What's new for 2014

List of major changes

We list the major changes below, including income tax changes that have been announced but have not become law at this time. If they become law as proposed, they will be effective for 2014 or as of the dates indicated.

Manage online mail

When you register for online mail, the CRA will no longer mail your notices to you. Instead, you will receive an email notification that there is mail for you to view on the My Account secure online service at My Account. Have your tax record in a secure place – online!  For more information see Manage online mail.

Family tax cut

You may be able to claim a non refundable tax credit of up to $2,000 to reduce your federal income tax.  For more information see line 423.

Emergency services volunteers

The rules for the $1,000 exemption for emergency services volunteers have changed.  For more information see line 101.

Lifetime capital gains exemption

For dispositions of qualified small business corporation shares and qualified farm and fishing property made after 2013, the lifetime capital gains exemption limit has increased to $800,000. For more information, see Guide T4037, Capital Gains.  For more information see line 254.

Adoption expenses

The maximum amount of eligible expenses for each child has increased to $15,000. For more information about adoption expenses.  For more information see line 313.

Medical expenses 

Costs for the design of personalized therapy plans for persons eligible for the disability tax credit and costs for service animals used to help manage severe diabetes are now eligible as medical expenses. For more information, see Guide RC4064, Medical and Disability Related Information. For more information see lines 330 and 331.

Ecological gifts

The carry-forward period for gifts of ecologically sensitive land made after February 10, 2014, has been extended to 10 years. For more information see line 349.

Cultural gifts 

For donations of certified cultural property made after February 10, 2014, special rules will apply when the property was acquired through a gifting arrangement that is a tax shelter. For more information about these new rules, see Pamphlet P113, Gifts and Income Tax. For more information see line 349.

Children’s fitness amount 

The maximum amount of eligible fees for each child has increased to $1,000. For more information see line 365.

Search and rescue volunteers’ amount

As a search and rescue volunteer, you may be able to claim an amount of $3,000. For more information see line 395.

Investment tax credit 

Eligibility for the mineral exploration tax credit has been extended to flow-through share agreements entered into before April 2015. For more information see line 412.

GST/HST credit 

You no longer have to apply for the GST/HST credit. When you file your return, the CRA will determine your eligibility and tell you if you are entitled to receive the credit.  For more information see GST/HST credit.

Amateur athlete trust (AAT)

Income contributed to an AAT now qualifies as earned income in calculating the registered retirement savings plan (RRSP) contribution limit of the trust’s beneficiary. For more information see line 208.

 

Date modified:

Quoi de neuf pour 2014

Principales modifications

Nous avons indiqué ci-dessous les principales modifications, y compris celles qui ont été annoncées, mais qui n’avaient pas encore été adoptées par le Parlement. Si elles deviennent loi telles qu’elles ont été proposées, elles seront en vigueur en 2014 ou à la date indiquée.

Gérer le courrier en ligne

Lorsque vous vous inscrivez au courrier en ligne, l’ARC ne vous enverra plus vos avis par la poste. À la place, vous recevrez un courriel qui vous avisera que vous avez du courrier à lire dans le service en ligne sécurisé Mon dossier. Conservez votre dossier d’impôt dans un endroit sûr – en ligne! Pour en savoir plus, lisez Gérer le courrier en ligne.

Baisse d'impôt pour les familles

Vous pourriez avoir droit à un crédit d’impôt non remboursable pouvant atteindre 2 000 $ pour réduire votre impôt fédéral. Pour en savoir plus, lisez la ligne 423.

Volontaires des services d'urgence

Les règles visant l’exemption de 1 000 $ pour les volontaires des services d’urgence ont changé. Pour en savoir plus, lisez la ligne 101.

Hausse de l'exonération cumulative des gains en capital

L’exonération cumulative des gains en capital est passée à 800 000 $ pour les dispositions faites après 2013 d’actions admissibles de petites entreprises ou de biens d’agriculture et de pêche admissibles. Pour en savoir plus, lisez la ligne254 et consultez le guide T4037, Gains en capital.

Frais d'adoption

Le montant maximum des dépenses admissibles est passé à 15 000 $ par enfant. Pour en savoir plus sur les frais d’adoption, lisez la ligne 313.

Frais médicaux

Les frais payés pour la conception d’un plan de traitement personnalisé pour une personne admissible au crédit d’impôt pour personnes handicapées et les frais admissibles liés à un animal d’assistance dressé pour aider une personne à gérer son diabète grave sont maintenant admissibles à titre de frais médicaux. Pour en savoir plus, lisez les lignes 330 et 331 et consultez le guide RC4064, Renseignements relatifs au frais médicaux et aux personnes handicapées.

Dons de biens écosensibles

La période de report pour les dons de fonds de terre écosensibles faits après le 10 février 2014 a été prolongée à 10 ans. Pour en savoir plus, lisez la ligne 349

Dons de biens culturels

Des règles spéciales s’appliquent maintenant aux dons de biens culturels certifiés faits après le 10 février 2014 lorsque le bien est acquis selon un arrangement de don qui est un abri fiscal. Pour en savoir plus sur ces nouvelles règles, consultez la brochure P113, Les dons et l’impôt.

Montant pour la condition physique des enfants

Le montant maximum de frais admissibles par enfant est passé à 1 000 $. Pour en savoir plus, lisez la ligne 365.

Montant pour les volontaires en recherche et sauvetage

Vous pouvez demander un montant de 3 000 $ si vous étiez un volontaire en recherche et sauvetage. Pour en savoir plus, lisez la ligne 395.

Crédit d'impôt à l'investissement

L'admissibilité au crédit d'impôt pour l'exploration minière s'applique également aux conventions d'émission d'actions accréditives qui sont entrées en vigueur avant le avril 2015. Pour en savoir plus sur le crédit d'impôt à l'investissement, lisez la ligne 412.

Crédit pour la TPS/TVH

Vous n’avez plus à demander le crédit pour la TPS/TVH. Quand vous produisez votre déclaration, l’ARC déterminera votre admissibilité et vous informera si vous y avez droit. Pour en savoir plus, lisez Crédit pour la TPS/TVH.

Fiducies au profit d'athlètes amateurs (FPAA)

Le revenu versé dans une FPAA constitue maintenant un revenu gagné et sert à calculer le plafond des cotisations au régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite (REER) du bénéficiaire de la fiducie. Pour en savoir plus, lisez la ligne 208.

Date de modification :