Line 426 - Overseas employment tax credit

You may be able to claim the overseas employment tax credit (OETC) if both of the following apply for 2014:

  • You were a resident or deemed resident of Canada at any time in the year.
  • You have employment income from certain kinds of work you did in another country.

You may be entitled to claim this credit for qualifying income from employment outside Canada.

In general, to qualify for the OETC, you must have performed all or substantially all (at least 90%) of your employment duties outside Canada for a period of more than six consecutive months (all or part of which were during the tax year for which you are claiming the credit) with a specified employer.

Your duties must also have been in connection with a contract (or for the purpose of obtaining a contract) under which your employer carried on a business outside Canada conducting one of the following activities:

  • the exploration for or exploitation of petroleum, natural gas, minerals, or other similar resources;
  • any construction, installation, agricultural, or engineering activity; or
  • any activity performed under contract with the United Nations (UN).

Note

Work you performed under an international development assistance program of the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) does not qualify for the OETC.

For more information about this credit, see Interpretation Bulletin IT497, Overseas Employment Tax Credit.

Phase-out

The OETC is being phased out. The percentage of qualifying foreign employment income (QFEI) and the maximum QFEI used in the calculation of the OETC will be reduced as follows:

  • 2014 - 40% of QFEI to a maximum QFEI of $40,000
  • 2015 - 20% of QFEI to a maximum QFEI of $20,000
  • 2016 - 0% of QFEI to a maximum QFEI of $0

This phase-out will not apply to the QFEI earned by you in connection with a contract that your employer committed to in writing before March 29, 2012 (referred to as protected QFEI). The phase-out rules will apply to all QFEI that is not protected.

If you submit Form T1213, Request to reduce tax deductions at source for 2015, any approved reduction will take into consideration the phase-out rules.

Completing your tax return

To request your OETC, attach to your return a completed Form T626, Overseas Employment Tax Credit.

On line 426 of your Schedule 1, enter the amount from line 17 of Form T626.

Before you can complete Part 2 of Form T626, your employer has to complete Part 1. If you worked for more than one employer in the year or had more than one qualifying period in the year with an employer, have a separate form completed by each employer and for each qualifying period with the employer.

When there are two or more contracts that have been committed to in writing, one or more before March 29, 2012 and one or more on or after March 29, 2012, you must consider the amount and days for each contract as the specified percentage and specified amounts differ for each contract. If this situation applies to you, use the following calculations to complete Form T626.

 

"Specified Amount" Line F

Days from line 1 above × [($80K × A) + ($40K × B)] ÷ 365

"Specified Percentage" Line G

Amount from Line 7 × [(80% × A) + (40% × B)]


A = total employment income for all of the periods referred to on line 1 of all T626 forms being filed for the year (from all employers) earned in connection with a contract that was committed to in writing before March 29, 2012 divided by the total employment income (from all employers) for all of the periods referred to on line 1 of all T626 forms being filed for the year.

B = total employment income for all of the periods referred to on line 1 of all T626 forms being filed for the year (from all employers) earned in connection with a contract that was committed to in writing on or after March 29, 2012) divided by the total employment income (from all employers) for all of the periods referred to on line 1 of all T626 forms being filed for the year.

Note

Be sure to also request the provincial or territorial overseas employment tax credit by completing Form 428, which can be found in the General income tax and benefit package for your province or territory of residence.

Forms and publications

Related topics

Date modified:

Ligne 426 - Crédit d'impôt pour emploi à l'étranger

Vous pourriez avoir droit au crédit d'impôt pour emploi à l'étranger (CIEE) si, en 2015, vous remplissiez les deux conditions suivantes :

  • Vous avez été résident ou résident réputé du Canada à un moment de l'année.
  • Vous avez gagné un revenu provenant de certains types d'emploi dans un pays étranger.

Vous pouvez avoir droit à ce crédit pour votre revenu admissible provenant d'un emploi à l'extérieur du Canada.

En général, pour que votre revenu d'emploi soit admissible, vous devez avoir accompli la totalité ou presque (90 % et plus) des fonctions de votre emploi à l'extérieur du Canada, pour un employeur déterminé, pendant une période de plus de six mois consécutifs, ayant commencé avant la fin de l'année, et comprenant une partie de l'année d'imposition pour laquelle vous demandez le crédit.

Votre emploi doit également être dans le cadre d'un contrat (ou dans le but d'obtenir un contrat) pour un employeur qui exploite une entreprise à l'extérieur du Canada se rapportant à l'une des activités suivantes :

  • l'exploration pour la découverte ou pour l'exploitation de pétrole, de gaz naturel, de minéraux ou d'autres ressources semblables;
  • un projet de construction ou d'installation, ou un projet agricole ou d'ingénierie;
  • une activité exercée dans le cadre d'un contrat conclu avec l'Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU);

Remarque

Les services fournis dans le cadre d'un programme d'aide au développement international de l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) ne donnent pas droit au CIEE.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce crédit, consultez le bulletin d'interprétation IT497, Crédit d'impôt pour emploi à l'étranger.

Élimination graduelle

Le pourcentage du revenu d'emploi à l'étranger admissible (REEA) et le REEA maximal utilisés aux fins du calcul du CIEE sont réduits de la façon suivante :

  • 2015 - 20 % du REEA ou 20 000 $ (REEA maximal)
  • 2016 - 0 % du REEA ou 0 $ (REEA maximal)

Cette élimination graduelle ne s'appliquera pas au REEA que vous avez gagné concernant un contrat auquel votre employeur s'était engagé par écrit avant le 29 mars 2012 (appelé le REEA protégé d'un employé), les règles de l'élimination graduelle vont s'appliquer à tous les REEA qui ne sont pas protégés.

Si vous soumettez un formulaire T1213, Demande de réduire des retenues d'impôt à la source pour 2016, toute réduction approuvée tiendra compte des règles relatives à l'élimination graduelle.

Remplir votre déclaration de revenus

Pour demander votre CIEE, remplissez et joignez à votre déclaration le formulaire T626, Crédit d'impôt pour emploi à l'étranger.

Inscrivez à la ligne 426 de votre annexe 1 le montant de la ligne 17 du formulaire T626.

Votre employeur doit remplir la partie 1 du formulaire T626 avant que vous remplissiez la partie 2 au verso. Si vous avez travaillé pour plus d'un employeur ou pendant plus d'une période admissible dans l'année avec un employeur, un formulaire distinct doit être rempli par chaque employeur et pour chaque période admissible dans l'année. 

Lorsqu'il y a deux contrats ou plus, écrits, et qu'un ou plus de ces contrats a été passé avant le 29 mars 2012 et qu'un ou plus a été passé après le 28 mars 2012, un calcul distinct, où le montant et le nombre de jours sont pris en considération, doit être effectué pour chacun des contrats car le montant déterminé et le pourcentage déterminé sont différents pour chacun des contrats. Si cette situation s'applique à vous, le calcul du formulaire T626 devrait être effectué comme suit :

"Somme déterminée" Ligne F

Nombre de jours indiqué à la ligne 1 × [(80 000 $ × A) + (20 000 $ ×B)] ÷ 365

"Pourcentage déterminé" Ligne G

Montant de la ligne 7 × [(80 % × A) + (20 % ×B)]

 

A = Revenu d'emploi total pour toutes les périodes indiquées à la ligne 1 de tous les formulaires T626 remplis pour l'année d'imposition (provenant de tous les employeurs) dans le cadre d'un contrat écrit passé avant le 29 mars 2012, divisé par le revenu d'emploi total (provenant de tous les employeurs) pour toutes les périodes indiquées à la ligne 1 de tous les formulaire T626 remplis pour l'année d'imposition.

B = Revenu d'emploi total pour toutes les périodes indiquées à la ligne 1 de tous les formulaires T626 remplis pour l'année d'imposition (provenant de tous les employeurs) dans le cadre d'un contrat écrit passé après le 28 mars 2012, divisé par le revenu d'emploi total (provenant de tous les employeurs) pour toutes les périodes indiquées à la ligne 1 de tous les formulaires T626 remplis pour l'année d'imposition.

Remarque

Assurez-vous aussi de demander le crédit d'impôt provincial ou territorial pour emploi à l'étranger sur votre formulaire 428, que vous pouvez trouver dans la trousse générale d'impôt et de prestations de votre province ou territoire de résidence.

Formulaires et publications

Sujets connexes

Date de modification :