Cessation of disability or death of a beneficiary

What happens if the beneficiary is no longer eligible for the DTC?

Unless an election is filed with the issuer, the RDSP must be terminated and all amounts paid out of the plan by December 31st of the year following the first calendar year throughout which the beneficiary is no longer considered to have a severe or prolonged impairment in physical or mental functions that qualified him or her for the DTC. Any funds remaining in the RDSP after any required repayments of government grant and bond will be paid to the beneficiary. The taxable portion of the disability assistance payment (DAP) will be included in the income of the beneficiary in the year the payment is made to the beneficiary.

A beneficiary who becomes ineligible for the DTC, might, due to the nature of their condition, be eligible for the disability tax credit (DTC) for some later year. Since January 1, 2014, subject to the conditions discussed below, an election may be made if the RDSP holder wishes to postpone closing the plan, a licensed medical doctor must certify in writing that the nature of the beneficiary's condition makes it likely that the beneficiary will, because of the condition, be eligible for the DTC for a future taxation year. In these circumstances, contribution room and repaid grants and bonds are not restored.

Election

The RDSP plan holder will be required to:

  • have a licensed medical doctor certify in writing that the beneficiary will likely become DTC-eligible at some point in the future; and
  • make an election to keep the plan open by providing the medical certificate to the issuer.

The RDSP issuer will then be required to notify ESDC that the election has been made. The election must be made on or before December 31st of the year following the first year for which the beneficiary is ineligible for the DTC.

An election will generally be valid until the end of the fourth calendar year following the first full calendar year for which a beneficiary is DTC-ineligible.

The RDSP must be terminated by:

  • the end of the year following the first year for which there is no longer a valid election; or
  • the end of the year following the 5th year of continuous DTC-ineligibility.

If a beneficiary becomes eligible for the DTC while an election is valid, the usual RDSP rules will apply commencing with the year for which the beneficiary becomes eligible.

Results of an election while DTC-ineligible

Where an election is made, the following rules will apply commencing with the first year for which the beneficiary is DTC-ineligible:

  • no contributions to the RDSP will be permitted, including the rollover of RESP investment income; however, a rollover of proceeds from a deceased individual's RRSP or RRIF to the RDSP of a financially dependent infirm child or grandchild will still be permitted;
  • no new grant, bond, or designated provincial payments will be paid into the RDSP;
  • no new entitlements will be generated for the purpose of the carry forward of grants and bonds;
  • withdrawals from the RDSP will be permitted and will be subject to the proportional repayment rule and the maximum and minimum withdrawal rules;
  • if a beneficiary dies after an election has been made, the existing 10-year repayment rule will apply.

Note

The assistance holdback amount will be equal to the amount of the assistance holdback amount immediately preceding the beneficiary becoming DTC-ineligible less any subsequent repayments.

For more information on how much the repayment will be, contact the issuer of your RDSP or go to Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC).

What happens if the beneficiary dies?

The RDSP must be closed and all amounts remaining in the plan must be paid out to the beneficiary's estate and the plan terminated, by December 31st of the year following the calendar year in which the beneficiary dies. Any funds remaining in the RDSP, after any required repayment of government grants and bonds, will be paid to the estate. If a DAP had been made and the beneficiary is deceased, the taxable portion of the DAP must be included in the income of the beneficiary's estate in the tax year in which the payment is made.

Date modified:

Fin de l'admissibilité au montant pour personnes handicapées ou décès du bénéficiaire

Que se passe-t-il si le bénéficiaire n'est plus admissible au CIPH?

À moins qu'un choix ne soit produit auprès de l’émetteur, le REEI doit être fermé, et tous les montants doivent être versés par le régime au plus tard le 31 décembre de l'année suivant la première année complète au cours de laquelle le bénéficiaire n'est plus considéré comme ayant une déficience grave et prolongée des fonctions physiques ou mentales qui le rendait admissible au CIPH. Toutes les sommes restantes dans le REEI, après le remboursement des bons et des subventions du gouvernement, seront versées au bénéficiaire. Les parties imposables du paiement d'aide à l'invalidité (PAI) seront incluses dans le revenu du bénéficiaire dans l'année où le paiement est verse à celui-ci.

Un bénéficiaire qui cesse d'être admissible au CIPH peut être, en raison de la nature de son état, de nouveau admissible au CIPH quelques années plus tard. Depuis le 1er janvier 2014, sous réserve des conditions décrites ci-dessous, un choix peut être effectué si le titulaire du REEI souhaite reporter la fermeture du régime. Dans ces circonstances, les droits de cotisation et les remboursements des subventions et des bons ne sont pas rétablis.

Choix

Le titulaire du régime du REEI devra :

  • demander à un médecin autorisé d'attester par écrit que le bénéficiaire sera probablement admissible au CIPH à un moment donné dans l'avenir;
  • faire le choix de garder le régime ouvert en fournissant à l'émetteur un certificate médical.

L’émetteur du REEI sera alors tenu d'aviser EDSC que le choix a été fait. Il doit être fait au plus tard le 31 décembre de l'année suivant la première année au cours de laquelle le bénéficiaire n'a pas droit au CIPH.

Un choix sera généralement valide jusqu'à la fin de la quatrième année civile suivant la première année civile complète au cours de laquelle le bénéficiaire n'est plus admissible au CIPH.

Le REEI doit prendre fin :

  • avant la fin de l’année suivant la première année pour laquelle il n’y a plus de choix valide; ou
  • avant la fin de l'année suivant la cinquième année d’inadmissibilité continue au CIPH.

Si le bénéficiaire devient admissible au CIPH alors qu'un choix est valide, les règles habituelles du REEI s'appliqueront à partir de la première année d’admissibilité du bénéficiaire.

Résultats du choix lorsque le bénéficiaire n’est pas admissible au CIPH

Une fois le choix fait, les règles suivantes s’appliqueront dès la première année civile où le bénéficiaire n’est plus  admissible au CIPH :

  • aucune cotisation ne pourra être verse au REEI, y compris le roulement du revenu de placement d’un REEE; par contre, le roulement des produits d’un REER ou d'un FERR, d’un particulier décédé au REEI d’un enfant ou d’un de ses petits-enfants handicapé qui était financièrement à sa charge sera toujours autorisé;
  • aucun autre montant de subvention, de bon ou de paiements provinciaux désignés ne sera versé au REEI;
  • aucun nouveau droit ne sera accordé pour le report des subventions et des bons;
  • les retraits du REEI seront autorisés et soumis à la règle de remboursement proportionnel ainsi qu’aux règles sur les montants minimal et maximal des retraits;
  • si le bénéficiaire décède après que le choix a été fait, l’ancienne règle de remboursement de 10 ans s’y appliquera.

Remarque

Le montant de retenue correspondra au montant de retenu établi précédant immédiatement le moment où le bénéficiaire n’est plus admissible au CIPH, moins tout remboursement effectué.

Pour en savoir plus sur le calcul du remboursement, communiquez avec l'émetteur de votre REEI ou visitez le site Web d'Emploi et développement social Canada (EDSC).

Que se passe-t-il si le bénéficiaire décède?

Le REEI doit être fermé et toutes les sommes qui restent dans le régime doivent être versées à la succession du bénéficiaire au plus tard le 31 décembre de l'année suivant celle du décès du bénéficiaire. Toutes les sommes restant dans le REEI après le remboursement des bons et des subventions du gouvernement seront versées à sa succession. Si un PAI avait été effectué et que le bénéficiaire est décédé, la partie imposable du PAI doit être incluse dans le revenu de la succession du bénéficiaire dans l’année d’imposition au cours de laquelle le paiement a été versé.

Date de modification :