Line 144 – Workers' compensation benefits

Workers' compensation benefits are compensation paid in respect of an injury, disability, or death to a worker, under the law of Canada or a province or territory. These amounts are shown on a T5007, Statement of Benefits, and include:

  • benefits that are a wage-loss replacement for time lost from employment due to a compensable injury or condition;
  • a wage-loss replacement income paid to an injured worker who suffered a partial, total, temporary, or permanent disability as a result of a work-related accident;
  • compensation for future loss of earnings made to an injured worker who suffers from an injury resulting in permanent impairment or temporary disability;
  • survivor benefits that are periodic payments to a dependent spouse or common-law partner, dependent children, or orphans; and
  • wage-loss replacement income periodically paid to a surviving spouse or common-law partner to replace the income that a worker who died in a work-related accident or as a result of an industrial accident would have earned.

Note

In 2013, you may have repaid salary or wages originally paid to you by your employer in a previous year, in anticipation of workers' compensation benefits you would receive. This amount should be shown in box 77 of your T4 slip. In that case, you may be able to claim a deduction on Line 229 – Other employment expenses.

Repayment of workers' compensation benefits

Example

I had to pay back my employer for the amount of workers' compensation I received while I was off. My T4 shows both the work income and the WCB. I shouldn't have to pay tax on both of them. What do I do with the T5007 I got?

Report the amount in box 10 of your T5007 slip on line 144 of your return.

At line 250 of your tax return, take an offsetting deduction for the amount shown in box 10 of your T5007 slip. Your workers' compensation benefits will be subtracted from your taxable income. Include the T5007 slip with your paper return.

Report the amount shown in box 14 of your T4 slips on line 101.

At line 229 deduct the amount of the WCB award repaid to your employer that was included in your income (on your T4 slip).

This amount is not taxable, but you must still report the income on your tax return to ensure that any benefits you may be entitled to are calculated properly. These benefits include the Old Age Security, Guaranteed Income Supplement, the goods and services tax/harmonized sales tax credit (GST/HST) credit, and the Canada Child Tax Benefit, as well as certain provincial or territorial tax credits and non-refundable tax credits.

Completing your tax return

On line 144, enter the amount from box 10 of your T5007 slip. Claim a deduction on line 250 for the benefits you entered on line 144.

Forms and publications

Related topics

Ligne 144 – Indemnités pour accidents du travail

Les indemnités pour accidents du travail sont versées suite à une blessure, une invalidité ou le décès d'un travailleur selon une loi fédérale, provinciale ou territoriale. Ces versements sont indiqués sur le T5007, État des prestations et comprennent:

  • les indemnités versées à titre de perte de revenu d'emploi, en raison d'une blessure ou d'une condition indemnisable;
  • un montant versé pour perte de revenu découlant d'une invalidité totale ou partielle, temporaire ou permanente, par suite d'un accident du travail;
  • un montant versé pour une indemnité pour perte future de revenu en raison d'une blessure entraînant une déficience permanente ou une invalidité temporaire;
  • les prestations de survivant versées périodiquement à l'époux ou conjoint de fait à charge, aux enfants à charge ou aux orphelins;
  • les sommes qui proviennent de l'assurance-salaire et qui sont versées périodiquement à l'époux ou conjoint de fait survivant en vue de remplacer le revenu qu'aurait gagné le travailleur tué dans un accident du travail ou qui est décédé par suite d'un tel accident.

Remboursement des prestations d'indemnisation pour un accidents du travail.

Exemple

J'ai dû rembourser à mon employeur les indemnités pour accidents du travail que j'ai reçues, lorsque je me suis cassé la cheville au travail. Deux montants figurent sur mon feuillet T4 : mon revenu gagné et mon indemnité. Je ne devrais pas payer d'impôt sur ces deux montants. Qu'est-ce que je fais avec le feuillet T5007 que j'ai reçu?

Reportez le montant inscrit à la case 10 du feuillet T5007 à la ligne 144 de votre déclaration de revenus.

À la ligne 250 de votre déclaration, demandez une déduction équivalente au montant inscrit à la case 10 du feuillet T5007. De cette façon, l'indemnité pour accident du travail ne sera pas incluse dans le calcul de votre revenu imposable. Joignez le feuillet T5007 à votre déclaration de revenus sur papier.

Faites le total des cases 14 de vos feuillets T4 et inscrivez-le à la ligne 101 de votre déclaration de revenus.

À la ligne 229, déduisez le montant de l'indemnité pour accidents du travail remboursé à votre employeur qui a été inclus dans votre revenu (sur votre feuillet T4).

L'indemnité n'est pas imposable. Toutefois, vous devez l'inclure dans votre déclaration de revenus afin de recevoir les avantages auxquels vous pourriez avoir droit, tel que le supplément de revenu garanti de la Sécurité de la vieillesse, le crédit pour la taxe sur les produits et services/taxe de vente harmonisée, la prestation fiscale canadienne pour enfants, certains crédits d'impôt provinciaux ou territoriaux ainsi que certains crédits d'impôt non remboursables.

Remplir votre déclaration de revenus

Inscrivez à la ligne 144 le montant de la case 10 de votre feuillet T5007 et demandez une déduction équivalente à la ligne 250.

Formulaires et publications

Sujets connexes

Date de modification :