Enhanced financial account information reporting

These pages provide information for Canadian financial institutions and their account holders to help them understand the administrative aspects of the intergovernmental agreement between Canada and the U.S., signed on February 5, 2014.

In March 2010, the U.S. enacted the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA). FATCA would require non-U.S. financial institutions to report to the U.S. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) accounts held by U.S. persons.

Under the intergovernmental agreement, relevant information on accounts held by U.S. residents and U.S. citizens (including U.S. citizens who are residents or citizens of Canada) are instead reported to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). The CRA then exchanges the information with the IRS through the existing provisions and safeguards of the Canada-U.S. tax treaty.


Consistent with similar views expressed in IRS Notice 2014-33, calendar years 2014 and 2015 are regarded by the CRA as a transition period in connection with its administration of Part XVIII. With respect to any deficiency in this transition period, the CRA will take account of the extent to which a Canadian financial institution has made good faith efforts to comply with the requirements of Part XVIII.


Consistent with IRS Notice 2016-08, payments that are gross proceeds made by a reporting Canadian financial institution to a nonparticipating financial institution (NPFI) during the 2015 year may, but are not required to, be reported to the CRA.

For more information

Department of Finance Canada

U.S. Internal Revenue Service

Electronic mailing list

Subscribe to Enhanced financial account information reporting electronic mailing list to receive an email notice when new or updated information is posted to our website.

If you have any questions, please contact us.

Date modified:

Déclaration améliorée de renseignements sur les comptes financiers

Les présentes pages donnent des renseignements aux institutions financières canadiennes et à leurs titulaires de compte afin de les aider à comprendre les aspects administratifs liés à l’accord intergouvernemental entre le Canada et les É.-U. conclu le 5 février 2014.

En mars 2010, les É.-U. ont promulgué la loi intitulée Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA). Cette loi exige que les institutions financières non américaines déclarent à l’Internal Revenue Service (IRS) des É.-U. les comptes détenus par des contribuables américains.

Conformément à l’accord, les renseignements pertinents concernant les comptes détenus par des résidents des É.-U. ou des citoyens américains (y compris les citoyens américains qui sont résidents ou citoyens du Canada) sont plutôt fournis à l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC). L’ARC transmet ensuite les renseignements à l’IRS selon les dispositions et les mesures de protection qui sont déjà prévues par la Convention fiscale Canada- É.-U.

Avis

Conformément aux vues similaires exprimées dans l’avis 2014-33 de l’IRS, les années civiles 2014 et 2015 sont considérées par l’ARC comme une période de transition dans le cadre de l’administration de la partie XVIII. En ce qui concerne toute déficience en cette période de transition, l’ARC tiendra compte de la mesure dans laquelle une institution financière canadienne a fait des efforts de bonne foi pour se conformer aux exigences de la partie XVIII.

Avis

Conformément à l’avis 2016-08 de l’IRS, le versement d’un produit brut total fait par une institution financière canadienne déclarante à une institution financière non participante (IFNP) au cours de l'année 2015 peut ne pas être déclaré à l'ARC.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Ministère des Finances Canada

Internal Revenue Service des É.-U.

Liste d’envois électroniques

Abonnez vous à la liste d’envois électroniques – Déclaration améliorée de renseignements sur les comptes financiers afin de recevoir un avis par courriel lorsque des renseignements nouveaux ou mis à jour sont affichés dans notre site Web.

Si vous désirez de l'aide, contactez-nous.

Date de modification :