Canadian Film or Video Production Tax Credit Program

The primary objective of the Canadian Film or Video Production Tax Credit (CPTC) is to encourage Canadian programming and to stimulate the development of an active domestic independent production sector. The CPTC program gives a tax credit to qualified corporations producing Canadian film or video productions. Canadian control requirements ensure that the incentive is available only to Canadian-controlled companies.

The CPTC program gives a refundable tax credit of 25% of qualified labour expenditures by a qualified corporation for the production of a Canadian film or video production. The qualified labour expenditures cannot be more than 60% of production cost, net of any assistance. The maximum credit available is therefore limited to 15% of production cost net of assistance. You cannot claim the CPTC for a production that gets a benefit under the Film or Video Production Services Tax Credit Program.

Topics about CPTC Program

The CPTC program is jointly administered by the Department of Canadian Heritage, through the Canadian Audio-Visual Certification Office (CAVCO), and by the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA).

The role of the CAVCO

The CAVCO is responsible for:

  • certifying that the production is a Canadian film or video production (CFVP); and
  • issuing certificates that allow Canadian producers to claim the CPTC.

The role of the CRA

The CRA verifies the qualified labour expenditures used in determining the CPTC. We are responsible for:

  • helping CPTC claimants;
  • interpreting and applying section 125.4 of the Income Tax Act and all other provisions in the Act and the Income Tax Regulations that may have an impact on the CPTC;
  • reviewing or auditing CPTC claims within a reasonable time frame;
  • assessing the corporation's T2 income tax return; and
  • issuing timely refund cheques.

As co-administrator of this program, and in accordance with our mandate, we are responsible for ensuring that corporations claiming this tax credit are qualified corporations and that the amounts claimed comply with the Act and the Regulations.

Forms and publications

Related Topics

Government Partners

Date modified:

Programme du crédit d'impôt pour production cinématographique ou magnétoscopique canadienne

L'objectif principal du crédit d'impôt pour production cinématographique ou magnétoscopique canadienne (CIPC) est de favoriser les productions canadiennes et, plus généralement, l'essor du secteur du film et de la vidéo. Le programme de CIPC fournit un crédit d'impôt aux sociétés admissibles qui produisent des films ou des vidéos canadiens. Les exigences relatives au contrôle canadien permettent de garantir que l'incitatif n'est offert qu'aux sociétés sous contrôle canadien.

Le programme de CIPC fournit un crédit d'impôt remboursable de 25 % des dépenses de main-d'œuvre admissibles par une société admissible pour la production d'une vidéo ou d'un film canadien. Cependant, les dépenses de main-d'œuvre admissibles ne peuvent pas dépasser 60 % du coût de production, déduction faite de toute aide reçue. Le crédit maximum offert est donc limité à 15 % du coût de production, déduction faite du montant d'aide reçu. Le CIPC ne peut pas être demandé pour une production qui bénéficie d'un crédit d'impôt dans le cadre du Programme de crédit d'impôt pour services de production cinématographique ou magnétoscopique.

Sujets concernant le Programme du CIPC

Le programme du CIPC est administré conjointement par le ministère du Patrimoine canadien, par l'entremise du Bureau de certification des produits audiovisuels canadiens (BCPAC), ainsi que par l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC).

Le rôle du BCPAC

Le BCPAC a la responsabilité :

  • de certifier que la production est une production cinématographique ou magnétoscopique canadienne (PCMC);
  • d'émettre des certificats qui permettront aux producteurs canadiens de demander le CIPC.

Le rôle de l'ARC

C'est à l'ARC qu'il revient de valider la dépense de main-d'oeuvre admissible aux fins du calcul du CIPC. Voici nos responsabilités :

  • aider les clients qui font une demande de CIPC;
  • interpréter et appliquer l'article 125.4 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu et toutes les autres dispositions de la Loi et du Règlement de l'impôt sur le revenu qui peuvent avoir une incidence sur le CIPC;
  • réviser ou vérifier les demandes de CIPC dans un délai raisonnable;
  • établir la cotisation des déclarations de revenus des sociétés (T2);
  • émettre les chèques de remboursement dans les délais prévus.

En sa qualité de coadministrateur du programme et en conformité avec le mandat qui lui a été confié, l'ARC doit s'assurer que les sociétés qui demandent ce crédit d'impôt sont des sociétés admissibles et que les sommes demandées respectent la Loi et le Règlement.

Formulaires et publications

Sujets connexes

Partenaires gouvernementaux

Date de modification :