TFSA excess amount correspondence explained

The CRA may send out a letter or a proposed TFSA return to Canadians who, under certain situations, may have over contributed to their TFSA. You may also receive a proposed TFSA return if you made contributions to your TFSA while you were not a resident of Canada.

TFSA excess amount letter

If you receive a TFSA excess amount letter and you have already removed the excess amount, you do not have to do anything else. If you have not removed the excess, it should be removed immediately. For information on your current year room limit, go to My Account (for your room limit as of January 1) or complete Form RC343, Worksheet - TFSA contribution room if you have contributed to your TFSA in the current year.

Proposed TFSA return package

The proposed TFSA return package normally includes the following:

  • Cover letter – It provides general information about TFSA rules and instructions regarding what you need to do to respond to the proposed return.
  • RC243-P, Proposed Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA) Return – This proposed TFSA return shows the taxes we have calculated and is based on the information we received from your issuers. The proposed TFSA return is not a formal assessment of tax.

Responding to the proposed return package

This proposed return does not represent a formal assessment of tax. Although you cannot file a notice of objection on a proposed TFSA return, the following options are available to you:

  1. If you agree with the information on the TFSA return, sign, date, and include your social insurance number. You can make your payment electronically, by going to My Payment—save time, pay online! We will issue an assessment based on this return.
  2. If you do not agree with the TFSA return and you would like us to review your situation, send a letter to the address indicated below. Include a detailed explanation and any additional documentation you may have about the excess contributions along with proof that your excess TFSA amount has been corrected.

    Canada Revenue Agency
    TFSA Processing Unit
    Post Office Box 9768 Station T
    Ottawa ON K1G 3X9 

We will review your request and send you a letter explaining our decision. If we do not receive a response from you, we will issue an assessment based on the information on file. This assessment will include any penalties and interest that may apply.

If you still disagree with our decision, see What should you do if you disagree with your assessment?

Waiver of the TFSA excess contribution tax

If you determined that you must pay a tax on your TFSA excess contributions, you may ask in writing that the CRA waive the tax if:

  • your excess contributions on which the tax is based arose due to a reasonable error; and
  • you are taking, or have taken, reasonable steps to eliminate the excess contributions.

To consider your request, we will need a letter from you that explains:

  • why you made excess contributions and why this is a reasonable error; and
  • what steps you have taken to eliminate the excess contributions.

All supporting documents should be included with your letter, such as copies of your TSFA account statements that identify the date you withdrew your excess contributions, as well as any other correspondence that shows that your excess contributions arose due to a reasonable error.

For more information on relief from the assessment of late-filing penalties and interest, see Information Circular IC07-1, Taxpayer Relief Provisions.

Forms and publications

Related links

Date modified:

Précisions sur la correspondance de l’excédent CELI

L'ARC peut envoyer une lettre ou une déclaration CELI proposée aux Canadiens qui, selon certaines situations, pourraient avoir versé des cotisations excédentaires à leur CELI. Vous pourriez également recevoir une déclaration CELI proposée si vous avez cotisé à votre CELI alors que vous étiez non-résident du Canada.

Lettre sur l’excédent CELI

Si vous recevez une lettre sur l’excédent CELI et qe vous avez déjà retiré l’excédent, vous n’avez aucune autre mesure à prendre. Si vous n’avez pas retiré l’excédent, vous devez le retirer immédiatement. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur votre plafond CELI de l’année en cours, allez à Mon dossier (pour votre limite au 1er janvier) ou remplissez le formulaire RC343, Feuille de calcul – Droits de cotisation à un CELI si vous avez cotisé à votre CELI dans l’année courante.

Trousse de la déclaration CELI proposée

La trousse de la déclaration CELI proposée comprend normalement les documents suivants :

  • La lettre d'accompagnement – Elle vous donne des renseignements généraux sur les règles CELI et les instructions sur ce que vous devez faire pour répondre à la déclaration proposée.
  • Le formulaire RC243-P, Déclaration Compte d'épargne libre d'impôt (CELI), proposée – Cette déclaration CELI proposée indique l'impôt que nous avons calculé selon les renseignements que nous avons reçus de votre ou vos émetteurs. La déclaration CELI n'est pas un avis de cotisation d'impôt official.

Répondre à la trousse de la déclaration CELI proposée

Cette déclaration proposée n'est pas un avis de cotisation d'impôt officiel. Bien que vous ne puissiez pas déposer un avis d'opposition à l'égard d'une déclaration proposée, les options suivantes s'offrent à vous :

  1. Si vous êtes d’accord avec les renseignements figurant dans la déclaration CELI, signez, datez et indiquez votre numéro d’assurance sociale. Vous pouvez effectuer votre paiement par voie électronique, en allant à Mon paiement—gagnez du temps, payez en ligne! Nous établirons une cotisation en fonction de cette déclaration.
  2. Si vous êtes en désaccord avec la déclaration CELI et que vous souhaitez que nous examinions votre situation, faites parvenir une lettre à l’adresse indiquée ci-dessous. Incluez une explication détaillée et des documents supplémentaires que vous pourriez avoir sur les cotisations excédentaires ainsi qu’une preuve que votre excédent a été corrigé.
     

    Agence du Revenu du Canada
    Unité de traitement CELI
    Case postale 9768 Succursale T
    Ottawa ON K1G 3X9

Nous examinerons votre demande et vous ferons parvenir une lettre faisant état de notre décision. Si nous ne recevons pas de réponse, nous établirons une cotisation en fonction des renseignements que nous avons. Cette cotisation comprendra toute pénalité et intérêt qui pourraient s’appliquer.

Si vous n'êtes toujours pas satisfait de notre décision, consultez Que faire si vous n'êtes pas d'accord avec votre cotisation?

Annulation de l'impôt sur les cotisations excédentaires à une CELI

Si vous avez déterminé que vous devez payer de l'impôt sur vos cotisations excédentaires à un CELI, vous pouvez nous demander par écrit d'annuler l'impôt si les conditions suivantes sont remplies :

  • les cotisations excédentaires sur lesquelles vous devez payer de l'impôt résultent d'une erreur raisonnable;
  • vous prenez ou avez pris des mesures raisonnables pour éliminer ces cotisations excédentaires.

Pour considérer votre demande, vous devez nous faire parvenir une lettre qui explique ce qui suit :

  • les raisons pour lesquelles vous avez des cotisations excédentaires et pourquoi ceci est une erreur raisonnable;
  • les mesures que vous prenez ou avez prises pour éliminer les cotisations excédentaires.

Joignez à cette lettre tous les documents à l'appui tels que des copies de vos états de compte de votre CELI indiquant la date où vous avez retiré vos cotisations excédentaires, ainsi que toute correspondance indiquant que vos cotisations excédentaires résultent d'une erreur raisonnable.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'allègement des pénalités et intérêts pour la production tardive, consultez la circulaire d'information IC07-1, Dispositions d'allègement pour les contribuables.

Formulaires et publications

Liens connexes

Date de modification :