Line 121 - Foreign interest and dividends

If you received foreign interest or dividend income, you have to report it in Canadian dollars. Use the Bank of Canada exchange rate in effect on the day you received the income. If you received the income at different times during the year, use the average annual rate. The average monthly rate and the daily rate are available by visiting the Bank of Canada website.

Report on line 121 any foreign dividends you received. Foreign dividends do not qualify for the dividend tax credit.

If you paid foreign taxes on your interest or dividend income, you may be able to claim a foreign tax credit when you calculate your federal (see line 405) and provincial or territorial taxes (Form 428). Do not subtract the taxes from your income when you report it.

If you own an interest in a foreign investment entity or an interest in a foreign insurance policy, you may have to report investment income. For more information, contact the CRA.

If as a shareholder in a foreign corporation, you received certain shares in another foreign corporation, you may not have to report any amount as income for receiving shares. For more information, get Form T1135, Foreign Income Verification Statement, or contact the CRA.

Completing your tax return

Report on line 121 the total interest and investment income.

Forms and publications

Related topics

Date modified:

Ligne 121 - Intérêts et dividendes provenant de l'étranger

Déclarez, en dollars canadiens, le total des intérêts ou dividendes de sources étrangères. Utilisez le taux de change, affiché par la Banque du Canada, en vigueur le jour où vous avez reçu ces montants. Si vous avez reçu plusieurs paiements durant l'année, vous pouvez utiliser le taux annuel moyen que vous trouverez sur le site Web de la Banque du Canada. Vous y trouverez également les taux mensuels et quotidiens.

Déclarez à la ligne 121 les dividendes reçus de sources étrangères. Ils ne donnent pas droit au crédit d'impôt pour dividendes.

Si vous payez des impôts étrangers sur vos revenus d'intérêts et de dividendes, il est possible que vous puissiez réclamer un crédit d'impôt étranger lorsque vous calculez votre impôt fédéral (allez à la ligne 405) et votre impôt provincial ou territorial (formulaire 428). Ne soustrayez pas l'impôt de votre revenu lorsque vous le déclarez.

Si vous détenez une participation dans une entité de placement étrangère ou dans une police d'assurance étrangère, vous devez peut-être déclarer un revenu de placements. Pour en savoir plus, communiquez avec l'ARC.

Si, à titre d'actionnaire d'une société étrangère, vous avez reçu certains types d'actions d'une autre société étrangère, vous ne devez peut-être pas déclarer les avantages qui en résultent. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le formulaire T1135, Bilan de vérification du revenu étranger, ou communiquez avec l'ARC.

Remplir votre déclaration de revenus

Inscrivez le total des intérêts et autres revenus de placements à la ligne 121.

Formulaires et publications

Sujets connexes

Date de modification :