Information for entities with accounts with Canadian financial institutions

This information is for corporations, trusts, partnerships, and other organizations (referred to in this document as entities) that hold or want to open an account with a financial institution in Canada. If you are a sole proprietorship, see the information for individuals with accounts with Canadian financial institutions.

Under the agreement, Canadian financial institutions have to identify and report on certain account holders that are U.S. entities and certain entity account holders that have controlling persons who are U.S. residents or U.S. citizens. For example, a corporation may be asked to indicate where it is incorporated, the nature of its activities, and whether it is controlled by U.S. citizens or U.S. resident individuals.

These requirements are in addition to obligations that may exist under other regulatory regimes, such as for anti-money laundering purposes.

Why have new requirements been implemented?

Canadian financial institutions have long been required to understand the tax status of account holders and others they deal with. In the past, tax residency was often determined based on information at hand, such as address information, without more direct enquiries.

Under the agreement, Canadian financial institutions have to report new information to the CRA.

The new requirements aim to find out whether an entity account holder has significant links to the U.S., for example, because the entity is a U.S. corporation or is controlled by an individual who is a U.S. person for U.S. tax purposes (for example, a U.S. resident or a U.S. citizen). The requirements stem from the new agreement between Canada and the U.S. to improve tax compliance. For more information, see the Intergovernmental Agreement for the Enhanced Exchange of Tax Information under the Canada-U.S. Tax Convention.

In some circumstances, financial institutions rely on information already in their records or that is publicly available indicating that the entity or one or more of its controlling persons may be a U.S. person. Financial institutions can also ask their clients to provide a certification to declare whether they are a U.S. person. Financial institutions are required to send to the CRA information on account holders who do not cooperate with requests for information (The information is similar to that reported about U.S. account holders.) The CRA then sends the information to the IRS.

The CRA has not developed a form for Canadian financial institutions to use in collecting the information under the agreement. Instead, financial institutions can design solutions that are tailored to their particular businesses, as long as they get the required information.

The following questions and answers address questions that may be asked by financial institutions about an entity’s residency status.

What information can a financial institution ask for?

With respect to entity account holders, a financial institution applying the due diligence rules of the agreement is required to determine whether the account holder is:

  • a U.S. person and, if so, whether it is a specified U.S. person;
  • a financial institution and, if so, whether it is of a particular type; or
  • a non-financial foreign entity (or NFFE for short) and, if so, whether it is a passive NFFE.

If the account holder is a passive NFFE, the financial institution must identify any individual that is a U.S. person that is a controlling person of the account holder.

These are unfamiliar terms, what do they mean?

In addition to any instructions given by Canadian financial institutions, the following guidance may help you to complete any required certification.

U.S. person

An entity may be asked whether it is a U.S. person. Generally speaking, an entity is a U.S. person if it is:

  • a corporation or partnership organized in the U.S. or a U.S. state;
  • a trust subject to U.S. law that is controlled by one or more U.S. citizens or U.S. residents for tax purposes; or
  • a testamentary trust of a decedent that was a U.S. citizen or a U.S. resident for tax purposes at the time of death.

A corporation that was incorporated in Canada, or organized in any other place outside of the U.S., is not generally a U.S. person.

For more information on the classification of taxpayers for U.S. tax purposes, see the IRS publication Classification of Taxpayers for U.S. Tax Purposes.

Specified U.S. person

An entity that is a U.S. person is not a specified U.S. person if it is a corporation whose stock is regularly traded on an established securities market, or if it is a U.S. government or agency. A specified U.S. person also does not include most entities that fall into any of the following categories:

  • a trust or organization exempt from taxation;
  • a bank, real estate investment trust, regulated investment company, common trust fund, or securities or commodities dealer; or
  • a corporation that is related to a corporation whose stock is publicly traded.

If an entity falls into one of these categories, it should consult the definition of specified U.S. person in subparagraph 1(ff) of Article 1 of the Intergovernmental Agreement for the Enhanced Exchange of Tax Information under the Canada-U.S. Tax Convention to properly assess whether it can certify that it is not a specified U.S. person.

Non-financial foreign entity (NFFE)

All entities are NFFEs except financial institutions and U.S. persons. Therefore, all Canadian and other non-U.S. entities that are not financial institutions are NFFEs.

Example

Bill is a carpenter whose business is incorporated in Canada. Since the corporation is not a U.S. person and not a financial institution, it is an NFFE.

Passive non-financial foreign entity (passive NFFE)

An NFFE can be either a passive NFFE or an active NFFE. A passive NFFE is any NFFE that is not an active NFFE.

Canadian corporations (that are not financial institutions) that carry on an active trade or business are generally active NFFEs. Entities that do not engage in substantive business activities to produce a good or service are generally passive NFFEs.

An active NFFE also includes:

  • a public corporation with shares that regularly trade on an established securities exchange (for example, the TSX or the NYSE);
  • an entity related to a public corporation described above;
  • a registered charity;
  • a government (or an agency or instrumentality thereof) that performs functions of a governmental nature;
  • a start-up entity investing in assets with the intent of operating a business (other than a business of making or managing investments), if the entity was incorporated or otherwise organized less than 24 months before it relies on this criteria to certify it status.

For example, a Canadian corporation that is exclusively dedicated to running a restaurant, hair salon, car dealership, or factory is engaged in an active pursuit is an active NFFE. On the other hand, a personal investment corporation or trust that holds investments to produce passive income is a passive NFFE.

Passive income is generally understood to include income from the mere holding of investment property, such as interest, dividends, and rent.

A business corporation or other entity can be involved in multiple activities or hold a combination of assets, which may make it more difficult to know whether it should be categorized as an active NFFE. For example, a corporation may be carrying on an active business but also earning significant income from portfolio holdings. It is an active NFFE as long as the entity earned less than 50% of its gross income in its last fiscal year from passive income and less than 50% of its assets held during that year were held to generate passive income (the passive income/asset test).

Example

Michele is a professional photographer and her business is incorporated as ABC Photo in Alberta. She is the sole shareholder of the corporation. In its last fiscal year, 70% of ABC Photo's income was from fees and commissions and 30% was from passive income in the form of interest and dividends from assets owned by ABC Photo that represent 25% of its total assets.

ABC Photo is an active NFFE.

Example

Joe is an optometrist whose practice is incorporated in Quebec. He is the sole shareholder of the corporation. He is preparing to retire and has reduced the number of hours he works, so the portfolio owned by the corporation now earns more income from investment assets than from fees for service. As reported last fiscal year, 40% of the corporation's income is from fees and 60% is passive income from investment assets.

Joe's corporation is a passive NFFE.

If an entity needs more information to decide whether it is a passive NFFE, then it should consult the definitions of passive NFFE and active NFFE in Section VI of Annex I of the Intergovernmental Agreement for the Enhanced Exchange of Tax Information under the Canada-U.S. Tax Convention before certifying its status. The CRA Guidance for Canadian Financial Institutions may also be helpful.

Financial institution

An entity that holds a financial account at a financial institution in Canada may be asked to declare whether it is itself a financial institution. Not all entities in the financial sector are considered financial institutions.

To be a financial institution, an entity must be a custodial institution, a depository institution, an investment entity, or an insurance company that offers insurance contracts with an investment component or annuity contracts. Further guidance on what entities are financial institutions is available on the CRA Guidance for Canadian Financial Institutions.

Sub-categories

If an entity is a financial institution, it may be asked to specify what sub-category of financial institution it falls into. This is particularly true in connection with establishing whether a financial institution is a non-participating financial institution. It is also relevant to financial institutions that are or will be receiving U.S. source payments and have to give sub-category information to U.S. withholding agents.

At the time this document was last published no Canadian financial institution was known to be classified as a non-participating financial institution. The IRS website lists any institution that it considers to be a non-participating financial institution as a result of significant non-compliance.

More information on what it means to be a non-participating financial institution is available in the CRA Guidance for Canadian Financial Institutions.

Controlling person of a passive NFFE who is a U.S. person for U.S. tax purposes

If an entity is a passive NFFE, you have to identify whether any of its controlling persons are U.S. persons for U.S. tax purposes.

Controlling persons

Controlling persons of an entity means the individuals (natural persons) who exercise control over the entity. Whether any person exercises control over an entity is determined based on the particular situation in a manner consistent with how beneficial owners are identified for the purposes of Canada's Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act.

Generally speaking, a person is not considered a controlling person of an entity (other than a trust) unless they are at least a 25% owner.

Date modified:

Renseignements pour les entités détentrices de comptes dans des institutions financières canadiennes

Les présents renseignements sont destinés à des sociétés, des fiducies, des sociétés de personnes et d’autres organisations (désignées dans le présent document comme des entités) qui détiennent un compte financier dans une institution financière au Canada ou qui veulent en ouvrir un. Si vous êtes une entreprise individuelle, consulter les renseignements pour les particuliers détenteurs de comptes dans des institutions financières canadiennes.

Selon l’accord, les institutions financières canadiennes doivent déterminer et déclarer les titulaires de certains comptes qui sont des entités américaines et certaines entités titulaires de comptes dont des résidents des É.-U. ou des citoyens américains détiennent le contrôle. Par exemple, une société peut être invitée à indiquer où elle est constituée en personne morale, la nature de ses activités, et si elle est contrôlée par des citoyens américains ou des particuliers résidant aux É.-U.

Ces exigences s’ajoutent aux obligations qui peuvent exister sous d’autres régimes de réglementation, comme à des fins de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent.

Pourquoi de nouvelles exigences sont-elles mises en œuvre?

Les institutions financières canadiennes sont depuis longtemps tenues de comprendre la situation fiscale des titulaires de comptes et d’autres avec qui elles font affaire. Par le passé, la résidence fiscale souvent était souvent déterminée en fonction des renseignements déjà disponibles, comme les renseignements sur l’adresse, sans émettre de demandes de renseignements de nature plus directe.

Selon l’accord, les institutions financières canadiennes doivent déclarer de nouveaux renseignements à l’ARC.

Les nouvelles exigences visent à déterminer si une entité titulaire de compte a des liens importants aux É.-U., comme dans le cas où une entité est une société des É.-U. ou contrôlée par un particulier qui est une personne des É.-U. aux fins de l’impôt des É.-U (par exemple, un résident ou un citoyen américain). Les exigences découlent du nouvel accord entre le Canada et les É.-U. afin d’améliorer l’observation aux fins des impôts. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l’accord, consultez l’Accord intergouvernemental d’amélioration de l’échange des renseignements fiscaux en vertu de la Convention fiscale Canada- États-Unis.

Dans certaines circonstances, une institution financière compte sur les renseignements qu’elle possède déjà dans ses dossiers ou d’autres documents publics qui indiquent qu’une entité ou l’une ou plusieurs des personnes détenant le contrôle de l’entité peut être une personne des É.-U. Une institution financière peut également demander à un client de fournir une attestation déclarant qu’il est une personne des É.-U. Les institutions financières doivent envoyer à l’ARC des renseignements sur les titulaires de comptes qui ne coopèrent pas avec les demandes de renseignements (ces renseignements sont semblables à ceux déclarés au sujet des détenteurs de comptes américains). L’ARC transmet ensuite ces renseignements à l’IRS.

L’ARC n’a pas créé de formulaire pour permettre aux institutions financières de recueillir les renseignements visés par l’accord. Les institutions financières peuvent cependant élaborer des solutions qui sont bien adaptées à leurs propres entreprises dans la mesure où cela leur permet d’obtenir les renseignements requis.

La foire aux questions suivante aborde des questions qu’une institution financière pourrait se poser sur le statut de résidence d’une entité.

Quels renseignements une institution financière peut-elle demander à une entité titulaire de compte?

En ce qui concerne les entités titulaires de compte, en appliquant les règles en matière de diligence raisonnable prévues à l’accord, une institution financière est tenue de déterminer si une entité titulaire de compte est :

  • une personne des É.-U. et, dans l'affirmative, si elle est une personne désignée des É.-U.;
  • une institution financière et, dans l'affirmative, s'il s'agit d'une institution financière d'un type particulier;
  • une entité étrangère non financière (ou EENF, sous forme abrégée) et, dans l'affirmative, s'il s'agit d'une EENF passive.

Si le titulaire de compte est une EENF passive, l’institution financière doit signaler toute personne qui est une personne des É.-U. et qui est une personne détenant le contrôle du titulaire du compte.

Que signifient ces termes inconnus?

En plus de toute instruction fournie par les institutions financières canadiennes, il vous est aussi possible de consulter les directives suivantes pour remplir toute certification requise.

Personne des É.-U.

Une entité peut se faire demander si elle est une personne des É.-U. En règle générale, une entité est une personne des É.-U. si elle est, selon le cas :

  • une société ou une société de personnes constituée aux É.-U. ou dans un État des É.-U.;
  • une fiducie assujettie à une loi des É.-U. et qui est contrôlée par un ou plusieurs citoyens américains ou résidents des É.-U. aux fins de l’impôt;
  • une fiducie testamentaire ou un défunt qui était, au moment du décès, un citoyen américain ou un résident des É.-U. aux fins de l’impôt.

Une société constituée au Canada ou organisée dans tout autre endroit en dehors des É.-U. n’est généralement pas une personne des É.-U.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la classification des contribuables aux fins de l’impôt des É.-U., consultez la publication de l’IRS au lien suivant : Classification of Taxpayers for U.S. Tax Purposes (en anglais seulement).

Personne désignée des É.-U.

Une entité qui est une personne des É.-U. n’est pas une personne désignée des É.-U. s’il s’agit d’une société dont les actions sont régulièrement échangées dans un marché des valeurs mobilières organisées ou d’un gouvernement ou d’un organisme des É.-U. Une personne désignée des É.-U. ne comprend pas non plus la plupart des entités qui se trouvent dans l’une des catégories suivantes :

  • une fiducie ou un organisme exonéré d’impôt;
  • une banque, une société de placement immobilier, une société mutuelle de placement, un fonds collectif ou des valeurs, ou un courtier de marchandises;
  • une société qui est liée à une société dont les actions sont négociées sur le marché.

Si une entité se trouve dans l’une de ces catégories elle doit consulter la définition de l’expression personne désignée des É.-U. à l’alinéa 1ff) de l’article 1 de l’Accord intergouvernemental d’amélioration de l’échange des renseignements fiscaux en vertu de la Convention fiscale Canada- États-Unis afin de déterminer correctement si elle peut attester qu’elle n’est pas une personne désignée des É.-U.

Entité étrangère non financière (EENF)

Toutes les entités sont des EENF, à l’exception des institutions financières et les personnes des É.-U. À ce titre, toutes les entités canadiennes et autres entités qui ne sont pas des É.-U. et qui ne sont pas des institutions financières sont des EENF.

Exemple

Bill est un charpentier dont l’entreprise est constituée en personne morale au Canada. Puisque la société n’est pas une personne des É.-U. et qu’elle n’est pas une institution financière, il s’agit d’une EENF.

Entité étrangère non financière passive (EENF passive)

Une EENF peut être une EENF passive ou une EENF active. Une EENF passive désigne toute EENF qui n’est pas une EENF active.

Les sociétés canadiennes (qui ne sont pas des institutions financières) qui exploitent activement un commerce ou une entreprise sont habituellement des EENF actives. Les entités qui ne participent pas de façon importante à des activités d’entreprise visant à produire un bien ou service sont habituellement des EENF passives.

Une EENF active comprend aussi les entités suivantes :

  • une société publique avec des actions qui sont régulièrement transigées à une bourse des valeurs mobilières reconnue (p. ex. le TSX, le NYSE, etc.);
  • une entité liée à une société publique mentionnée ci-dessus;
  • un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré;
  • un gouvernement (ou l’une de ses organismes ou composantes) qui exécute des fonctions de nature gouvernementale;
  • une entité en démarrage investissant dans des actifs dans le but d’exploiter une entreprise (autre qu’une entreprise faisant ou gérant des placements) si l’entité était constituée ou autrement établie moins de 24 mois précédant le moment où elle se fonde sur ces critères pour attester son statut.

Par exemple, une société canadienne qui se consacre exclusivement à l’exploitation d’un restaurant, un salon de coiffure, un concessionnaire d’automobiles ou une usine, prend une part active à ses activités et est une EENF active. D’autre part, une société ou une fiducie de placement personnelle aux fins de la détention de placements pour produire un revenu passif est une EENF passive.

Le revenu passif comprend généralement le revenu tiré de la simple détention d’un immeuble de placement, comme des intérêts, des dividendes et le loyer.

Une société par actions ou une autre entité peut s’impliquer dans de nombreuses activités ou détenir une combinaison d’actifs de façon à ce qu’il puisse être plus difficile de savoir s’il faut la catégoriser comme une EENF active. Par exemple, une société peut exploiter une entreprise active, mais également tirer un revenu important d’avoir en portefeuille. Il s’agit d’une EENF active dans la mesure où l’entité a tiré au cours de son dernier exercice moins de 50 % de son revenu brut de revenu passif et que pendant cet exercice moins de 50 % de ses actifs étaient détenus pour générer un revenu passif (le critère « revenu passif/actifs »).

Exemple

Michèle est une photographe professionnelle et son entreprise est constituée en personne morale en tant qu’ABC Photo en Alberta. Elle est l’unique actionnaire de la société. À son dernier exercice, 70 % du revenu d’ABC Photo provient d’honoraires et de commissions et 30 % de revenu passif, sous forme d’intérêts et de dividendes provenant d’actifs appartenant à ABC Photo, lesquels représentent 25 % de son actif total.

ABC Photo est une EENF active.

Exemple

Joe est un optométriste dont la pratique est constituée en personne morale au Québec. Il est l’unique actionnaire de la société. Il se prépare à prendre sa retraite et a réduit le nombre d’heures qu’il travaille. Le portefeuille de placements que détient la société tire maintenant des revenus plus élevés que ses honoraires ou services. Selon la déclaration du dernier exercice, 40 % du revenu de la société provient d’honoraires et 60 % constitue du revenu passif provenant des biens de placement.

La société de Joe est une EENF passive.

Si une entité a besoin de plus de renseignements pour déterminer si elle est une EENF passive, elle doit consulter les définitions des termes EENF passive et EENF active à la section VI de l’annexe I de l’Accord intergouvernemental d’amélioration de l’échange des renseignements fiscaux en vertu de la Convention fiscale Canada- États-Unis avant d’attester son statut. Vous pouvez aussi consulter le document d’orientation de l’ARC pour les institutions financières canadiennes.

Institution financière

Une entité qui détient un compte financier dans une institution financière au Canada peut devoir déclarer si elle est elle-même une institution financière. Les entités du secteur financier ne sont pas toutes considérées comme des institutions financières.

Pour être une institution financière, une entité doit être un établissement de garde, un établissement de dépôt, une entité de placement ou une compagnie d’assurance qui offre des contrats d’assurance avec une composante de placements ou de contrats de rente. De plus amples renseignements pour déterminer les entités qui sont des institutions financières sont disponibles dans le document d’orientation de l’ARC pour les institutions financières canadiennes.

Sous-catégories

Si une entité est une institution financière, on peut lui demander de préciser dans quelle sous-catégorie d’institution financière elle se trouve. Cela est particulièrement vrai pour ce qui est de savoir si une institution financière est une institution financière non participante. Cela est aussi pertinent aux institutions financières qui reçoivent ou qui recevront des paiements de source américaine et qui sont tenues de fournir des renseignements sur la sous-catégorie aux mandataires chargés de la retenue des É.-U.

Au moment où ce document a été publié la dernière fois, aucune institution financière canadienne n’a été connue pour être classée comme une institution financière non participante. Le site Web de l’IRS dresse la liste de toutes les institutions financières qu’il considère comme une institution financière non participante en raison d’une inobservation significative.

De plus amples renseignements sur ce que signifie être une institution financière non participante sont disponibles dans le document d’orientation de l’ARC pour les institutions financières canadiennes.

Personne détenant le contrôle d’une EENF passive qui est une personne des É.-U. aux fins de l’impôt des É.-U.

Si une entité est une EENF passive, vous devez déterminer si l’une des personnes détenant le contrôle est une personne des É.-U. aux fins de l’impôt des É.-U.

Personnes détenant le contrôle

Une personne détenant le contrôle d’une entité s’entend d’un particulier (une personne physique) qui exerce un contrôle sur l’entité. La question de savoir si une personne exerce un contrôle sur une entité est examinée en fonction des particularités d’une situation, notamment la façon dont le seuil de propriété est identifié aux fins de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité (blanchiment d’argent) et le financement des activités terroristes.

De façon générale, une personne n’est pas considérée comme une personne détenant le contrôle d’une entité (autre qu’une fiducie) à moins qu’elle détienne au moins 25 % des actions.

Date de modification :