Opening an RDSP

How do you open an RDSP?

To open an RDSP, a person who qualifies to be a holder of the plan must contact a participating financial institution that offers RDSPs. These financial institutions are known as issuers.

Note

The plan holder is the person who opens the RDSP and makes or authorizes contributions on behalf of the beneficiary.

Who can open an RDSP?

The Beneficiary is under the age of majority

If the beneficiary is under the age of majority, another individual can open an RDSP for the beneficiary and become a holder if that person is:

  • a legal parent of the beneficiary;
  • a guardian, tutor, or curator of the beneficiary, or another individual who is legally authorized to act for the beneficiary; or
  • a public department, agency, or institution that is legally authorized to act for the beneficiary.

The beneficiary has reached the age of majority and is legally able to enter into a contract

If the beneficiary has reached the age of majority and is legally able to enter into a contract, an RDSP can be established for such a beneficiary by the beneficiary.

If a legal parent is, at the time the plan is established, a holder of a pre–existing RDSP for the adult beneficiary, the legal parent may become the sole holder of the plan or a joint holder of the plan with the beneficiary.

The beneficiary has reached the age of majority but whose legal ability to enter into a contract is in doubt.

The ability for a "qualifying family member" to open a plan under these rules applies as of June 29, 2012 and ends on December 31, 2016. These rules will not apply if an RDSP has already been opened for a beneficiary or if an entity or other individual, including a legal representative, is authorized to act on behalf of the beneficiary.

A "qualifying family member" can open an RDSP for the individual and become a holder if, after reasonable inquiry, it is the opinion of a financial institution that offers RDSPs (RDSP issuer), that an adult individual’s ability to enter into a contract is in doubt.

A "qualifying family member" includes a spouse, common-law partner, or parent of an individual.

Note

The spouse or common-law partner is not eligible for this measure if they are living apart from the beneficiary due to a breakdown in their marriage or partnership.

A "qualifying family member" is no longer qualified to be a holder if any of the following apply:

  • in the issuer’s opinion, after reasonable inquiry, the beneficiary's contractual competence to enter into a plan is no longer in doubt and the beneficiary notifies the issuer that he or she chooses to become the plan holder;
  • the beneficiary is determined to be contractually competent by a competent tribunal or other authority under provincial law and the beneficiary chooses to replace the qualifying family member as the plan holder; or
  • a legal representative is later named in respect of the beneficiary, the legal representative will then replace the qualifying family member as the plan holder.

The RDSP issuer will be required to notify the individual if the individual becomes a beneficiary under an RDSP opened according to these rules.

The beneficiary has reached the age of majority but is not legally able to enter into a contract

An individual who is eligible to be a beneficiary of an RDSP, (but for whom a plan has not yet been established) may have reached the age of majority but may not be legally able to enter into a contract.

A qualified person, who is legally authorized to act for the beneficiary, can open an RDSP for the individual and become a holder.

Can the holder of an RDSP be changed?

When a plan is opened by a beneficiary's legal parent(s), the legal parent(s) can continue as holder(s) of the plan after the beneficiary reaches the age of majority. When the beneficiary becomes an adult and is legally able to enter into a contract, the beneficiary can be added to the RDSP as a joint holder if the plan terms allow for the assignment of these rights.

The beneficiary is the only one who can be a holder of the plan once he or she has reached the age of majority and is legally able to enter into a contract. If a plan is opened by somebody other than the beneficiary or the beneficiary's legal parent(s), that person or body must be removed as a holder of the plan when the beneficiary reaches the age of majority.

A holder who is not the beneficiary of the plan does not have to be a resident of Canada but must have a valid SIN or business number (for public institutions, departments, and agencies) to establish the plan.

If the guardian, tutor, public department, or any other qualified individual or body is no longer qualified to be a holder (for example they are no longer the legal guardian or have died), they must be removed from the plan as holder. In such a case, the following can be added to the plan as a holder's successor or assignee:

  • the beneficiary (provided that the beneficiary has reached the age of majority and is contractually competent) ;
  • the beneficiary's estate;
  • any other person or body who is already a holder (for example, two legal parents enter into an RDSP contract together and one parent passes away; the other parent would receive the deceased parent's rights and become the sole holder of the plan);
  • a legal parent of the beneficiary and was previously a holder of the plan; or
  • a qualifying person at the time the rights are acquired.
Date modified:

Ouvrir un REEI

Comment ouvrir un REEI?

Pour ouvrir un REEI, une personne admissible en tant que titulaire du régime doit communiquer avec une institution financière participante qui offre des REEI. Les institutions financières sont reconnues comme étant l'émetteur de REEI.

Remarque

Le titulaire du régime est la personne qui ouvre le REEI et qui y verse les cotisations ou autorise les cotisations au nom du bénéficiaire.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez Ouvrir un régime enregistré d'épargne-invalidité (REEI), transférer un REEI, faire un transfert dans un REEI.

Qui peut ouvrir un REEI?

Le bénéficiaire n’a pas atteint l'âge de la majorité

Si le bénéficiaire n'a pas atteint l'âge de la majorité, une autre personne admissible peut ouvrir un REEI en son nom et en devenir le titulaire, si cette dernière est :

  • un parent légal du bénéficiaire;
  • un tuteur, un curateur ou une autre personne qui est légalement autorisé à agir au nom du bénéficiaire;
  • un ministère, un organisme ou un établissement public qui est légalement autorisé à agir au nom du bénéficiaire.

Le bénéficiaire a atteint l'âge de la majorité et a la capacité de contracter un régime d’épargne-invalidité

Si un bénéficiaire a atteint l’âge de la majorité et a la capacité de contracter un régime, le bénéficiaire peut ouvrir un REEI pour lui-même.

Si le ou les parents légaux sont, au moment où le régime est ouvert, déjà titulaires d’un REEI pour le bénéficiaire adulte, les parents peuvent rester titulaires du nouveau régime. Le nom du bénéficiaire adulte pourrait également être ajouté comme co-titulaire avec celui de ses parents.

Le bénéficiaire a atteint l'âge de la majorité, mais sa capacité de contracter un régime est mise en doute

La capacité d’un membre de la famille admissible (MFA) d’ouvrir un régime selon ces règles s’applique à compter du 29 juin 2012 jusqu’au 31 décembre 2018.

Un membre de la famille admissible comprend un époux, un conjoint de fait ou le parent d’un particulier.

Remarque

L'époux ou le conjoint de fait n'est pas admissible à cette mesure s'il ne vit pas avec le bénéficiaire en raison de la rupture de leur mariage ou union.

Ces règles liées au membre de la famille admissible ne peuvent s’appliquer si le bénéficiaire est actuellement le bénéficiaire d’un REEI existant ou si une personne admissible est autorisée à agir au nom du bénéficiaire.

Un membre de la famille admissible peut ouvrir un REEI au nom du bénéficiaire et en devenir un titulaire si, après une enquête raisonnable, l’émetteur de REEI est d’avis que la capacité d’une personne adulte de contracter un régime est mise en doute.

Un MFA n’est plus reconnu comme étant admissible en tant que titulaire, si l’une ou l’autre des situations suivantes s’y applique :

  • de l’avis de l’émetteur, à la suite d'une enquête raisonnable, la capacité de contracter du bénéficiaire lui permettant de souscrire à un régime ne fait plus de doute et le bénéficiaire informe l’émetteur qu’il choisit de devenir le titulaire du régime;
  • un tribunal compétent ou une autorité selon la loi provinciale détermine que le bénéficiaire a la capacité de contracter et que ce dernier choisit de remplacer le member de la famille admissible à titre de titulaire du régime;
  • un représentant légal est nommé par la suite pour le bénéficiaire. Ce dernier remplacera alors le MFA à titre de titulaire du régime.

L’émetteur de REEI devra informer la personne visée si elle devient bénéficiaire d’un REEI ouvert selon ces règles.

Le bénéficiaire a atteint l'âge de la majorité, mais n’a pas la capacité de contracter un régime

Une personne qui peut être bénéficiaire d'un REEI (mais pour qui un régime n’a pas encore été ouvert) peut avoir atteint l'âge de la majorité sans avoir la capacité de contracter un régime.

Une personne admissible, qui est légalement autorisée à agir au nom du bénéficiaire, peut ouvrir un REEI pour ce dernier et devenir le titulaire de ce régime.

Peut-on changer le titulaire d'un REEI?

Quand un régime est ouvert par un ou les parents légaux d’un bénéficiaire, le ou les parents légaux peuvent continuer d’être titulaires du régime même lorsque le bénéficiaire a atteint l’âge de la majorité. Lorsqu’il atteint cet âge et a la capacité de contracter un régime, son nom peut, s’il le désire, être ajouté au REEI comme co-titulaire.

Le bénéficiaire est la seule personne qui peut être titulaire du régime une fois qu’il a atteint l’âge de la majorité et qu’il a la capacité de contracter un régime. Si un régime est ouvert par quelqu’un d’autre que le bénéficiaire ou le ou les parents légaux de celui-ci, cette personne ou cet organisme doit être retiré en tant que titulaire du régime lorsque le bénéficiaire atteint l’âge de la majorité.

Un titulaire qui n’est pas bénéficiaire du régime n’a pas à être résident canadien, mais doit détenir un NAS ou un numéro d’entreprise valide (dans le cas des établissements publics, des ministères et des organismes) pour pouvoir ouvrir le régime.

Si un tuteur, un curateur, un établissement public ou une autre personne ou un autre organisme admissible (à l’exception d’un membre de la famille admissible) n’a plus le droit d’être titulaire du régime (par exemple le tuteur du bénéficiaire cesse d’être le tuteur légal ou il décède), son nom doit être retiré du régime. Dans un tel cas, les personnes ou organisme suivants peuvent être désignés dans le régime comme successeur ou cessionnaire du titulaire:

  • le bénéficiaire (pourvu qu’il ait atteint l’âge de la majorité et qu’il ait la capacité de contracter un régime);
  • la succession du bénéficiaire;
  • une autre personne ou organisme qui est déjà titulaire du régime (par exemple, deux parents légaux contractent un REEI ensemble et l’un d’eux décède. L’autre parent obtiendrait les droits du parent décédé et deviendrait le seul titulaire du régime);
  • un parent légal du bénéficiaire et qui était auparavant titulaire du régime;
  • une personne admissible au moment où les droits sont acquis.
Date de modification :