Dispositions of property

This page provides information for emigrants of Canada on deemed dispositions of property.

Deemed dispositions

If you ceased to be a resident of Canada in 2015, you were deemed to have disposed of certain types of property at their fair market value (FMV) when you left Canada and to have immediately reacquired them for the same amount. This is called a deemed disposition.

This applies to most properties. Some of the exceptions are:

  • Canadian real or immovable property, Canadian resource property, and timber resource property. For more information, go to the note below;
  • Canadian business property (including inventory) if the business is carried on through a permanent establishment in Canada. For more information, go to the note below;
  • pensions and similar rights, including registered retirement savings plans (RRSPs), pooled registered pension plans (PRPPs), registered retirement income funds (RRIFs), registered education savings plans (RESPs), registered disability savings plans (RDSPs), tax-free savings accounts (TFSAs), and deferred profit-sharing plans (DPSPs);
  • rights to certain benefits under employee profit-sharing plans, employee benefit plans, employee trusts, employee life and health trusts, and salary deferral arrangements;
  • certain rights or interests in a trust;
  • property you owned when you last became a resident of Canada, or property you inherited after you last became a resident of Canada, if you were a resident of Canada for 60 months or less during the 10-year period before you emigrated;
  • employee security options subject to Canadian tax; and
  • interests in life insurance policies in Canada (other than segregated fund policies).

Note

You may elect to declare a deemed disposition on the first two properties listed above. To declare a deemed disposition on these properties, complete Form T2061A, Election by an Emigrant to Report Deemed Dispositions of Property and any Resulting Capital Gain or Loss.

Reporting the deemed disposition

On your 2015 return, you have to report the capital gain or capital loss that results from your deemed disposition.

To calculate your capital gain (or loss) for a deemed disposition of property, complete Form T1243, Deemed Disposition of Property by an Emigrant of Canada.

Include on your Schedule 3, Capital Gains (or Losses) in 2015, the capital gain (or loss) that you reported on Form T1243.

List of properties

If the fair market value (FMV) of all the property you owned when you left Canada was more than $25,000, complete Form T1161, List of Properties by an Emigrant of Canada, to list all of your properties inside and outside Canada and attach it to your 2015 return.

Exclude from your list any personal-use property valued at less than $10,000. Examples of personal-use properties are:

  • clothing;
  • household goods;
  • collectibles; and
  • cars.

Note

All amounts are in Canadian dollars.

File your tax return by the filing due date. The penalty for failing to file Form T1161 by the due date is $25 per day you are late. There is a minimum penalty of $100, and a maximum penalty of $2,500.

Note

Even if you do not have to file a return, you must send Form T1161 on or before your filing due date.

Deferring the tax owing

You can elect to defer the payment of tax on income relating to the deemed disposition of property, regardless of the amount. You would then pay the tax later, without interest, when you sell (or otherwise dispose of) the property. This election does not apply to the deemed disposition of an employee benefit plan.

To make this election, complete Form T1244, Election, Under Subsection 220(4.5) of the Income Tax Act, to Defer the Payment of Tax on Income Relating to the Deemed Disposition of Property.

If you make this election for 2015, you must do so on or before April 30 of the year after you emigrate from Canada.

If you make this election for 2015 and the amount of federal tax owing on income from the deemed disposition of property is more than $14,500 ($12,107.50 for former residents of Quebec), you have to provide us with adequate security acceptable to cover the amount. You may also be required to provide security to cover any applicable provincial or territorial tax payable.

Contact the CRA as soon as possible to make acceptable arrangements before April 30.

What if you return to Canada?

Unwinding a deemed disposition

If you ceased to be a resident of Canada after October 1, 1996, and you later re-establish Canadian residency for income tax purposes, you can elect to make an adjustment to the deemed dispositions you reported when you emigrated from Canada. We refer to this as an election to “unwind” a previous deemed disposition.

You can make this election to unwind if you still own some or all of the property that was deemed disposed of when you emigrated. If you make this election for taxable Canadian property, you can reduce the gain reported on your tax return for the year you emigrated by an amount you specify, up to the amount of the gain you reported.

If you make this election for property other than taxable Canadian property, you can reduce the amount of the proceeds of disposition that you reported on your tax return for the year you emigrated by the least of:

  • the amount of the gain reported on your tax return for the year you emigrated;
  • the fair market value (FMV) of the property on the date you returned to Canada; or
  • any other amount to a maximum of the lesser of the above-noted amounts.

Note

The definition of taxable Canadian property changed on March 5, 2010. As a result, property that was considered taxable Canadian property when you became a non-resident may no longer be considered taxable Canadian property when you return to Canada. If this is the case, special rules may apply. For more information, contact the CRA.

The election to unwind may result in the reduction or elimination of the tax owing for the gain from the previously reported deemed disposition of property on emigration. If you make this election and you had previously elected to defer payment of the tax owing on the income from the deemed disposition, some or all of the security you may have provided may be returned to you.

You can make this election by sending the International and Ottawa Tax Services Office your request in writing on or before your filing-due date for the year you re-establish Canadian residency for income tax purposes. You must also include a list of the properties you own and the FMV of each property to which this election applies.

Previously deferred tax

When you immigrate to Canada, you are generally considered to have disposed of, and to have immediately reacquired, most properties you own on the date you immigrate. If you had previously elected to defer payment of the tax owing on the gain from the deemed disposition of property on other than taxable Canadian property on emigration, you may now have to pay the deferred tax.

For more information, contact the CRA.

Disposing of property after you emigrate from Canada

As a non-resident, you may have disposed of, or plan to dispose of, taxable Canadian property such as:

  • Canadian real or immovable property;
  • Canadian business property; or
  • unlisted shares of Canadian corporations.

For the procedures you must follow, go to Disposing of or acquiring certain Canadian property, or read Disposing of certain types of Canadian property in Guide T4058, Non-residents and Income Tax. You can also refer to Information Circular IC72-17, Procedures Concerning the Disposition of Taxable Canadian Property by Non-Residents of Canada – Section 116.

Forms and publications

Date modified:

Dispositions de biens

Cette page fournit des renseignements pour les émigrants du Canada sur la disposition réputée de biens.

Dispositions réputées

Si vous avez cessé d'être résident du Canada en 2013, nous considérons que vous avez disposé, au moment de quitter le Canada, de certains types de biens à leur juste valeur marchande (JVM) et que vous les avez immédiatement réacquis au même montant. C'est ce que nous appelons une disposition réputée.

Cette règle s'applique à la plupart des biens à l'exception notamment des biens suivants :

  • les biens immeubles ou réels situés au Canada, les avoirs miniers canadiens et les avoirs forestiers (lisez la remarque ci-dessous);
  • les biens utilisés dans une entreprise canadienne (incluant ceux qui figurent à l'inventaire) si l'entreprise est exploitée par l'intermédiaire d'un établissement stable au Canada (lisez la remarque ci-dessous);
  • les droits de pension et autres droits semblables, y compris les droits au titre des régimes enregistrés d'épargne-retraite (REER), des régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC), des fonds enregistrés de revenu de retraite (FERR), des régimes enregistrés d'épargne-études (REEE), des régimes enregistrés d'épargne-invalidité (REEI), des comptes d'épargne libre d'impôt (CELI) et des régimes de participation différée aux bénéfices (RPDB);
  • les droits à certaines prestations aux termes de régimes de participation des employés aux bénéfices, de régimes de prestations aux employés, de fiducies d'employés, de fiducies de soins de santé au bénéfice d'employés, et d'ententes d'échelonnement du traitement;
  • certaines participations et certains droits dans des fiducies;
  • les biens que vous possédiez la dernière fois que vous êtes devenu résident du Canada ou dont vous avez hérité après être devenu résident du Canada la dernière fois, si vous avez été résident du Canada pendant 60 mois ou moins dans les 10 ans précédant votre émigration;
  • les options d'achat de titres accordées à des employés, assujetties à l'impôt canadien;
  • les intérêts dans des polices d'assurance-vie au Canada (sauf les polices à fonds réservés).

Remarque

Vous pouvez choisir de déclarer une disposition réputée pour les deux premiers types de biens énumérés ci-dessus. Pour déclarer une disposition réputée de ces biens, remplissez le formulaire T2061A, Choix, exercé par un émigrant, de déclarer la disposition réputée d'un bien et le gain en capital ou la perte en capital s'y rapportant.

Déclaration d'une disposition réputée

Vous devez déclarer tout gain en capital que vous avez réalisé ou toute perte en capital que vous avez subie à la suite de la disposition réputée de vos biens dans votre déclaration de 2013.

Remplissez le formulaire T1243, Disposition réputée de biens par un émigrant du Canada, pour calculer vos gains (ou pertes) en capital découlant de la disposition réputée de vos biens.

Inscrivez à l'annexe 3, Gains (ou pertes) en capital en 2013, vos gains (ou pertes) en capital calculés sur le formulaire T1243.

Liste des biens

Si le total de la juste valeur marchande (JVM) de tous les biens que vous possédiez le jour où vous avez quitté le Canada dépassait 25 000 $, remplissez le formulaire T1161, Biens possédés par un émigrant du Canada, pour y inscrire tous vos biens au Canada et à l'étranger et joignez-le à votre déclaration de revenus de 2013.

N'incluez pas dans cette liste tout bien à usage personnel d'une valeur inférieure à 10 000 $. Voici des exemples de biens à usage personnel :

  • vêtements;
  • articles de ménage;
  • automobiles.

Remarque

Tous ces montants sont en dollars canadiens.

Envoyez-nous votre déclaration au plus tard à la date limite de production de celle-ci. La pénalité que nous imposons si vous produisez le formulaire T1161 en retard est de 25 $ par jour de retard. La pénalité minimale est de 100 $ et la pénalité maximale est de 2 500 $.

Remarque

Même si vous n'êtes pas tenu de produire une déclaration, vous devez envoyer le formulaire T1161 au plus tard à la date limite pour l'année visée.

Report de l'impôt à payer

Vous pouvez choisir de reporter le paiement de tout montant d'impôt dû relativement à la disposition réputée de vos biens. Ce choix vous permet de payer le montant d'impôt dû, sans intérêts, seulement au moment où vous vendrez vos biens ou en disposerez autrement. Ce choix ne s'applique pas à la disposition réputée d'un régime de prestations aux employés.

Pour faire ce choix, remplissez le formulaire T1244 , Choix, en vertu du paragraphe 220(4.5) de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu, de reporter le paiement de l'impôt sur le revenu relatif à la disposition réputée de biens.

Si vous faites ce choix pour 2013, vous devez le faire au plus tard le 30 avril 2014.

Lorsque vous faites ce choix pour 2013 et que le montant de l'impôt fédéral dû relatif à la disposition réputée de biens dépasse 14 500 $ (12 107,50 $ si vous résidiez au Québec), vous devez nous fournir une garantie suffisante acceptable pour couvrir le montant. Vous aurez peut-être aussi à fournir une garantie pour couvrir l'impôt provincial ou territorial à payer.

Communiquez avec nous aussitôt que possible pour prendre les dispositions nécessaires avant le 30 avril 2014 .

Si vous revenez au Canada

Rétrocession d'une disposition réputée

Si vous avez cessé de résider au Canada après le 1er octobre 1996 et que vous redevenez résident du Canada aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu, vous pouvez faire le choix de rajuster la disposition réputée que vous avez déclarée lorsque vous avez émigré du Canada. Vous faites alors le choix de « rétrocéder » une disposition réputée précédente.

Vous pouvez exercer ce choix si vous possédez la totalité ou une partie du bien dont vous êtes réputé avoir disposé lorsque vous avez émigré. Si vous exercez ce choix concernant des biens canadiens imposables, vous pouvez réduire le gain déclaré dans votre déclaration de revenus pour l'année de votre départ d'un montant que vous indiquez jusqu'au montant du gain que vous avez déclaré.

Si vous exercez ce choix, le gain provenant de la disposition réputée concernant un bien autre qu'un bien canadien imposable que vous avez déclaré dans votre déclaration de revenus pour l'année de votre départ peut être réduit du moins élevé des montants suivants :

  • le montant du gain déclaré dans votre déclaration de revenus pour l'année de votre départ;
  • la juste valeur marchande (JVM) des biens à votre date de retour au Canada;
  • tout autre montant, jusqu'au moins élevé des montants ci-dessus.

Remarque

La définition d'un bien canadien imposable a changé le 5 mars 2010. En conséquence, un bien qui était considéré comme un bien canadien imposable lorsque vous êtes devenu un non-résident pourrait ne plus être considéré comme un bien canadien imposable lorsque vous revenez au Canada. Si c'est le cas, des règles spéciales pourraient s'appliquer. Pour en savoir plus, communiquez avec nous.

Le choix de rétrocéder peut réduire ou éliminer l'impôt à payer sur le gain provenant d'une disposition réputée des biens déclarée antérieurement au moment de l'émigration. Si vous exercez ce choix et que vous aviez précédemment choisi de reporter le paiement de l'impôt à payer sur le revenu provenant de la disposition réputée, la garantie que vous pourriez avoir fournie pourrait vous être retournée, en tout ou en partie.

Vous pouvez exercer ce choix en envoyant votre demande par écrit au Bureau des services fiscaux international et d'Ottawa, au plus tard à la date limite de production de votre déclaration pour l'année où vous êtes redevenu résident du Canada aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu. Vous devez également joindre une liste des biens que vous possédez et y indiquer la JVM de chacun des biens visés par ce choix.

Impôt reporté précédemment

Lorsque vous immigrez au Canada, vous êtes généralement réputé avoir cédé et immédiatement acquis de nouveau la plupart des biens que vous possédez à la date où vous immigrez. Si vous aviez précédemment choisi de reporter le paiement de l'impôt à payer sur le revenu provenant de la disposition réputée des biens autres que des biens canadiens imposables, à votre départ du Canada, vous pourriez maintenant avoir à payer l'impôt reporté.

Pour en savoir plus, communiquez avec nous.

Disposition de biens après que vous avez émigré

En tant que non-résident, il se peut que vous ayez disposé ou que vous envisagiez de disposer d'un bien canadien imposable, par exemple :

  • les biens immeubles ou réels situés au Canada;
  • les biens utilisés dans une entreprise canadienne;
  • les actions du capital-actions d'une société résidant au Canada non cotées à la bourse.

Pour les procédures à suivre, allez à Disposition ou acquisition de certains biens canadiens, ou lisez « Disposition de certain types de biens canadiens », dans le guide T4058, Les non-résidents et l'impôt. Vous pouvez aussi consulter la circulaire d'information IC72-17, Procédures concernant la disposition de biens canadiens imposables par des non-résidents du Canada - Article 116 .

Formulaires et publications

Date de modification :