Types of investments

Generally, the types of investments that are permitted in a TFSA are the same as those permitted in a registered retirement savings plan (RRSP). This would include:

  • cash;
  • mutual funds;
  • securities listed on a designated stock exchange;
  • guaranteed investment certificates;
  • bonds; and
  • certain shares of small business corporations.

Losses incurred within a TFSA investment

Depending on the type of investment held in your TFSA, you may incur a loss in your original investment. Any investment losses within a TFSA are not considered a withdrawal and therefore are not part of your TFSA contribution room.


Amanda opens a TFSA on March 20, 2014 and invests $5,000 in stocks. During the year the value of her stocks has decreased and on December 31, 2014 the fair market value of these stocks is $1,000. As a result, Amanda decides to withdraw the $1,000 left in her investment and close her TFSA.

The $4,000 loss that Amanda incurred during the year is not considered a “withdrawal”. The only amount that would form part of her TFSA room calculation is the $1,000 that was withdrawn when she closed her TFSA.

Foreign Funds

You can contribute foreign funds to a TFSA. However, your issuer will convert the funds to Canadian dollars (using the exchange rate on the date of the transaction), when reporting this information to us. The total amount of your contribution, in Canadian dollars, cannot exceed your TFSA contribution room.

If dividend income from a foreign country is paid to a TFSA, the dividend income could be subject to foreign withholding tax.

"In kind" contributions

You can also make "in kind" contributions (for example, securities you hold in a non-registered account) to your TFSA, as long as the property is a qualified investment.

You will be considered to have disposed of the property at its fair market value (FMV) at the time of the contribution. If the FMV is more than the cost of the property, you will have to report the capital gain on your income tax return. However, if the cost of the property is more than its FMV, you cannot claim the resulting capital loss. The amount of the contribution to your TFSA will be equal to the FMV of the property.

Transfer from your RRSP

If you transfer an investment from your RRSP to your TFSA, you will be considered to have withdrawn the investment from the RRSP at its FMV, and that amount will be reported as an RRSP withdrawal, and must be included in your income in that year. The tax withheld on the withdrawal can be claimed at line 437 of your income tax and benefit return. If the transfer into your TFSA takes place immediately, the same value will be used as the amount of the contribution to the TFSA. If the contribution to the TFSA is deferred, the amount of the contribution will be the FMV of the investment at the time of that contribution.

Except in certain circumstances, you cannot exchange securities for cash, or other securities of equal value, between your accounts, either between two registered accounts or between a registered and a non-registered account (swap).

Related topics

Date modified:

Types de placements

Généralement, les types de placements qui seront admissibles dans un CELI sont les mêmes que ceux admissibles dans un régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite (REER). Ces types deplacements comprennent les suivants :

  • argent comptant;
  • fonds communs de placement;
  • valeurs mobilières cotées à une bourse de valeur désignée;
  • certificats de placements garantis;
  • obligations;
  • certaines actions de sociétés exploitant une petite entreprises.

Pertes subies dans un placement CELI

Selon le type de placement détenus dans votre CELI, vous pouvez subir une perte de votre placement initial. Toute perte liée à un placement dans un CELI n'est pas considérée comme un retrait, et par conséquent, ne fait pas partie du calcul de vos droits de cotisation au CELI.

Exemple

Amanda a ouvert un CELI le 20 mars 2015 et a investi 5 000 $ dans des actions. Au cours de l’année, la valeur de ses actions a chuté et, le 31 décembre 2015, la juste valeur marchande de ses actions était réduite à 1 000 $. Amanda a donc décidé de retirer les 1 000 $ restants de son placement et de fermer son CELI.

La perte de 4 000 $ que Amanda a subie au cours de l’année n’est pas considérée comme un « retrait ». Le seul montant qui ferait partie du calcul des droits de cotisation au CELI est le 1 000 $ qu'Amanda a retiré lorsqu’elle a fermé son CELI.

Devises étrangères

Vous pouvez cotiser à votre CELI en utilisant des devises étrangères. Toutefois, votre émetteur convertira les devises en dollars canadiens à la date de la transaction lorsqu'il nous déclarera ces données. Le montant total de votre cotisation, en dollars canadiens, ne peut pas dépasser vos droits de cotisation à un CELI.

Si un revenu de dividendes d'un pays étranger est payé à un CELI, ce revenu pourrait être soumis à une retenue d'impôt étranger.

Cotisations « en biens »

Vous pouvez aussi faire des cotisations « en biens » (par exemple, des titres que vous détenez dans un compte non enregistré) dans votre CELI, pourvu que les biens soient des placements admissibles.

Nous considérerons alors que vous avez disposé des biens à leur juste valeur marchande (JVM) au moment de la cotisation. Si la JVM dépasse le coût du bien, vous devrez déclarer le gain en capital dans votre déclaration de revenus et de prestation. Cependant, si le coût du bien dépasse sa JVM, vous ne pourrez pas déclarer la perte en capital résultant de la transaction dans votre déclaration. Le montant de la cotisation à votre CELI sera égal à la JVM du bien.

Transfert de votre REER

Si vous transférez un placement de votre REER à votre CELI, nous considérerons que vous avez retiré le placement du REER à sa JVM. Le montant sera alors déclaré comme un retrait de REER et inclus comme revenu dans l’année. De l’impôt sera retenu à la source sur le retrait et vous pourrez le déduire à la ligne 437 de votre déclaration de revenus et de prestations. Si le transfert dans votre CELI a lieu immédiatement, la même valeur sera utilisée comme montant de cotisation au CELI. Si la cotisation au CELI a lieu plus tard, le montant cotisé au CELI sera la JVM du placement au moment de cette cotisation.

Sauf dans certaines circonstances, vous ne pouvez pas échanger des titres pour de l’argent comptant, ou pour d’autres titres de valeur égale entre vos comptes, ni entre deux comptes enregistrés ou entre un compte enregistré et un compte non-enregistré (opération de swap).

Sujets connexes

Date de modification :