Setting up an RRSP

You set up a registered retirement savings plan through a financial institution such as a bank, credit union, trust or insurance company. Your financial institution will advise you on the types of RRSP and the investments they can contain.

You may want to set up a spousal or common-law partner RRSP. This type of plan can help ensure that retirement income is more evenly split between both of you. The benefit is greatest if a higher-income spouse or common-law partner contributes to an RRSP for a lower-income spouse or common-law partner. The contributor receives the short term benefit of the tax deduction for the contributions, while the annuitant, who is likely to be in a lower tax bracket during retirement, receives the income and reports it on his or her income tax and benefits return.

You may want to set up a self-directed RRSP if you prefer to build and manage your own investment portfolio by buying and selling a variety of different types of investments. For more information on eligible investments, see Self-directed RRSPs. If you are considering this type of RRSP, be sure to consult with your financial institution.

You make your RRSP contributions directly to the RRSP issuer. For more information, see Contributing to an RRSP.

Where can I find my RRSP deduction limit?

You can find your RRSP deduction limit by going to one of the following:

Forms and publications

Date modified:

Souscrire à un REER

Vous souscrivez à un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite par l'entremise d'une institution financière comme une banque, une société de fiducie, une caisse populaire ou une compagnie d'assurance. Votre institution financière vous informera des différents types de REER et de placements que vous pouvez obtenir.

Vous voulez peut-être souscrire à un REER au profit de votre époux ou conjoint de fait. Ce type de plan fait en sorte que le revenu de retraite est réparti plus également entre vous et votre époux ou conjoint de fait. Cela est plus avantageux lorsque le conjoint qui a le revenu le plus élevé cotise à un REER pour l'époux ou conjoint de fait au revenu moins élevé. Le cotisant au REER reçoit le bénéfice immédiat d'une déduction dans sa déclaration de revenus et de prestations, et le bénéficiaire, qui aura probablement un taux d'imposition moins élevé à la retraite, touchera le revenu et l'inclura dans sa déclaration de revenus et de prestations.

Vous voulez peut-être souscrire à un REER autogéré si vous préférez constituer et gérer les propres composantes de votre portefeuille en vendant et en achetant différentes catégories de placements. Pour en savoir plus sur les placements admissibles, consultez REER autogéré. Si vous considérez ce type de REER, veuillez communiquer avec votre institution financière.

Vous faites vos cotisations directement à l'émetteur du REER. Pour en savoir plus, consultez Cotiser à un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER).

Formulaires et publications

Date de modification :