Line 130 – Scholarships, fellowships, bursaries, study grants, and artists' project grants (awards)

The total amount of the award (scholarship, fellowship, or bursary) that is received by you as a student with respect to your enrolment in a program that entitles you to claim the education amount qualifies for the scholarship exemption.

If you are not eligible for the full-time or part-time education amount, and have no artists' project grants, report only the part of the post-secondary award that is more than $500 on line 130.

Scholarship Exemption

If you are enrolled full-time and can claim the full-time education amount, post-secondary school scholarships, fellowships and bursaries received are not taxable up to the total amount required to support you in the program. Consideration must be given to: the duration of the program; any terms and conditions that apply to the award; and the period for which support is intended to be provided by the award.

If you can claim the part-time education amount, the scholarship exemption is to the tuition fees and costs incurred for program-related materials. Go to Scholarship exemption – Part-time enrolment for help with calculating the exemption amount.

Prizes and awards you received as a benefit from your employment or in connection with a business are not eligible for the $500 tax-free amount.

If you received a research grant, see Line 104 – Other employment income.

A post-secondary program that consists principally of research is eligible for the education amount, and the scholarship exemption, only if it leads to a college or CEGEP diploma, or a bachelor, masters or doctoral degree (or an equivalent degree). Accordingly, post-doctoral fellowships are taxable.

For more information, see Income tax folio S1-F2-C3, Scholarships, Research Grants and Other Education Assistance.

Example 1

I have an amount in box 105 of my T4A slip from a university. I was not entitled to the education amount. Do I have to report this income on my return?

Yes. Total all the amounts you received in 2013 (box 105 of your T4A slips). Since you cannot claim the education amount, report only the amount that is more than $500 on line 130 of your return.

Example 2

I have a couple of T4A slips totalling $5,000 for some artists' project grants I received. Do I have to claim the whole amount as income this year?

No. You can claim a $500 exemption or you can claim expenses incurred to produce a literary, dramatic, musical, or artistic work against this income. Total all the amounts you received in 2013 (box 105 of your T4A slips). Report on line 130 the amount that is more than $500 or your expenses, whichever you prefer.

Completing your tax return

You need to complete and submit Line 2 of Schedule 11 for the final calculation to be entered on your income tax return. If you received scholarships, fellowships, or bursaries and are not entitled to the education amount in respect of these amounts, enter on line 130 the part of these amounts that is more than $500.

Forms and publications

Related topics

Need assistance?

promotional imageIf you are unable to find the information you were looking for about this specific topic, please select the Contact us button.

Ligne 130 – Bourses d'études, de perfectionnement et d'entretien; subvention reçue par un artiste pour un projet

Le montant total de bourses (de bourse d'études, de bourse de perfectionnement et de bourse d'entretien) que vous avez reçu en tant qu'étudiant, pour un programme qui vous donne droit au montant relatif aux études, est admissible à l'exemption des bourses d'études.

Si vous n'êtes pas admissible au montant relatif aux études à temps plein ou partiel, et vous n'avez pas de subvention pour un projet d'artiste, déclarez seulement la partie du montant qui dépassent 500 $ à la ligne 130.

Exemption pour bourses d'études

Si vous êtes inscrit à temps plein à un programme d'enseignement et que vous pouvez demander le montant relatif aux études à temps plein, les bourses d'études, de perfectionnement et d'entretien postsecondaires que vous avez reçues ne sont pas imposables, et ce, jusqu'à concurrence du montant total requis pour votre maintien dans le programme. On doit tenir compte de la durée du programme, des conditions qui s'appliquent à la récompense, ainsi que de la période pendant laquelle cette récompense doit tenir lieu de soutien financier.

Si vous pouvez demander le montant relatif aux études à temps partiel, l'exemption au titre des bourses sert à payer les frais de scolarité et les coûts des matériaux relatifs au programme. Allez à Exemption pour bourses d'études – inscription à temps partiel pour savoir comment calculer le montant de l'exemption.

Une récompense accordée ou un prix reçu dans le cadre d'un emploi ou de l'exploitation d'une entreprise ne donne pas droit à l'exemption de 500 $.

Si vous avez reçu une subvention de recherche, lisez la Ligne 104 – Autres revenus d'emploi.

Un programme postsecondaire qui consiste principalement en de la recherche donne droit au montant relatif aux études, et à l'exemption au titre des bourses, seulement si ce programme mène à l'obtention d'un diplôme décerné par un collège ou un cégep, ou à un baccalauréat, une maîtrise ou un doctorat (ou un grade équivalent). Par conséquent, les bourses de perfectionnement postdoctorales sont imposables.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez le Folio de l’impôt sur le revenu S1-F2-C3, Bourses d’études, subventions de recherches et autres montants d’aide à l’éducation.

Exemple 1

À la case 105 de mon feuillet T4A figure un montant reçu d'une université. Je n'ai pas droit au montant relatif aux études. Est-ce que je dois déclarer ce revenu sur ma déclaration?

Oui. Additionnez tous les montants que vous avez reçus en 2014 (case 105 de vos feuillets T4A). Puisque vous n'avez pas droit au montant relatif aux études, déclarez à la ligne 130 de votre déclaration le montant qui dépasse 500 $.

Exemple 2

J'ai reçu deux feuillets T4A pour un total de 5 000 $ concernant des subventions pour un projet d'artiste. Est-ce que je dois déclarer cette année la totalité de ce montant comme revenu?

Non. Vous avez reçu des subventions pour un projet ayant servi à la production d'une oeuvre littéraire, dramatique, musicale ou artistique, donc vous pouvez choisir de soustraire l'exemption de 500 $ ou le montant de vos dépenses du montant total des subventions. Additionnez tous les montants que vous avez reçus en 2014 (case 105 de vos feuillets T4A). Déclarez à la ligne 130 de votre déclaration le montant qui dépasse 500 $ ou le montant qui dépasse vos dépenses (selon votre choix).

Remplir votre déclaration de revenus

Vous devez remplir et soumettre la ligne 2 de l'annexe 11 pour que le calcul final soit inscrit sur votre déclaration de revenus. Si vous avez reçu des bourses d'études, de perfectionnement et d'entretien pour un programme pour lequel vous n'avez pas droit au montant relatif aux études, déclarez à la ligne 130 la partie de ces bourses que vous avez reçue dans l'année qui dépasse 500 $.

Formulaires et publications

Sujets connexes

Date de modification :