How can I participate in the Home Buyers' Plan?

To participate in the HBP, you must meet both the HBP eligibility and RRSP withdrawal conditions.

On this page:

Do I meet the HBP eligibility conditions?

  • You must be considered a first-time home buyer.
  • You must have a written agreement to buy or build a qualifying home for yourself, for a related person with a disability, or to help a related person with a disability buy or build a qualifying home (obtaining a pre-approved mortgage does not satisfy this condition).

Note

If you are withdrawing funds from your RRSPs to help a related person with a disability buy or build a qualifying home, it is the related person with a disability who must have entered into such an agreement.

  • You must intend to live in the qualifying home as your principal place of residence within one year after buying or building it. If you buy or build a qualifying home for a related person with a disability, or help a related person with a disability buy or build a qualifying home, you must intend that that person lives in the qualifying home as his or her principal place of residence.

In all cases, if you have previously participated in the HBP, you may be able to do so again if your repayable HBP balance on January 1 of the year of the withdrawal is zero and you meet all the other HBP eligibility conditions.

Am I a first-time home buyer?

Normally, you have to be a first-home buyer to withdraw funds from your RRSPs to buy or build a qualifying home.

You are considered a first-time home buyer if, in the four year period, you did not live in a home that you or your current spouse or common-law partner owned.

Note

Even if you or your spouse or common-law partner has previously owned a home, you may still be considered a first-time home buyer.

The four-year period:

Begins on January 1 of the fourth year before the year you withdraw funds; and

Ends 31 days before the date you withdraw the funds.

For example, if you withdraw funds on March 31, 2015, the four-year period begins on January 1, 2011 and ends on February 28, 2015.

If you have a spouse or common-law partner, it is possible that only one of you is a first-time home buyer.

Can you participate in the HBP later?

If you are not considered a first-time buyer now, you may be considered a first-time home buyer later, once the four-year period has passed.

For example, if in 2009 you sold the home you lived in before, you may be able to participate in 2014. Or if you sold the home in 2010, you may be able to participate in 2015.

Am I building or buying a qualifying home?

You are considered to buy or build a qualifying home if:

  • you buy or build it, or you are considered as buying or building it, before October 1 of the year after the year of the withdrawal;
  • you buy or build it, alone or with one or more individuals;

Note

We consider you to have built a qualifying home on the date it becomes habitable.

If you do not buy or build the qualifying home before October 1 of the year after the year you withdrew the funds, you can:

A replacement property has to meet the same conditions as a qualifying home. To inform us that you are buying or building a replacement property, send a letter to the following address:

Pension Workflow Section
Ottawa Technology Centre
875 Heron Road
Ottawa ON  K1A 1A2

Give your name, address, and social insurance number, as well as the address of the replacement property. You have to say in the letter that you intend to live in the replacement property as your principal place of residence within one year after you buy or build it.

Note

If you already withdrew, from your RRSPs, the $25,000 maximum allowed under the HBP, you cannot make any more HBP withdrawals to buy or build the replacement property.

Extensions for buying or building a qualifying home or replacement property

If you do not buy or build the qualifying home you indicated on Form T1036 (or a replacement property) before October 1 of the year after the year you withdrew the funds, we still consider you to have met the deadline if either of the following situations applies:

  • You had a written agreement, in effect on October 1 of the year after the year you withdrew the funds, to buy a qualifying home or replacement property, and you buy the property before October 1 of the second year after the year of the withdrawal. In addition, you have to be a Canadian resident up to the time of purchase.
  • You had paid an amount after the date of the first withdrawal and before October 1 of the year after the year you withdrew the funds to the contractors or suppliers (with whom you deal at arm's length) for materials for the home being built, or towards its construction, that was at least equal to the total of all withdrawals under the HBP.

Participating in the HBP for a related person with a disability?

Under the HBP, the home must better fit the needs of the disabled person than his or her current home. You can withdraw funds from your RRSPs under the HBP to buy or build a home, if:

  • you are a person with a disability;
  • you are buying or building a home for a related person with a disability;
  • you are helping a related person with a disability to buy or build a home.

Regardless of the situation, you are responsible for making sure that all applicable HBP conditions are met.

If, at any time during your participation period, a condition is not met, your withdrawal will not be considered eligible and it will have to be included as income on your income tax return for the year it is received.

Is my Home Buyers’ Plan balance up to date?

(If you have never participated in the HBP this section may not apply.)

If you have previously participated in the HBP, you may be able to do so again if:

  • your HBP balance is zero on January 1 of the year during which you plan on withdrawing funds under the HBP;
  • you meet all the other HBP conditions that apply to your situation.

Your HBP balance from your last participation is zero when the total of your yearly designated HBP repayments and any amounts included in your income (because no designated HBP repayment was made as required for a given year) equals the total eligible withdrawals you made from your RRSP under your participation in the HBP.

Note

The RRSP or PRPP contributions you make in the first 60 days of a year, and designate as HBP repayments for the previous year reduce your HBP balance for purposes of determining whether your balance is zero on January 1 of the current year. For more information about designating HBP repayments, see repaying your withdrawals.

Do I meet the RRSP withdrawal conditions?

  • You have to be a resident of Canada at the time of the withdrawal.
  • You have to receive or be considered to have received, all withdrawals in the same calendar year.
  • You cannot withdraw more than $25,000.
  • Only the person who is entitled to receive payments from the RRSP can withdraw funds from an RRSP. You can withdraw funds from more than one RRSP as long as you are the owner of each RRSP. Your RRSP issuer will not withhold tax on withdraw amounts of $25,000 or less.
  • Normally, you will not be allowed to withdraw funds from a locked-in RRSP or a group RRSP.
  • Your RRSP contributions must stay in the RRSP for at least 90 days before you can withdraw them under the HBP. If this is not the case, the contributions may not be deductible for any year.
  • Neither you nor your spouse or common-law partner or the related person with a disability that you buy or build the qualifying home for can own the qualifying home more than 30 days before the withdrawal is made.
  • You have to buy or build a qualifying home for yourself, for a related person with a disability, or to help a related person with a disability buy or build a qualifying home before October 1 of the year after the year of the withdrawal.
  • You have to complete Form T1036, Home Buyers' Plan (HBP) Request to Withdraw Funds from an RRSP for each eligible withdrawal.

Note

You are responsible for making sure that all HBP conditions are met. If you make a RRSP withdrawal under the HBP and a condition is not met, your RRSP withdrawal(s) may not be considered eligible. You will have to include part or all of the withdrawal(s) as income on your income tax return for the year you received the funds. If we have already assessed your income tax return for that year, we will reassess it to include the withdrawal(s). If you do not meet the conditions to participate in the HBP in the current year, you may be able to participate in future years.

Am I a resident of Canada?

You have to be a resident of Canada when you receive funds from your RRSPs under the HBP and up to the time you buy or build a qualifying home. For more information about residency status, see Residency status or call 1-800-959-8281 (toll free within Canada and the United States), or 613-940-8495 (from outside Canada and the United States). We accept collect calls by automated response. You may hear a beep and experience a normal connection delay.

If you become a non-resident after a qualifying home is bought or built, you cannot cancel your participation in the HBP. However, special rules will apply to the repayment of your HBP balance. For more information, see The HBP participant becomes a non-resident.

 

Forms and publications

Need assistance?

If you are unable to find the information you were looking for about this specific topic, please select the Contact us button.

Date modified:

Comment participer au régime d'accession à la propriété?

Pour participer au RAP, vous devez satisfaire à la fois aux conditions d’admissibilité au RAP et d’un retrait REER.

Sur cette page

Est-ce que vous remplissez les conditions d’admissibilité du RAP?

Ou

  • Vous devez avoir une entente écrite pour une personne handicapée qui vous est liée, ou pour aider une personne handicapée qui vous est liée à acheter ou à construire une habitation admissible (le fait d'obtenir une hypothèque pré–autorisée ne remplit pas cette condition).

Remarque

Si vous retirez des fonds de vos REER afin d’aider une personne handicapée qui vous est liée à acheter ou à construire une habitation admissible, c’est la personne handicapée qui vous est liée qui doit avoir une entente écrite.

  • Vous devez avoir l'intention d'occuper l'habitation admissible comme lieu principal de résidence dans l’année suivant l’achat ou la construction. Si vous achetez ou construisez une habitation admissible pour une personne handicapée qui vous est liée, ou si vous aidez une personne handicapée qui vous est liée à acheter ou à construire une habitation admissible, vous devez avoir l'intention que cette personne occupe l'habitation admissible comme lieu principal de résidence.

Dans toutes les situations, si vous avez participé au RAP par le passé, vous pouvez y participer à nouveau si le 1er janvier de l’année où vous avez effectué un retrait votre solde RAP est nul, et que vous remplissez toutes les conditions d'admissibilité du RAP.

Vous êtes l'acheteur d’une première habitation?

Sauf si vous êtes une personne handicapée ou si vous aidez une personne handicapée qui vous est liée à acheter ou à construire une habitation admissible, vous devez être un acheteur d’une première habitation pour retirer des fonds de vos REER pour acheter ou construire une habitation admissible.

Vous êtes considéré comme l’acheteur d’une première maison si au cours de la période de quatre ans, vous n’avez pas demeuré dans une habitation dont vous ou votre époux ou conjoint de fait étiez propriétaire.

Remarques

Même si vous ou votre époux ou conjoint de fait étiez propriétaire d’une habitation par le passé, vous pouvez être considéré comme l’acheteur d’une première habitation.

Si vous avez un époux ou conjoint de fait, il est possible que seulement l'un de vous soit considéré comme l'acheteur d'une première habitation.

La période de quatre ans

Commence le 1er janvier de la quatrième année avant l’année du retrait.

Se termine 31 jours avant la date du retrait.

Par exemple, si vous effectuez un retrait le 31 mars 2016, la période de quatre ans commence le 1er janvier 2012 et se termine le 29 février 2016.

Pouvez-vous participer au RAP plus tard?

Si vous n’êtes pas considéré comme l’acheteur d’une première habitation aujourd’hui, vous pourriez l’être plus tard lorsque la période de quatre ans se sera écoulée.

Par exemple, si en 2010 vous avez vendu la maison dans laquelle vous viviez antérieurement, vous pourriez participer au RAP en 2015 ou si vous avez vendu votre maison en 2011, vous pourriez participer au RAP en 2016.

Avez-vous construit ou acheter une habitation admissible?

Vous êtes considéré avoir acheté ou construit une habitation admissible si :

  • vous achetez ou construisez avant le 1er octobre de l'année qui suit l'année de vos retraits;
  • vous achetez ou construisez seul ou avec une ou plusieurs personnes.

Remarque

Vous construisez une habitation admissible, nous considérons que vous l'avez construite à la date où elle devient habitable.

Si vous n'achetez ou ne construisez pas l'habitation admissible avant le 1er octobre de l'année qui suit l'année de vos retraits, vous pouvez choisir soit :

Un bien de remplacement doit remplir les mêmes conditions qu'une habitation admissible. Pour nous aviser que vous achetez ou construisez une autre habitation, envoyez une lettre à l'adresse suivante :

Section des circuits de travail de pension
Centre de technologie d'Ottawa
875, chemin Heron
Ottawa ON K1A 1A2

Donnez votre nom, adresse et numéro d'assurance sociale, ainsi que l'adresse du bien de remplacement. Vous devez dire dans votre lettre que vous avez l'intention d'occuper le bien de remplacement comme lieu principal de résidence, un an après l'avoir acheté ou construit.

Remarque

Si vous avez déjà retiré de vos REER le montant maximum permis de 25 000 $ dans le cadre du RAP, vous ne pouvez pas faire d'autres retraits RAP pour acheter ou construire le bien de remplacement.

Prolongations pour acheter ou construire une habitation admissible ou un bien de remplacement

Si vous n'avez pas acheté ou construit l'habitation admissible mentionnée sur le formulaire T1036 (ou un bien de remplacement) avant le 1er octobre de l'année qui suit l'année de vos retraits, nous considérons que vous avez quand même respecté le délai si vous remplissez l'une ou l'autre des conditions suivantes :

  • Vous avez conclu une entente écrite, en vigueur le 1er octobre de l'année qui suit l'année de vos retraits, pour acheter une habitation admissible ou un bien de remplacement, et vous achetez l'habitation ou le bien de remplacement avant le 1er octobre de la deuxième année qui suit l'année de vos retraits. De plus, vous devez être résident du Canada jusqu'au moment où vous achetez l'habitation.
  • Vous aviez versé un montant après la date du premier retrait et avant le 1er octobre de l’année qui suit l'année de vos retraits, à des entrepreneurs ou à des fournisseurs (avec qui vous n’avez pas de lien de dépendance) pour des matériaux ou pour la construction de l’habitation qui était au moins égal au total de tous les retraits faits dans le cadre du RAP.

Participer au RAP pour une personne handicapée avec qui vous avez des liens?

Dans le cadre du RAP, l’habitation doit mieux adaptée aux besoins d'une personne handicapée que son domicile actuel. Vous pouvez retirer des fonds de votre REER dans le cadre du RAP pour acheter ou construire une maison, si :

  • vous êtes une personne handicapée;
  • vous achetez ou construisez une habitation pour une personne handicapée qui vous est liée;
  • vous aidez une personne handicapée qui vous est liée à acheter ou construire une habitation.

Peu importe la situation, vous devez vous assurer que toutes conditions d’admissibilité au RAP sont remplies.

Si, durant votre participation, une des conditions n'est pas remplie, votre retrait ne sera plus admissible et vous devrez en ajouter le montant comme revenu dans votre déclaration de revenus pour l'année où vous l'avez reçu.

Est-ce que mon RAP est à jour?

(Si vous n’avez jamais participé au RAP, cette partie ne s’applique pas.)

Si vous avez participé au RAP par le passé, vous pouvez y participer à nouveau si vous remplissez les deux conditions suivantes :

  • votre solde RAP est nul le 1er janvier de l'année où vous prévoyez faire un retrait dans le cadre du RAP;
  • vous remplissez toutes les autres conditions d'admissibilité au RAP qui s'appliquent à votre situation.

Nous considérons que votre solde RAP de votre dernière participation est nul lorsque le total des montants que vous avez désignés à titre de remboursements annuels au RAP et tout montant inclus dans vos revenus parce qu'aucun paiement requis pour une année donnée n'a été désigné à titre de remboursement a RAP, est égal au total des retraits admissibles que vous avez reçus de vos REER dans le cadre de votre participation au RAP.

Remarque

Les cotisations que vous avez versez à vos REER, RPAC ou RPD dans les 60 premiers jours de l'année et que vous désignez à titre de remboursements au RAP pour l'année précédente, réduiront votre solde RAP dans le but de déterminer si votre solde au 1er janvier de l'année courante est nul. Pour en savoir plus sur les désignations des remboursements au RAP, consultez rembourser vos retraits.

Est-ce que vous remplissez les conditions d’un retrait REER?

  • Vous devez être un résident du Canada au moment du retrait.
  • Vous devez recevoir ou être considéré comme ayant reçu tous les retraits dans la même année civile.
  • Vous ne pouvez pas retirer plus de 25 000 $.
  • Seule la personne qui a droit de recevoir des paiements d’un REER peut retirer des fonds d’un REER. Vous pouvez retirer des fonds de plus d’un REER pourvu que vous soyez le rentier de chacun des REER. L'émetteur de votre REER ne peut effectuer des retenues d’impôt si les montants retirés sont inférieurs à 25 000 $.
  • Normalement, vous ne serez pas autorisé à retirer des fonds d’un REER à rendement fermé ou d’un REER collectif.
  • Vos cotisations versées à un REER doivent demeurer au compte REER pour au moins 90 jours avant que vous puissiez les retirer pour participer au RAP. Si ce n’est pas le cas, les cotisations pourraient ne pas être déductibles pour aucune année.
  • Ni vous ni votre époux ou conjoint de fait ou la personne handicapée qui vous est liée ne devez être propriétaire de l’habitation admissible plus de 30 jours avant le retrait.
  • Vous devez avoir acheter ou construire une habitation admissible pour vous même, pour la personne handicapée qui vous est liée, ou pour aider une personne handicapée qui vous est liée à acheter ou à construire une habitation admissible avant le 1er octobre de l'année qui suit l'année de vos retraits.
  • Vous devez remplir le formulaire T1036, Régime d'accession à la propriété (RAP) Demande de retirer des fonds d'un REER pour chacun des retraits admissible.

Remarque

Vous devez vous assurer de rencontrer toutes les conditions d’admissibilité au RAP. Si vous effectuez un retrait REER dans le cadre RAP et une des conditions n'est pas remplie, votre retrait d’un REER ne sera peut-être pas admissible. Vous devrez ajouter une partie ou le total du retrait à votre revenu dans votre déclaration de revenus pour l'année où vous avez reçu les fonds. Si nous avons déjà établi une cotisation de votre déclaration de revenus pour cette année-là, nous établirons une nouvelle cotisation pour y inclure le ou les retraits. Si vous ne remplissez pas les conditions pour participer au RAP dans l'année courante, vous pourriez y participer de nouveau dans les années à venir.

Êtes-vous un résident du Canada

Vous devez être un résident du Canada au moment où vous recevez des fonds de vos REER dans le cadre du RAP, jusqu'au moment où vous achetez ou construisez une habitation admissible. Pour en savoir plus sur votre statut de résident, consultez Statut de résidence ou composer le 1-800-959-7383 (Canada et zone continentale des États-Unis), ou 613-940-8496 (appels de l’extérieur du Canada et de la zone continentale des États-Unis. Nous acceptons les appels à frais virés par réponse automatisée. Il se peut que vous entendiez un signal sonore et qu’il y ait un délai normal de connexion.

Si vous cessez d'être un résident du Canada après avoir acheté ou construit une habitation admissible, vous ne pouvez pas annuler votre participation au RAP. Toutefois, certaines règles s'appliquent quant au remboursement de votre solde RAP. Pour en savoir plus, consultez Le participant au RAP cesse de résider au Canada.

Formulaires et publications

Date de modification :