-dessous. De plus, vous devez conserver les reçus qui justifient votre demande. Inscrivez le montant réel que vous avez déboursé pour les repas sur le formulaire TL2, dans la colonne « Repas achetés » de la Partie 2 - Relevé des frais et des voyages.

Example d'un extrait de registre maintenu par un conducteur utilisant la méthode détaillée.

Frais de repas et de logement - Méthode détaillée
DateHeure d'arrivée
ou de départ
LieuRestaurantTypeMontant
15 Juin 9 h 30 Oshawa  n/a n/a   0
15 Juin n/a Belleville   Restaurant Paradis Dîner   9,20 $
15 Juin n/a Montréal Restaurant Dunns Souper  22,99 $
15 Juin  n/a Montréal Motel Québec Ltée Logement  64,50 $
16 Juin n/a  Montréal Restaurant Dunns   Déjeuner   5,75 $
16 Juin  n/a Belleville   Restaurant Paradis Dîner 17,45 $
16 Juin 16 h Oshawa n/a  n/a 

La méthode des frais collectifs - Lorsque vous faites partie d'une équipe de travail, telle que dans un train, votre employeur peut vous fournir des installations pour faire la cuisine. Si vous achetez des provisions et préparez vos repas collectivement ou séparément, chaque personne peut demander un maximum de 34 $ par jour. Vous n'avez pas à garder de reçus si votre demande ne dépasse pas ce montant. Inscrivez ce montant sur le formulaire TL2, dans la colonne « Repas achetés » de la Partie 2 - Relevé des frais et des voyages.

Hébergement et douches
Vous pouvez déduire vos frais d'hébergement. Les frais de douches sont également considérés comme étant déductibles à titre de frais d'hébergement pour les employés de transport qui ont dormi dans la cabine de leur camion plutôt que dans un hôtel. Conservez les reçus qui justifient votre demande.

Déplacement aux États-Unis
Pour des détails sur quoi faire si vous voyagez aux États-Unis, lisez Déplacements aux États-Unis.

Remarque

Si vous avez reçu ou avez droit de recevoir une allocation ou un remboursement de votre employeur, vous devez réduire votre demande pour les frais de repas et de logement.

Votre employeur doit signer le formulaire TL2. Vous n'avez pas à envoyer ce formulaire avec votre déclaration. Cependant, conservez-le au cas où nous vous le demanderions plus tard.

Comment déduire vos dépenses

Remplissez les parties 1 et 2 du formulaire TL2, Déduction de frais de repas et d'hébergement puis faites remplir et signer la Partie 3 par votre employeur. Les déplacements admissibles à titre de conducteur de grand routier (lisez Frais de repas des conducteurs de grand routier) doivent être inscrits à la Partie 2B et tous les autres déplacements à la Partie 2A. Déduisez vos frais de repas et d'hébergement à la ligne 229 de votre déclaration. Vous n'avez pas à envoyer ce formulaire avec votre déclaration. Cependant, conservez-le au cas où nous vous le demanderions plus tard.

Formulaires et publications