RDSP Bulletin No. 4

This bulletin is the fourth in a series published by the Registered Plans Directorate. The series discusses issues that arise from time to time about the administration of registered disability savings plans (RDSP) and the Income Tax Act. This publication is intended mainly for use by RDSP issuers.

This fourth bulletin describes changes to section 146.4 of the Act as introduced in Bill C-45. It explains changes made to the law to allow the rollover of registered education savings plan (RESP) funds into an RDSP. It describes changes made to the maximum withdrawal limits and minimum withdrawal requirements. It includes information for extending the lifetime of an RDSP when the beneficiary is not DTC-eligible. It highlights changes made to the time limits for submitting a DSP for registration and for closing a plan after a transfer takes place. It summarizes the change in legislation that reduces the issuer’s obligation of providing plan information to another issuer upon a plan transfer. This bulletin also includes information for amending specimen plans to allow for these changes and, when applicable, describes the administrative requirements of an issuer to carry out these changes.

Bill C-45

Bill C-45 received Royal Assent on December 14, 2012. It amends the Act as follows:

  • The definition of contribution under subsection 146.4(1) now shows an education savings rollover amount to be a contribution in certain circumstances. The definition is also amended so that a specified RDSP payment and an accumulated income payment will not be considered an advantage for the purposes of subsection 205(1) of the Act.
  • New term specified maximum amount under subsection 146.4(1) defines the yearly maximum withdrawal limit for a primarily government assisted plan (PGAP).
  • Subparagraph 146.4(1.2)(c)(ii) now requires a plan’s specified disability savings plan (SDSP) designation to be removed if an education savings rollover is accepted into the plan.
  • New subparagraph 146.4(1.2)(c)(v) requires a plan’s SDSP designation to be removed if the plan’s beneficiary is no longer DTC-eligible.
  • Paragraph 146.4(1.2)(d) now sets a yearly minimum withdrawal amount that must be paid from an SDSP.
  • The issuer requirement to notify the government of a new plan or to close a transferring plan within a certain time period is removed from paragraphs 146.4(3)(a) and (b).
  • Subparagraph 146.4(4)(n)(i) now sets a new yearly maximum withdrawal limit for plans in a PGAP year.
  • New paragraph 146.4(4)(n.1) requires a minimum withdrawal amount to be paid to a beneficiary in each calendar year for which they turn 60 years of age or older.
  • Paragraph 146.4(4)(o) now requires an issuer to transfer historical plan information to the receiving issuer during a transfer only if that information was not previously given to Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC).
  • Subparagraph 146.4(4)(p)(ii) now includes closure rules for a plan operating under a DTC election.
  • New subsection 146.4(4.1) includes the rules for filing a DTC election.
  • New subsection 146.4(4.2) includes rules outlining the duration of a DTC election.
  • New subsection 146.4(4.3) includes a transitional rule that allows plans that are required to terminate in 2012 or 2013 to stay open until the end of 2014.
  • Paragraph 146.4(8)(c) now states that to complete a plan transfer, the current issuer must transfer historical plan information to the receiving issuer only if that information was not previously given to HRSDC.

The legislation for the transitional rule in subsection 146.4(4.3) applies after March 28, 2012. The legislation for issuer filing requirements for plan registration and plan transfer applies after December 13, 2012. The rules in paragraph 146.4(4)(o) and paragraph 146.4(8)(c) also apply after December 13, 2012. All other changes to the legislation detailed in this bulletin apply after December 31, 2013.

Education savings rollover to RDSP

The definition of contribution under subsection 146.4(1) of the Act now states that an accumulated income payment (AIP), transferred into an RDSP from an RESP, is not considered a contribution to the plan except for the purposes set out under paragraphs 146.4(4)(f) to (h) and (n) of the Act. An AIP is considered an education savings rollover amount when paid into an RDSP.

An AIP is an amount—usually paid to the subscriber—of the income earned from an RESP. It does not include the payment of educational assistance payments, payments to a designated educational institution in Canada, the refund of contributions to the subscriber, transfers to another RESP, repayments under the Canada Education Savings Program or repayments under a provincial program.

The education savings rollover to RDSP measure is optional. Specimen plans may need amending if an issuer wants to offer this rollover measure to their clients. The specimen plan text must allow the RDSP to accept these amounts. It must also specify that these amounts are only considered contributions for the purposes of paragraphs 146.4(4)(f) to (h) and (n) of the Act. These paragraphs apply as follows:

  1. The RDSP must not receive an education savings rollover amount if the RDSP beneficiary:
    • is not DTC-eligible at the time of the rollover;
    • died before the rollover is made;
    • turns 60 years of age or older in the year that the rollover is made; or
    • is not resident in Canada.
  2. The education savings rollover amount counts as a contribution for determining the beneficiary’s remaining lifetime contribution room.
  3. The RDSP holder must agree in writing to have the amount rolled over to the RDSP.
  4. The education savings rollover amount counts as a contribution when determining if the RDSP is a PGAP.

The education savings rollover is a tax-deferred transfer from an individual’s RESP to their RDSP. When making a disability assistance payment or lifetime disability assistance payment, the education savings rollover portion of the payment should be treated as plan earnings and must be counted as a taxable amount for reporting purposes.

Administration of the education savings rollover

An education savings rollover can take place if the following conditions are met:

  • the beneficiary of the RDSP is a beneficiary of the RESP that is rolling over income;
  • the RESP allows accumulated income payments; and
  • the beneficiary of the RESP has a severe and prolonged mental impairment that prevents them from enrolling in a qualifying educational program at a post-secondary educational institution or the RESP must be either:
    • open for at least 10 years, where each beneficiary in the RESP is at least 21 years of age and is not eligible to receive educational assistance payments at the time the rollover is made; or
    • open for at least 35 years.

The subscriber of the RESP must, in writing, jointly elect with the RDSP holder to have the rollover take place. The election document must contain the prescribed information that is listed in the next section. The RESP promoter must send the document to the RDSP issuer and keep a copy of it on file. This will satisfy the RESP promoter’s requirement to file the election with the Canada Revenue Agency. The RDSP issuer must keep the document on file and report the rollover to HRSDC through the Canada Disability Savings Program system.

The RESP must terminate before March of the year following the education savings rollover. All Canada education savings grants, Canada learning bonds and provincial payments must be repaid to HRSDC. An RESP promoter must ensure that their RESP specimen plan terms do not contravene this condition. This may require an amendment to the RESP specimen plan.

Education savings rollover election - prescribed information

The following information must be included in the education savings rollover election document:

  • Rollover amount
  • RDSP issuer name, specimen plan name, specimen plan number, and contract number
  • RDSP / RESP beneficiary name, SIN
  • RDSP holder name, SIN/BN
  • RESP suscriber name, SIN
  • RESP promoter name, specimen plan name, specimen plan number and contract number
  • RESP promoter’s address
  • Space for the RESP subscriber’s signature and date
  • Space for the RESP promoter's (authorized person) signature and date
  • Space for the RDSP holder’s signature and date
  • Space for the RDSP issuer’s (authorized person) signature and date

Withdrawal requirements from an SDSP

Previously, the yearly minimum withdrawal requirement from an SDSP applied only to plans in a PGAP year.

Now, the total yearly amount of withdrawals from all SDSPs (PGAP and non-PGAP) must be at least equal to the legislated maximum formula result. This requirement does not apply if it is the first year of the SDSP’s existence.

The specimen plan does not require amending; however, if the issuer has an SDSP election document, they must amend the document to include this change to the SDSP withdrawal rules. The issuer must also update the election document to require the removal of a plan’s SDSP designation when an education savings rollover is accepted into the plan. The election document must also be updated to require the removal of a plan’s SDSP designation when the beneficiary is no longer DTC-eligible. More information for adding these changes to the SDSP election document can be found in updated RDSP Bulletin No. 2R1.

Maximum withdrawal limits for an RDSP (non-SDSP) in a PGAP year (non-specified year)

Previously, in this situation, the total amount of yearly withdrawals from a plan in a PGAP year was limited to the legislated maximum formula result. The total amount of yearly withdrawals from the plan had to equal the legislated maximum formula result if the beneficiary turned 60 years of age or older in the year.

Now, the total amount of yearly withdrawals cannot be more than a legislated specified maximum amount. The specified maximum amount is the greater of the legislated maximum formula result and the sum of:

  • 10% of the plan’s fair market value; and
  • all periodic payments from locked-in annuity contracts.

The fair market value does not include amounts held in locked-in annuity contracts. Also, if the plan disposes of a locked-in annuity contract during the calendar year, the periodic payment amount will contain a reasonable estimate of amounts that would have been paid from the annuity into the plan in that year.

If the beneficiary turns 60 years of age or older in the PGAP year and the plan receives an RDSP transfer, the yearly withdrawal limit must exclude a certain amount that is paid from the plan after the transfer. This amount includes withdrawals made to pay any remaining withdrawal requirements from the prior plan. This amount also includes any withdrawal that is made that would have been an allowable withdrawal from the prior plan in the year had the transfer not occurred.

Note that if the beneficiary turns 60 years of age or older in the year, both this maximum withdrawal limit and the minimum withdrawal requirement—see next section—must be respected. Therefore, in this situation, the total amount of yearly withdrawals must not be less than the legislated maximum formula result and must not be more than the specified maximum amount.

The issuer must amend the withdrawal section(s) of their specimen plan to express these new withdrawal limits for an RDSP in a PGAP year.

Minimum withdrawal requirement for all plans

Previously, the Act did not require a yearly minimum amount to be paid to a beneficiary who turns 60 years of age or older in a non-PGAP year.

Now, if the beneficiary turns 60 years of age or older in a calendar year, the yearly minimum amount that must be paid from an RDSP—PGAP and non-PGAP—in that year is the legislated maximum formula result.

Note that if the issuer’s specimen plan only allows lifetime disability assistance payments then the legislated maximum formula result acts as both a minimum and maximum. So, the total amount withdrawn from a plan for the year must equal the legislated maximum formula result.

The issuer must amend the withdrawal section(s) of their specimen plan to express this new minimum withdrawal requirement.

Extending the life of a plan for up to five years if the beneficiary becomes DTC-ineligible

Previously, a plan was required to terminate within two calendar years from the time the beneficiary became DTC-ineligible.

Now, if the RDSP holder elects to keep the plan open, the plan can remain open for up to five calendar years. The following conditions must be met in order for the plan to stay open:

  • A medical doctor must certify in writing that the beneficiary will likely become DTC-eligible at some point in the future;
  • The holder must make an election to keep the plan open by providing the medical certificate to the issuer. The holder must make this election within two calendar years from the time the beneficiary loses their DTC-eligibility status; and
  • The issuer must notify HRSDC of the election through the Canada Disability Savings Program system.

After an election is established it will be valid until the earlier of the beginning of the first calendar year that the beneficiary becomes DTC-eligible again and the end of the fifth calendar year of continuous DTC-ineligibility.

The issuer must close the plan by the end of the sixth year of the beneficiary’s continuous DTC-ineligibility.

A temporary measure is in place that allows plans that should close in 2012 or 2013 because of the beneficiary’s DTC-ineligibility, to stay open until December 31, 2014 without the holder having to make an election. If the holder wishes to extend the plan’s life for the full five years, the holder must make an election in 2014.

The issuer must amend the termination section of their specimen plan to require that if a DTC election has been made, the plan must close by the end of the sixth calendar year of continuous DTC-ineligibility.

Submission timeframes for registration

Previously, the issuer of an RDSP was required to submit notification of an RDSP’s existence to HRSDC within 60 days of opening the plan. If a plan was opened due to a transfer, the issuer of the prior plan was required to terminate that plan within 120 days of the opening of the new plan.

These filing requirements are now removed from the legislation. In their place is the requirement to submit notification of registration or to terminate the plan without delay. In the future, any filing deadlines for registration or deadlines for terminating a transferring plan may be addressed in the Issuer Agreements that are signed with HRSDC.

The issuer should update their specimen plan text to accommodate this more flexible wording, however it is a relieving provision and therefore not a required amendment.

Transfer of plan information to receiving issuer

Previously, the issuer of an RDSP was required to provide all plan information to the new issuer if it was needed for the continuing administration of the beneficiary’s new plan. Now, the legislation requires the transfer of this information from one issuer to another only if it was not previously provided to HRSDC.

The issuer should update their specimen plan text to accommodate this more flexible wording however it is a relieving provision and therefore not a required amendment.

How to contact us

Contact us at the Registered Plans Directorate if you have any questions about this RDSP bulletin.

Our telephone enquiries service is available Monday to Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Eastern Time (with a voice mailbox system to take messages outside those hours):

In the Ottawa area

For service in English: 613-954-0419

For service in French: 613-954-0930

Toll-free elsewhere in Canada

For service in English: 1-800-267-3100

For service in French: 1-800-267-5565

RDSP issuers who need guidance on specific registration issues can write to us at the Registered Plans Directorate, Canada Revenue Agency, Ottawa ON K1A 0L5, or fax us at 613-952-0199.

We welcome feedback on this bulletin. Email your comments to: rpd/dre@cra-arc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Bulletin no 4 sur les REEI

Le présent bulletin est le quatrième d’une série que publie la Direction des régimes enregistrés. Il y sera question du problème que pose parfois l’administration des régimes enregistrés d’épargne‑invalidité (REEI) et de l’application de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu. Ce bulletin s’adresse principalement aux émetteurs de REEI.

Dans ce quatrième bulletin, on décrit les modifications apportées à l’article 146.4 de la Loi telles qu’elles sont présentées dans le projet de loi C‑45. On y explique les modifications apportées à la Loi en vue de permettre le roulement des fonds d’un régime enregistré d’épargne‑études (REEE) dans un REEI. Il décrit les changements apportés aux limites maximales des retraits et aux exigences minimales des retraits. Il comprend des renseignements sur la prolongation de l’existence d’un REEI lorsque le bénéficiaire n’est pas admissible au CIPH. Il énonce les changements apportés aux délais de présentation d’un REI pour enregistrement et de l’avis d’un régime cédant qui prend fin après un transfert. On y résume la modification à la Loi qui réduit l’obligation de l’émetteur de transmettre les renseignements relatifs au régime à un autre émetteur au moment d’un transfert à partir du régime. Ce bulletin comprend également des renseignements sur la façon de modifier des régimes spécimens afin de permettre ces changements et, s’il y a lieu, décrit les exigences administratives d’un émetteur afin d’apporter ces changements.

Projet de loi C­–45

Le projet de loi C‑45 a reçu la sanction royale le 14 décembre 2012. Il modifie la Loi comme suit :

  • La définition de « cotisation » selon le paragraphe 146.4(1) indique maintenant un montant du transfert par voie de roulement d’épargne-études comme étant une cotisation dans certaines circonstances. La définition est également modifiée afin qu’un paiement de REEI déterminé et un paiement de revenu accumulé ne soient pas considérés comme un avantage au sens du paragraphe 205(1) de la Loi.
  • Le nouveau terme « plafond » selon le paragraphe 146.4(1) définit le plafond annuel de retrait aux fins d’un régime obtenant principalement l’aide du gouvernement (RPAG).
  • Le sous‑alinéa 146.4(1.2)c)(ii) exige maintenant que la désignation de régime d’épargne‑invalidité déterminé (REID) d’un régime soit retirée si un transfert par voie de roulement d’épargne-études est accepté dans le régime.
  • Le nouveau sous‑alinéa 146.4(1.2)c)(v) exige que la désignation de REID d’un régime soit retirée si le bénéficiaire du régime n’est plus admissible au CIPH.
  • L’alinéa 146.4(1.2)d) établit maintenant un montant minimal annuel de retrait qui doit être payé par un REID.
  • L’exigence selon laquelle l’émetteur doit aviser le gouvernement de l’établissement d’un nouveau régime ou de mettre fin à un régime cédant, dans un certain délai est retirée des alinéas 146.4(3)a) et b).
  • Le sous‑alinéa 146.4(4)n)(i) établit maintenant un nouveau plafond annuel de retraits aux fins des régimes dans une année RPAG.
  • Le nouvel alinéa 146.4(4)n.1) exige qu’un montant minimal de retraits soit payé à un bénéficiaire au cours de l’année civile où il atteint l’âge de 60 ans ou plus.
  • L’alinéa 146.4(4)o) exige maintenant qu’un émetteur transmette les renseignements historiques d’un régime au nouvel émetteur lors d’un transfert, uniquement lorsque ces renseignements n’ont pas déjà été fournis à Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC).
  • Le sous‑alinéa 146.4(4)p)(ii) comprend maintenant des règles pour mettre fin à un régime fonctionnant selon un choix lié au CIPH.
  • Le nouveau paragraphe 146.4(4.1) comprend les règles pour présenter un choix lié au CIPH.
  • Le nouveau paragraphe 146.4(4.2) comprend les règles sur la durée d’un choix lié au CIPH.
  • Le nouveau paragraphe 146.4(4.3) comprend la règle transitoire qui permet aux régimes devant prendre fin en 2012 ou en 2013 de continuer d’exister jusqu’à la fin de 2014.
  • L’alinéa 146.4(8)c) indique maintenant qu’afin de terminer le transfert d’un régime, l’émetteur actuel doit transmettre les renseignements historiques du régime au nouvel émetteur seulement si ces renseignements n’ont pas déjà été fournis à RHDCC.

Les dispositions législatives se rapportant à la règle transitoire du paragraphe 146.4(4.3) s’appliquent après le 28 mars 2012. Les dispositions législatives selon lesquelles l’émetteur répond aux exigences en matière de présentation pour l’enregistrement et les dispositions législatives se rapportant aux transferts entre régimes s’appliquent après le 13 décembre 2012. Les règles aux alinéas 146.4(4)o) et 146.4(8)c) s’appliquent également après le 13 décembre 2012. Tous les autres changements aux dispositions législatives décrits dans ce bulletin s’appliquent après le 31 décembre 2013.

Transfert par voie de roulement d’épargne-études à un REEI

La définition de cotisation selon le paragraphe 146.4(1) de la Loi indique maintenant qu’un paiement de revenu accumulé (PRA), transféré d’un REEE à un REEI, n’est pas considéré comme une cotisation versée au régime sauf aux fins indiquées dans les alinéas 146.4(4)f) à h) et n) de la Loi. Un PRA est considéré comme un montant transféré par voie de roulement d’épargne-études lorsqu’il est versé dans un REEI.

Un PRA est un montant du revenu gagné d’un REEE, habituellement versé au souscripteur. Il ne comprend pas le versement de paiements d’aide aux études, les paiements à un établissement d’enseignement agréé, le remboursement des cotisations au souscripteur, les transferts à un autre REEE, les remboursements selon le Programme canadien pour l’épargne‑études ou les remboursements selon un programme provincial.

Le transfert par voie de roulement d’épargne-études à un REEI est optionnel. Les régimes spécimens doivent être modifiés si l’émetteur désire offrir cette mesure de roulement à ses clients. Le texte du régime spécimen doit permettre au REEI d’accepter ces montants. Il doit également indiquer que ces montants sont uniquement considérés comme des cotisations aux fins des alinéas 146.4(4)f) à h) et n) de la Loi. Ces alinéas s’appliquent comme suit :

  1. Le REEI ne doit pas recevoir un montant transféré par voie de roulement d’épargne-études si le bénéficiaire du REEI :
    • n’est pas admissible au CIPH au moment du roulement;
    • est décédé avant que le roulement soit effectué;
    • atteint l’âge de 60 ans ou plus dans l’année où le roulement est effectué;
    • ne réside pas au Canada.
  2. Le montant de roulement d’épargne-études est considéré comme une cotisation au moment d’établir le plafond cumulatif des cotisations du bénéficiaire.
  3. Le titulaire du REEI doit donner son consentement par écrit pour que le montant soit transféré au REEI.
  4. Le montant de roulement d’épargne-études est considéré comme une cotisation au moment d’établir si le REEI est un RPAG.

Le roulement d’épargne-études est un transfert à impôt différé provenant du REEE à son REEI. Au moment d’un paiement d’aide à l’invalidité ou d’un paiement viager pour invalidité, la partie du roulement d’épargne-études de ce paiement doit être traitée comme des gains du régime et doit être considérée comme un montant imposable aux fins d’établissement de rapports.

Administration du roulement d’épargne-études

Le roulement d’épargne-études peut être effectué si les conditions suivantes sont remplies :

  • le bénéficiaire du REEI est un bénéficiaire du REEE à partir duquel le roulement est effectué;
  • le REEE permet les paiements de revenu accumulés;
  • le bénéficiaire du REEE a une déficience mentale grave et prolongée qui l’empêche de s’inscrire à un programme de formation admissible d’un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire, ou le REEI doit :
    • soit être établi depuis au moins 10 ans et chaque bénéficiaire du REEE a au moins 21 ans et ne peut recevoir des paiements d’aide aux études au moment du roulement;
    • soit être établi depuis au moins 35 ans.

Le souscripteur du REEE doit, par écrit, choisir conjointement avec le titulaire du REEI d’effectuer le roulement. Le document de choix doit contenir les renseignements prescrits énumérés dans la section suivante. Le promoteur du REEE doit envoyer le document à l’émetteur du REEI et conserver une copie à ses dossiers. Cela répondra à l’exigence du promoteur du REEE de présenter le choix auprès de l’Agence du revenu du Canada. L’émetteur du REEI doit conserver le document dans ses dossiers et déclarer le roulement auprès de RHDCC au moyen du système du Programme canadien pour l’épargne‑invalidité.

Le REEE doit prendre fin avant le mois de mars de l’année suivant le roulement d’épargne-études. Les subventions canadiennes pour l’épargne-études, les bons d’études canadiens et les paiements provinciaux doivent être remboursés à RHDCC. Le promoteur du REEE doit s’assurer que les modalités de son régime spécimen du REEE ne contreviennent pas à cette condition. Cela pourrait exiger une modification au régime spécimen du REEE.

Choix de roulement d’épargne-études – renseignements prescrits

Les renseignements suivants doivent être compris dans le document de choix de roulement d’épargne-études :

  • le montant du roulement;
  • le nom de l’émetteur du REEI, le nom du régime spécimen, le numéro du régime spécimen et le numéro de contrat;
  • le nom du bénéficiaire du REEI / REEE et son NAS;
  • le nom du titulaire du REEI, son NAS ou le NE;
  • le nom du souscripteur du REEE, son NAS ou le NE;
  • le nom du promoteur du REEE, le nom du régime spécimen, le numéro du régime spécimen et le numéro de contrat;
  • l’adresse du promoteur du REEE;
  • un espace pour la signature du souscripteur du REEE et la date;
  • un espace pour la signature du promoteur du REEE (personne autorisée) et la date;
  • un espace pour la signature du titulaire du REEI et la date;
  • un espace pour la signature de l’émetteur du REEI (personne autorisée) et la date.

Exigences de retrait d’un REID

Auparavant, l’exigence d’un montant minimal de retrait du REID ne s’appliquait qu’aux régimes dans une année de RPAG.

Dorénavant, le montant de retrait annuel maximal de tous les REID (RPAG et non RPAG) doit au moins être égal au résultat de la formule maximale prévue par la Loi. Cette exigence ne s’applique pas s’il s’agit de la première année d’existence du REID.

Il n’est pas nécessaire de modifier le régime spécimen. Toutefois, si l’émetteur a un document de choix du REID, il doit modifier le document afin d’apporter ce changement aux règles de retrait du REID. L’émetteur doit également mettre à jour le document de choix en vue d’exiger le retrait de la désignation REID d’un régime lorsque le roulement d'épargne-études est accepté dans le régime. Le document de choix doit également être mis à jour afin qu’il indique l’exigence de retirer la désignation REID d’un régime lorsque le bénéficiaire n’est plus admissible au CIPH. D’autres renseignements concernant l’ajout de ces modifications au document de choix du REID se trouvent dans le Bulletin sur les REEI n° 2R1 mis à jour.

Limites maximales de retrait d’un REEI (non REID) dans une année RPAG (année non déterminée)

Auparavant, dans cette situation, le montant total annuel des retraits d’un régime dans une année RPAG était limité au résultat de la formule maximale prévue par la Loi. Le montant total annuel des retraits d’un régime devait être égal au résultat de la formule maximale prévue par la Loi si le bénéficiaire avait atteint l’âge de 60 ans ou plus dans l’année.

Dorénavant, le montant total annuel des retraits ne peut dépasser le plafond prévu par la Loi. Le plafond est le plus élevé des montants du résultat de la formule maximale prévue par la Loi et la somme de :

  • 10 % de la juste valeur marchande du régime;
  • tous les paiements périodiques provenant de contrats de rente immobilisée.

La juste valeur marchande ne comprend pas les montants détenus dans les contrats de rente immobilisée. De plus, si le régime se défait d’un contrat de rente immobilisée pendant l’année civile, le montant du paiement périodique comprendra une estimation raisonnable des montants qui auraient été payés sous forme de rente dans le cadre du régime pendant cette année.

Si le bénéficiaire atteint l’âge de 60 ans ou plus dans l’année RPAG et que le régime reçoit un transfert d’un REEI, la limite de retrait annuelle doit exclure un certain montant qui est payé du régime après le transfert. Ce montant comprend les retraits effectués en vue de compenser toute exigence de retrait restant du régime antérieur. Ce montant comprendre également tout retrait effectué qui aurait été un retrait permis du régime antérieur durant l’année si le transfert n’avait pas eu lieu.

Il faut noter que, si le bénéficiaire atteint l’âge de 60 ans ou plus pendant l’année, ce plafond annuel de retrait et l’exigence d’un montant minimal de retrait doivent être respectés; consultez la prochaine section. Par conséquent, dans cette situation, le montant total annuel des retraits ne doit pas être inférieur au résultat de la formule maximale prévue par la Loi et ne doit pas être supérieur au plafond.

L’émetteur doit modifier toutes sections portant sur les retraits dans son régime spécimen pour tenir compte de ces nouveaux plafonds de retrait aux fins d’un REEI dans une année RPAG.

Exigence d’un montant minimal de retrait pour tous les régimes

Auparavant, la Loi n’exigeait pas qu’un montant minimal soit payé à un bénéficiaire qui atteint l’âge de 60 ans ou plus pendant une année non RPAG.

Dorénavant, si le bénéficiaire atteint l’âge de 60 ans ou plus pendant une année civile, le montant minimal annuel qui doit être payé à partir d’un REEI, RPAG et non RPAG, dans cette année est le résultat de la formule maximale prévue par la Loi.

Il faut noter que, si le régime spécimen de l’émetteur ne permet que les paiements viagers pour invalidité, le résultat de la formule maximale prévue par la Loi correspond alors au minimum et au maximum. Par conséquent, le montant total retiré d’un régime pour l’année doit être égal au résultat de la formule maximale prévue par la Loi.

L’émetteur doit modifier toutes sections portant sur les retraits dans son régime spécimen pour tenir compte de cette nouvelle exigence d’un montant minimal de retrait.

Prolongation de l’existence d’un régime jusqu’à cinq années si le bénéficiaire n’est plus admissible au CIPH

Auparavant, un régime devait prendre fin dans les deux années civiles à partir du moment où le bénéficiaire n’était plus admissible au CIPH.

Dorénavant, si le titulaire d’un REEI opte pour que le régime continue d’exister, le régime peut continuer d’exister jusqu’à cinq années civiles. Les conditions suivantes doivent être remplies afin que le régime continue d’exister :

  • Un médecin doit certifier par écrit qu’il est probable que le bénéficiaire soit admissible au CIPH dans un avenir prévisible;
  • Le titulaire doit opter pour que le régime continue d’exister en fournissant l’attestation du médecin à l’émetteur. Le titulaire doit prendre cette décision dans les deux années civiles suivant le moment où le bénéficiaire perd son statut d’admissibilité au CIPH;
  • L’émetteur doit aviser RHDCC du choix au moyen du système du Programme canadien pour l’épargne‑invalidité.

Lorsque le choix est établi, il sera valide jusqu’au début de la première année civile où le bénéficiaire redevient admissible au CIPH et jusqu’à la fin de la cinquième année civile de l’inadmissibilité continue au CIPH.

L’émetteur doit mettre fin au régime au plus tard à la fin de la sixième année de l’inadmissibilité continue au CIPH.

Une mesure temporaire est en œuvre pour permettre aux régimes, qui devaient prendre fin en 2012 ou en 2013 en raison de l’inadmissibilité du bénéficiaire au CIPH, de continuer d’exister jusqu’au 31 décembre 2014 sans que le titulaire n’ait à faire un choix. Si le titulaire souhaite prolonger l’existence du régime pendant cinq années complètes, il doit faire un choix en 2014.

L’émetteur doit modifier la section portant sur les régimes qui prennent fin dans son régime spécimen en vue de respecter l’exigence selon laquelle, si un choix du CIPH a été fait, le régime doit prendre fin avant la fin de la sixième année civile d’inadmissibilité continue au CIPH.

Délais de présentation pour l’enregistrement

Auparavant, l’émetteur du REEI devait présenter un avis de l’existence d’un REEI à RHDCC dans les 60 jours suivant l’établissement du régime. Si un régime a été établi en raison d’un transfert, l’émetteur du régime précédent devait mettre fin à ce régime dans les 120 jours suivant l’établissement du nouveau régime.

Ces exigences de présentation sont retirées de la Loi. Il y a maintenant l’exigence de présenter un avis d’enregistrement ou de mettre fin à un régime dans les plus brefs délais. À l’avenir, tout délai de présentation concernant l’enregistrement ou de mettre fin à un régime cédant peut être abordé dans les conventions d’émetteur qui sont signées auprès de RHDCC.

L’émetteur doit mettre à jour le texte de son régime spécimen pour qu’il tienne compte de ce libellé plus flexible. Cependant, il s’agit ici d’une disposition d’allègement et, par conséquent, non d’une modification exigée.

Transmission des renseignements du régime à un nouvel émetteur

Auparavant, l’émetteur d’un REEI devait transmettre tous les renseignements relatifs au régime au nouvel émetteur s’ils étaient nécessaires pour poursuivre l’administration du nouveau régime du bénéficiaire. Maintenant, la Loi exige le transfert de ces renseignements d’un émetteur à un autre seulement si ceux‑ci n’ont pas déjà été fournis à RHDCC.

L’émetteur doit mettre à jour le texte de son régime spécimen pour qu’il tienne compte de ce libellé plus flexible. Cependant, il s’agit ici d’une disposition d’allègement et, par conséquent, non d’une modification exigée.

Comment nous joindre

Si vous avez des questions au sujet du présent bulletin sur les REEI, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction des régimes enregistrés.

Le service de demandes de renseignements téléphoniques est disponible du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h à 17 h, heure de l'Est. Si vous voulez communiquer avec nous après 17 h, vous pouvez laisser un message dans notre boîte vocale.

Dans la région d'Ottawa

Pour le service en français : 613-954-0930

Pour le service en anglais : 613-954-0419

Sans frais ailleurs au Canada

Pour le service en français : 1-800-267-5565

Pour le service en anglais : 1-800-267-3100

Les émetteurs de REEI qui ont besoin de conseils sur des questions liées à l'enregistrement peuvent s'adresser à nous par courrier à la Direction des régimes enregistrés, Agence du revenu du Canada, Ottawa ON K1A 0L5. Ils peuvent également nous envoyer leurs demandes par télécopieur au 613-952-0199.

Nous aimerions connaître votre opinion sur ce bulletin. Veuillez nous faire parvenir vos commentaires par courriel à : rpd/dre@cra-arc.gc.ca

Date de modification :