RDSP limits, transfers, and rollovers

What is the contribution limit for RDSPs?

There is no annual limit on amounts that can be contributed to an RDSP of a particular beneficiary in a given year. However, the overall lifetime limit for a particular beneficiary is $200,000 (all previous contributions and rollover that have previously been made to an RDSP of a particular beneficiary will reduce this amount). Contributions are permitted until the end of the year in which the beneficiary turns 59.

Note

Amounts directly transferred from one beneficiary's RDSP to another RDSP for the same beneficiary do not count toward the $200,000 overall contribution limit.

Transfers

An amount can be transferred from one RDSP to another RDSP can be made only under the following conditions:

  • the transfer must be made directly from a beneficiary's current RDSP to a new RDSP for the same beneficiary;
  • a transfer can only be made if all holders of the current RDSP agree to the transfer;
  • all funds must be rolled over from the current RDSP to the new RDSP;
  • the current RDSP must be terminated immediately following the transfer; and
  • where the beneficiary has attained 59 years of age before the year in which the transfer takes place, the issuer of the new plan agrees to pay any DAPs required to be made under the plan.

Rollovers

Rolling over retirement savings property on a tax deferred basis to an RDSP

The maximum rollover amount into an RDSP is $200,000. All contributions and rollover amounts made to any RDSP of a beneficiary will reduce this amount. A grant will not be paid into the RDSP on amounts that are rolled over.

For deaths occurring after March 3, 2010, the RDSP rules allow for a rollover of a deceased individual's registered retirement savings plan (RRSP) proceeds to an RDSP of the deceased individual's financially dependent child or grandchild with an impairment in physical or mental functions. A qualifying beneficiary is referred to as an eligible individual.

These rollover rules also apply to:

RDSP rollover reporting

The retirement savings rollover transaction must be documented using Form RC4625, Rollover to a Registered Disability Savings Plan (RDSP) Under Paragraph 60(m) or the form provided by the RDSP issuer. A tax slip will be issued (for example, T4A, T4RSP, T4RIF, etc.). The amount of the retirement savings rollover is reported and deducted on the eligible individual’s income tax and benefit return. In some cases, the amount may also need to be reported and deducted in the deceased individual’s final return. For more information on how rollovers should be reported, see “Transfers to registered disability savings plans” in guide T4040, RRSP and other Registered Plans for Retirement.

Notes

These rules apply to retirement savings rollovers only. Education savings rollovers are recorded on Form RC435, Rollover from a Registered Education Savings Plan to a Registered Disability Savings Plan or another form provided by the RESP promoter. Tax slips are not issued for education savings rollovers.

RDSP issuers may produce and use their own method of documentation for education savings rollovers.

The retirement savings rollover to an RDSP:

  • will be considered a private contribution for the purpose of determining whether the RDSP is a PGAP, but will not attract grants;
  • will be included in the taxable portions of RDSP withdrawals made to the beneficiary; and
  • may not exceed, and will reduce the RDSP contribution lifetime limit.

Eligible individual

An eligible individual is a child or grandchild of a deceased annuitant under an RRSP or RRIF, or of a deceased member of an RPP or SPP or PRPP, who was financially dependent on the deceased for support, at the time of the deceased’s death, by reason of an impairment in physical or mental functions. The eligible individual must also be the beneficiary  under the RDSP into which the eligible proceeds will be paid.

Forms and publications

Date modified:

Limite du REEI, transferts et roulement

Quelle est la cotisation maximale au REEI?

Il n'y a aucune limite annuelle quant aux montants pouvant être cotisés au REEI d'un bénéficiaire dans une année donnée. Cependant, la limite à vie globale pour un bénéficiaire est de 200 000 $ (toutes les cotisations et les roulements qui ont été faits auparavant à un REEI d'un bénéficaire réduiront ce montant). Les cotisations sont permises jusqu'à la fin de l'année au cours de laquelle le bénéficiaire atteint l'âge de 59 ans.

Remarque

Les montants transférés directement d'un REEI du bénéficiaire à un autre REEI du même bénéficiaire ne sont pas incluses dans le calcul de la limite à vie globale de 200 000 $

Transferts

Un transfert d’un REEI à un autre REEI peut être fait seulement dans les conditions suivantes :

  • le transfert doit être fait directement à partir d'un REEI courant d'un bénéficiaire à un nouveau REEI du même bénéficiaire;
  • un transfert ne peut être effectué que si tous les titulaires du REEI courant sont d’accord avec ce transfert;
  • tous les fonds doivent être transférés du REEI courant au nouveau REEI;
  • le REEI courant doit cesser immédiatement après le transfert;
  • lorsque le bénéficiaire attaint l'âge de 59 ans avant l’année au cours de laquelle le transfert a lieu, l'émetteur du nouveau régime s'engage à verser tous les PAI qui doivent être effectués selon regime.

Roulements

Roulement de biens avec report de l'impôt d’un régime d'épargne-retraite à un REEI

Le montant maximal de roulement au REEI est de 200 000 $. Toutes les cotisations et tous les roulements apportés à un REEI d'un bénéficiaire réduiront ce montant. Les subventions ne seront pas versées au REEI sur les montants de roulement.

Pour les décès survenus après le 3 mars 2010, les règles du REEI permettent un roulement des produits d’un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER) d’un particulier décédé au REEI d’un enfant ou d’un petits-enfants ayant une déficience des fonctions physiques ou mentales et qui était financièrement à la charge du particulier décédé. Pour en savoir plus, lisez Personne admissible.

Ces règles de roulement s’appliquent également à ce qui suit :

Déclaration du roulement à un REEI

L'opération de roulement doit être documentée au moyen du formulaire RC4625, Roulement à un régime enregistré d'épargne-invalidité (REEI) selon l'alinéa 60m) ou du formulaire fourni par l'émetteur du REEI. Un Feuillet de renseignement sera envoyé, par exemple le feuillet T4A, T4RSP ou T4RIF. Le montant du roulement est déclaré et déduit dans la déclaration de revenus et de prestations de la personne admissible. Dans certains cas, le montant peut également être déclaré et déduit dans la déclaration finale de la personne décédée. Pour en savoir plus sur la façon dont les roulements doivent être déclarés, consultez la section « Transferts dans des régimes enregistrés d'épargne-invalidité » du guide T4040, REER et autres regimes enregistrés pour la retraite.

Remarques

Ces règles s'appliquent aux roulements d'épargne-retraite seulement. Les roulements d’épargne-études sont inscrits sur le formulaire RC435, Roulement d'un régime enregistré d'épargne-étude à un régime enregistré d'épargne-invalidité ou sur un autre formulaire fourni par le promoteur du REEE. Des feuillets de renseignements fiscaux ne sont pas remis pour des roulements d'épargne-études.

Les émetteurs de REEI peuvent élaborer et utiliser leur propre méthode pour enregistrer les roulements d'épargne-études.

Le montant de roulement d'épargne-retraite à un REEI :

  • sera considéré comme une cotisation privée lorsqu’il s’agira d’établir si le REEI est un RPAG, mais il ne sera pas admissible à la subvention;
  • sera inclus dans la partie imposable des retraits du REEI versés au bénéficiaire;
  • ne pourra pas dépasser le montant maximal de cotisation à vie au REEI et le réduira.

Personne admissible

Une personne admissible est un enfant ou un petits-enfants qui était financièrement à la charge, en raison d'une déficience des fonctions physiques ou mentales, d’un rentier d’un REER ou d’un FERR, ou d’un membre d’un RPA, d’un RPD ou d’un RPAC, au moment de son décès. La personne admissible doit également être le bénéficiaire du REEI auquel les produits admissibles seront verses.

Formulaire et publications

Date de modification :