Educational Assistance Payments (EAPs)

An educational assistance payment (EAP) is the amount paid to a beneficiary (a student) from an RESP to help finance the cost of post-secondary education. An EAP consists of the Canada Education Savings Grant, the Canada Learning Bond, amounts paid under a Provincial Education Savings Programs and the earnings on the money saved in the RESP. The promoter reports EAPs in box 042 on a T4A Statement of Pension, Retirement, Annuity, and Other Income slip and sends a copy to the student. The student includes the EAPs as income on his or her income tax and benefit return for the year the student receives them.

Note

A beneficiary must be a resident of Canada in order to receive the CESG or CLB as part of the EAP. Contact the appropriate provincial authorities to determine residency requirements for the eligibility conditions for provincial grants and incentives.

The promoter can only pay EAPs to or for a student if one of the following situations applies:

  • the student is enrolled in a qualifying educational program. This includes students attending a post-secondary educational institution and those enrolled in distance education courses, such as correspondence courses, provided by such institutions; or
  • the student has attained the age of 16 years and is enrolled in a specified educational program.

A beneficiary is entitled to receive EAPs for up to six months after ceasing enrolment, provided that the payments would have qualified as EAPs if the payments had been made immediately before the student's enrolment ceased.

A qualifying educational program is an educational program at post-secondary school level, that lasts at least three consecutive weeks, and that requires a student to spend no less than 10 hours per week on courses or work in the program.

A specified educational program is a program at post-secondary school level that lasts at least three consecutive weeks, and that requires a student to spend not less than 12 hours per-month on courses in the program.

A post-secondary educational institution includes:

  • a university, college, or other designated educational institution in Canada;
  • an educational institution in Canada certified by Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) as offering non-credit courses that develop or improve skills in an occupation; and
  • a university, college, or a university outside Canada that has courses at the post-secondary school level at which the beneficiary was enrolled on a full-time basis in a course of not less than three consecutive weeks.

Limit on EAPs 

For RESPs entered into after 1998, the maximum amount of EAPs that can be made to a student as soon as he or she qualifies to receive them is:

  • for studies in a qualifying educational program - $5,000, for the first 13 consecutive weeks in such a program. After the student has completed the 13 consecutive weeks, there is no limit on the amount of EAPs that can be paid if the student continues to qualify to receive them. If there is a 12-month period in which the student is not enrolled in a qualifying educational program for 13 consecutive weeks, the $5,000 maximum applies again; or
  • for studies in a specified educational program - $2,500, for the 13-week period whether or not the student is enrolled in such a program throughout that 13-week period.

Subject to the terms and conditions of the RESP, the promoter can supplement the $5,000 or $2,500 EAP by paying a portion of the contributions tax-free to the beneficiary.

Employment and Social Development Canada may, on a case-by-case basis, approve an EAP amount of more than the above limit if the cost of tuition plus related expenses for a particular program is substantially higher than the average. For information on how to request approval of an EAP of more than $5,000 or $2,500, promoters should call the Canada Education Savings Program at 1-888-276-3624 .

Date modified:

Les paiements d'aide aux études (PAE)

Un paiement d’aide aux études (PAE) est le montant versé à un bénéficiaire (l’étudiant) à partir d’un REEE pour l’aider à payer le coût de ses études postsecondaires. Un PAE inclut la Subvention canadienne pour l'épargne-études (SCEE), le Bon d'études canadien (BEC), les sommes payées dans le cadre d'un programmes provinciaux d'épargne-études ainsi que les revenus générés dans le REEE. Le promoteur doit déclarer les PAE à la case 042 du feuillet T4A, État du revenu de pension, de retraite, de rente ou d'autres sources et remettre une copie à l'étudiant. Ce dernier doit inclure les PAE comme revenu dans sa déclaration de revenus et de prestations pour l'année où il les reçoit.

Remarque

Un bénéficiaire doit résider au Canada pour recevoir la SCEE ou le BEC dans le cadre du PAE. Veuillez communiquer avec les autorités provinciales compétentes pour déterminer les exigences en matière de résidence pour les conditions d’admissibilité aux subventions et incitatifs provinciaux.

Le promoteur peut verser un PAE à un étudiant ou pour celui-ci seulement si l'une situations suivantes s'applique :

  • l'étudiant est inscrit à un programme de formation admissible. Ce peut être un étudiant qui fréquentent un établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire ou qui est inscrit à des cours à distance, comme les cours par correspondance, donnés par un tel établissement;
  • l'étudiant a atteint l'âge de 16 ans et est inscrit à un programme de formation déterminé
 

Un bénéficiaire est autorisé à recevoir des PAE jusqu'à six mois après la cessation de son inscription, à condition que les paiements aient été admissibles comme PAE s'ils avaient été versés juste avant que cesse l'inscription de l'étudiant.

Un programme de formation admissible est un programme de formation postsecondaire d'une durée minimale de trois semaines consécutives, qui exige que l'étudiant consacre au moins 10 heures par semaine aux cours ou aux travaux.

Un programme de formation déterminé est un programme de niveau postsecondaire d'une durée minimale de trois semaines consécutives, qui exige que l'étudiant consacre au moins 12 heures par mois aux cours.

Un établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire comprend :

  • une université, un collège ou un autre établissement d'enseignement agréé situé au Canada;
  • un établissement d'enseignement au Canada reconnu par Emploi et Développement social Canada (ESDC) qui offre des cours non crédités visant à donner ou à améliorer des compétences nécessaires à l'exercice d'un emploi;
  • une université situé à l'étranger qui offre des cours de niveau postsecondaire et où l’étudiant doit être inscrit à temps plein dans un cours d’au moins trois semaines consécutives;
  • une université, un collège ou un autre établissement d’enseignement située à l’étranger où l’étudiant doit être inscrit à un cours d’une durée d’au moins 13 semaines consécutives.

Limites applicables aux PAE

Pour les REEE conclus après 1998, le montant maximal des PAE pouvant être versé à un étudiant dès qu'il y est admissible est l'un ou l'autre des montants suivants :

  • pour des études dans un programme de formation admissible5 000 $, pour les 13 premières semaines consécutives dans un tel programme. Une fois que l'étudiant a terminé 13 semaines consécutives, il n'y a aucune limite au montant des PAE, à condition que l'étudiant y soit toujours droit. Si, au cours d'une période de 12 mois, l'étudiant ne participe pas à un programme de formation admissible pendant 13 semaines consécutives, la limite de 5 000 $ s'applique de nouveau;
  • pour des études dans un programme de formation determine2 500 $ pour la période de 13 semaines, que l'étudiant soit inscrit ou non dans un tel programme pendant la période totale de 13 semaines.

Selon les modalités du REEE, le promoteur peut augmenter les PAE de 5 000 $ ou 2 500 $ en payant une partie des cotisations au bénéficiaire sans que celles-ci soient soumis à l'impôt.

Selon le principe du cas par cas, Emploi et Développement social Canada peut accepter que le montant des PAE dépasse la limite ci-haut mentionnée, si les frais de scolarité et les dépenses liées à un programme particulier sont nettement plus élevés que la moyenne. Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de demander l'approbation d'un PAE de plus de  5 000 $ ou de 2 500 $, les promoteurs peuvent communiquer avec le Programme canadien d'épargne-études en composant le 1-888-276-3624.

Date de modification :