Education amount

You will have received a tax certificate from your educational institution indicating the number of months you were enrolled full-time (Box C) or part-time (Box B).

Full-time – Box C

For tax years prior to 2017, multiply $400 by the number of months indicated in Box C.

You can also claim the full-time amount if one of the following applies to you:

  • you were enrolled as a full‑time student;
  • you were enrolled part-time and you can claim the disability amount; or
  • you were enrolled part-time and you had a mental or physical impairment certified in a letter by a medical doctor, optometrist, audiologist, occupational therapist, psychologist, physiotherapist, or speech-language pathologist but you do not qualify for the disability amount.

Part-time – Box B

For tax years prior to 2017, multiply $120 times the number of months indicated in Box B.

You cannot claim the education amount if you:

  • received a grant, reimbursement, benefit, allowance or were reimbursed for the cost of your courses by your employer or another person with who you deal at arm's length;or
  • received a benefit as part of a program (such as free meals and lodging from a nursing school).

Notes

If you were 16 at the end of the year, you can claim the education and textbook amount only for courses you took at the post-secondary level (see types of institutions on the Eligible tuition fees page), except in the case of courses provided by educational institutions certified by the Minister of Employment and Social Development Canada that furnish a person with skills for, or improve a person's skills in, an occupation (other than courses designed for university credit).

A grant, reimbursement, benefit, or allowance does not include any scholarship, fellowship, bursary, or prize you received, or any benefit you received under the Canada Student Financial Assistance Act, Canada Student Loans Act, the Apprentice Loans Act or an Act respecting financial assistance for education expenses of the Province of Quebec.

These amounts also do not include any financial assistance provided under Part II of the Employment Insurance Act (as shown in box 20 of your T4E slip), a labour-market development agreement as part of a similar provincial or territorial program, or a program developed under the authority of the Department of Employment and Social Development Act.

 

Courses taken for purposes of educational upgrading to allow entry into a university or college program would not normally qualify for the education tax credit because these courses are not considered to be at a
post-secondary school level.

A post-secondary program that consists mainly of research is eligible for the education amount, and the scholarship exemption, only if it leads to a college or CEGEP diploma, or a bachelor, masters or doctoral degree (or an equivalent degree). Accordingly, post-doctoral fellowships will continue to be taxable.

Completing your tax return

Supporting documents - If you are filing electronically, keep all your documents in case we ask to see them later. If you are filing a paper return, attach your completed Schedule 11 but do not send your other documents. Keep them in case we ask to see them later. For more information, please consult E-services for individuals.

Forms and publications

Related topics

Date modified:

Montant relatif aux études

Vous avez reçu un certificat de votre établissement d'enseignement (consultez la page sur les types d'établissement) qui indique le nombre de mois où vous étiez un étudiant à temps plein (case C) ou à temps partiel (case B).

Temps plein – case C

Multipliez 400 $ par le nombre de mois indiqué dans la case C.

Vous pouvez aussi demander un montant relatif aux études à temps plein si et vous remplissiez l'une des conditions suivantes :

  • vous étiez inscrit à temps partiel et vous avez droit au montant pour personnes handicapées;
  • vous étiez inscrit à temps partiel et vous avez une déficience mentale ou physique attestée dans une lettre par un médecin, un optométriste, un audiologiste, un ergothérapeute, un physiothérapeute, un psychologue ou un orthophoniste, mais vous n'avez pas droit au montant pour personnes handicapées.

Temps partiel – case B

Multipliez 120 $ par le nombre de mois indiqué à la case B.

Vous ne pouvez pas demander le montant relatif aux études si vous étiez dans l'une des situations suivantes :

  • votre employeur ou une autre personne avec laquelle vous n'avez aucun lien de dépendance vous a donné une subvention pour payer vos frais de scolarité ou vous les a remboursés;
  • vous avez reçu un avantage dans le cadre d'un programme d'études (tel que le logement et la nourriture fournis gratuitement par une école de sciences infirmières); ou
  • vous avez reçu une allocation pour un programme d'études, comme une allocation de formation.

Remarques

Si vous aviez 16 ans à la fin de l'année, vous pouvez demander le montant relatif aux études et le montant pour manuels seulement pour les cours de niveau postsecondaire que vous avez suivis (allez à frais de scolarité admissibles pour en savoir plus sur les types d'établissement d'enseignement).

Une subvention, un remboursement, un avantage ou une allocation n'inclut pas une somme que vous avez reçue à titre de récompense ou de bourse d'études, de perfectionnement ou d'entretien, ni un avantage que vous avez reçu selon la Loi fédérale sur les prêts aux étudiants, la Loi fédérale sur l'aide financière aux étudiants ou la Loi sur l'aide financière aux études de la province de Québec.

Cela n'inclut pas non plus une aide financière que vous avez reçue dans le cadre d'un programme établi selon de la partie II de la Loi sur l'assurance-emploi (dont le montant figure à la case 20 de votre feuillet T4E), d'un programme provincial ou territorial semblable visé par une entente sur le développement du marché du travail ou d'un programme établi selon la Loi sur le ministère du Développement des Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada.

Un programme postsecondaire qui consiste principalement en de la recherche donne droit au montant relatif aux études ainsi qu'à l'exemption au titre des bourses, seulement s'il mène à l'obtention d'un diplôme décerné par un collège ou un cégep, ou à un baccalauréat, une maîtrise ou un doctorat (ou un grade équivalent). Par conséquent, les bourses de perfectionnement postdoctorales continueront d'être imposables.

Remplir votre déclaration de revenus

Pièces justificatives – Si vous produisez un déclaration papier, joignez-y l'annexe 11. Conservez vos reçus officiels remis par un établissement d'enseignement et vos autres formulaires pour pouvoir nous les fournir sur demande. Si vous produisez votre déclaration par voie électronique, conservez toutes vos pièces justificatives pour pouvoir nous les fournir sur demande. Pour en savoir plus allez à Services électroniques aux particuliers.

Formulaires et publications

Sujets connexes

Date de modification :