The Honourable Keith Ashfield, Minister of National Revenue, and the Honourable Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, issued the following statement today:

June 25, 2010—The Government of Canada would like to provide an update on the recent administrative concerns expressed by some Canadians regarding the Tax Free Savings Account (TFSA).

2009 was the first year of the program and the response to the TFSA has been overwhelmingly positive. Approximately 4.7 million Canadians have taken out a TFSA since the program was initiated.

Our government recognizes that there was some genuine confusion about the rules for the TFSA in the first year. We understand that it may take time for some Canadians to learn about the program and for some financial institutions to properly inform their clients about this product.

The Government of Canada confirms that for the 2009 filing year, the first year of the program, we have taken the decision to be as flexible as possible in cases where a genuine misunderstanding of the TFSA contribution rules occurred. Our intention is to review each situation on a case-by-case basis and, where appropriate, waive taxes on excess contributions for this year.

For instance, individuals who used their TFSA as a regular banking account in 2009, making deposits and withdrawals on a frequent basis, or who have transferred funds between TFSAs at different institutions, but whose net contributions never exceeded the 2009 limit of $5000, may not be required to pay the tax on excess contributions for this year.

Of the nearly 4.7 million Canadians who have a TFSA, less than 2% (70,000) have recently received a letter from the Canada Revenue Agency asking to provide further information about their accounts before June 30, 2010. We have decided to extend this deadline from June 30 to August 3, 2010, to allow ample time for Canadians to provide the necessary information about their accounts.

If you received a TFSA return letter:

  • You are encouraged to respond to the CRA letter by providing additional information or explanations that you may have in respect of your over-contributions.
  • If no additional information is provided or you do not contact the CRA, a notice of assessment will be issued. Only at that time should you use the request for taxpayer relief form or a formal notice of objection.

If you have questions about your TFSA, you are encouraged to contact the CRA at 1-800-959-8281 or visit our Web site at: www.cra-arc.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For media information:

Noël Carisse
Media Relations
Canada Revenue Agency
613-952-9184

Erin Filliter
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of National Revenue
613-995-2960

Date modified:

L'honorable Keith Ashfield, ministre du Revenu national, et l'honorable Jim Flaherty, ministre des Finances, ont fait l'annonce suivante aujourd'hui

Le 25 juin 2010 – Le gouvernement du Canada tient à faire le point relativement à certaines préoccupations que des Canadiens ont dit avoir au sujet de l'administration du compte d'épargne libre d'impôt.

Le compte d'épargne libre d'impôt (CELI) a été lancé en 2009 et a reçu un accueil extrêmement positif. Quelque 4,7 millions de Canadiens ont en effet souscrit à un CELI depuis sa mise en oeuvre.

Notre gouvernement est conscient qu'il y a eu de la confusion quant aux conditions régissant le CELI la première année. Nous comprenons aussi qu'il peut s'écouler un certain temps avant que tous les Canadiens connaissent ces conditions et que les institutions financières aient pu bien informer tous leurs clients à ce sujet.

Le gouvernement du Canada a donc décidé, pour l'année d'imposition 2009, soit la première année du programme, de faire preuve de souplesse lorsqu'un contribuable a mal compris sans le vouloir les conditions régissant les cotisations à un CELI. Nous étudierons chaque situation au cas par cas et renoncerons, lorsque cela est approprié, à l'impôt pour cotisation excédentaire pour cette année.

Par exemple, les particuliers qui ont utilisé leur CELI comme un compte bancaire ordinaire en 2009 en y faisant fréquemment des dépôts et des retraits, ou qui ont transféré des fonds entre des CELI souscrits à différentes institutions, n'auront pas à payer l'impôt pour cotisation excédentaire si leur cotisation nette aux CELI n'a pas dépassé la limite de 5 000 $ pour 2009.

Sur les quelque 4,7 millions de Canadiens qui ont un CELI, moins de 2 % (70 000) ont reçu récemment une lettre de l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) leur demandant de fournir plus de renseignements sur leurs comptes d'ici le 30 juin 2010. Nous avons décidé de prolonger ce délai au 3 août 2010, afin de laisser assez de temps aux Canadiens pour donner suite à cette demande.

Si vous avez reçu une lettre concernant la déclaration CELI :

  • Nous vous encourageons à fournir les renseignements demandés par l'ARC, de même que toute explication que vous pourriez juger utile relativement à vos cotisations excédentaires.
  • Si vous ne fournissez pas les renseignements demandés ou que vous ne communiquez pas avec l'ARC, vous recevrez un avis de cotisation. Ce n'est qu'à ce moment que vous pourrez présenter une demande d'allègement pour les contribuables ou un avis d'opposition officiel.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de votre CELI, nous vous encourageons à communiquer avec l'ARC, en composant le numéro sans frais 1-800-959-7383 , ou en visitant notre site Web au www.cra-arc.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Renseignements aux médias :

Noël Carisse
Relations avec les médias
Agence du revenu du Canada
613-952-9184

Erin Filliter
Directrice des communications
Cabinet du ministre du Revenu national
613-995-2960

Date de modification :