New filing requirements for partnerships in 2011

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

On January 1, 2011, new filing criteria for the Partnership Information Return come into effect. The new filing criteria apply to partnerships (and nominee/agent for partnerships) with fiscal periods ending on or after January 1, 2011. For partnerships with fiscal periods ending on or before December 31, 2010, the current criteria still apply.

1.  What is an agent\nominee?

Agent - A person authorized to act for another.
Nominee - A person designated to act for another.

These are not definitions provided by the Income Tax Act or Income Tax Regulations. They give only the common usage of the terms for the benefit of the reader.

2.  I'm a nominee\agent. How does the change in the requirement to file the Partnership Information return impact me?

A. Each person who holds an interest in a partnership as a nominee or agent for another person must complete and file a separate Partnership Information Return for each composite T5013 information slip received from each partnership in which an interest is held for another person.

3.  As a nominee\agent, what information must I provide to satisfy the filing requirements?

A. You must file the following prescribed forms and information with the Partnership Information Return:

  • prescribed Form T5013 FIN, Partnership Financial Return;
  • prescribed Form T5013 SUM, Slips Summary;
  • a photocopy of the composite information slip T5013, Statement of Partnership Income, the nominee or agent received from the partnership on behalf of the investors;
  • copy 1 of all the T5013 information slips issued by the nominee or agent to each person (investor) he holds an interest for;
  • the completed original copy of Form T5013 SCH 50 (Schedule 50), Partners' ownership and account activity, providing information about each investor (see note below); and
  • other T5013 schedules, forms or documents that apply.

Note
You must include on Schedule 50 all the information that the partnership would otherwise provide to the CRA . The information on prescribed Form T5013 SCH 50, Partner's ownership and account activity, must match all the information provided on the composite T5013 information slip the nominee or agent received from the partnership.

4.  I'm a nominee\agent. Do I require an RZ program account?

A.  Yes. You must register for a 15-character RZ account number for each partnership you hold an interest in. The CRA will issue as many RZ account numbers (RZ00001, RZ0002, etc.) as the number of partnerships you hold an interest in.

The RZ account number has 15 characters in three parts; the nine-digit Business Number (BN), a two-letter program identifier, and a four-digit reference number. Each business or legal entity should have only one BN. The program identifier and the reference number identify the account.

Business Number (BN) Program Identifier Reference Number
123456789 RZ 0001

If you require an RZ account as a nominee\agent for a partnership, you must complete the form RC257, Request for an Information Return Program Account (RZ). Send the completed RC257 and the RC1 - Request for a Business Number (BN), if required, to your nearest Tax Centre. To find the address, visit www.cra.gc.ca/contact. If you have questions visit http://www.cra.gc.ca/bn or call 1-800-959-5525.

5.  My partnership has not been required to file a Partnership Information Return before. The partnership now meets one or more of the filing criteria. How do I register for an RZ program account?

If you are required to file the Partnership Information Return, you must do so using your BN with RZ Program Identifier. The RZ account number has 15 characters in three parts; the nine-digit Business Number (BN), a two-letter program identifier, and a four-digit reference number. Each business or legal entity should have only one BN. The program identifier and the reference number identify the account.

Business Number (BN) Program Identifier Reference Number
123456789 RZ 0001

If you do not already have a Business Number (BN), go to Business Number (BN) Registration for more information. To obtain an RZ account, complete Form RC257 - Request for an Information Return Program Account (RZ) , or contact the CRA.

Note: If you are a nominee\agent for a partnership, see the registration procedures specific for nominees and agents.

6. Why is the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) changing the partnership returns filing criteria?

In 1989, a regulation was added to the Income Tax Regulations that requires all Canadian partnerships to file an annual information return. Since that time, the CRA has provided, under certain conditions, an exemption from the filing requirement for partnerships with fewer than six partners. However, since the Canadian economy and business landscape have evolved over the last 20 years, the CRA has reviewed the conditions for a partnership filing exemption. The CRA's review showed that the amount of both business activity and assets held by a partnership, as well as the complexity of a partnership's structure, are of more significance than the number of partners.

The changes being introduced allow the CRA to focus on the complexity of partnership activities rather than the number of partners.

7. Is this a legislative change?

Legislation has always required all partnerships to file partnership information returns. To ease the burden on filers, the CRA developed an administrative policy that draws boundaries on those partnerships that have to file and those that do not have to file. Therefore, the changes to the filing criteria are administrative only. There will be no changes to the legislation.

8. What is a partnership?

The Interpretation Bulletin IT-90, What is a Partnership? defines a partnership as the relation that exists between persons carrying on business in common with a view to profit.

Taxpayers can determine whether they are a partner in a partnership by examining the type and extent of their involvement in the business and checking the laws of their province or territory.

A partnership can be formed between individuals, corporations, trusts, or other partnerships, in any combination. Partnerships can be formed verbally or by a written contract.



9. How do partnership businesses differ from other types of businesses or corporations?

A corporation has a separate and distinct legal existence from its shareholders. However, a partnership does not have this type of separate and distinct legal existence from its partners.

A partnership is not treated or taxed as a separate person (as with a corporation). All income and losses are flowed out to the partners who report their share of the partnership's income on their income tax return (whether it is a T1, T2, or T3 return). As a result, a partnership does not file an income tax return, and is not taxed at the partnership level.

However, the CRA, through an administrative policy, requires certain partnerships to file the partnership information return (T5013). For more information on the current criteria for filing a partnership return, go to www.cra.gc.ca/partnership.

10. What changes are being made to the requirement to file a partnership information return?

The CRA is replacing the requirement about the number of partners in a partnership with a requirement related to financial thresholds, and clarifying the requirements for the types of partners.

Effective January 1, 2011, a partnership that carries on a business in Canada, or a Canadian partnership with Canadian or foreign operations or investments, has to file a T5013 for each fiscal period of the partnership:

  • If, at the end of the fiscal period,
    • the partnership has an absolute value of revenues plus an absolute value of expenses of more than $2 million, or has more than $5 million in assets; or
  • If, at anytime during the fiscal period,
    • the partnership is a tiered partnership (has another partnership as a partner or is itself a partner in another partnership);
    • the partnership has a corporation or a trust as a partner;
    • the partnership invested in flow-through shares of a principal-business corporation that incurred Canadian resource expenses and renounced those expenses to the partnership; or
    • the Minister of National Revenue requests one in writing.

11. What does "an absolute value of revenues plus an absolute value of expenses" mean?

The absolute value of a number refers to the numerical value of the number without regard to its positive or negative sign. For example, "3" is the absolute value of both 3 (positive 3) and -3 (negative 3). To determine if a partnership exceeds the $2 million threshold, add total expenses to total revenues rather than subtract expenses from revenues as you would to determine net income. For example, a partnership with revenues of $1.5 million and expenses of $1.25 million would have an absolute value of revenues plus an absolute value of expenses of $2.75 million ($1.5 million plus $1.25 million).

12. What financial details should be used to determine whether a partnership meets the "absolute value of revenues plus an absolute value of expenses of more than $2 million" criterion?

The revenues and expenses details come from the financial statement amounts. "Revenues" refers to revenues that have not been netted. For example, you would not use gross profit to represent "revenues" since gross profit is revenues minus the cost of goods sold. Expenses include both current costs and capital costs (e.g. depreciation). Revenues from all sources (revenues that have not been netted) are added to the total of all expenses (expenses are expressed as a positive number), and the total is used to determine whether or not the criterion has been met.

Example:

Revenues $1,500,000
Cost of goods sold 850,000
Gross profit $650,000
Expenses 400,000
Net profit $250,000
Absolute value of revenues   $1,500,000
Absolute value of expenses    
- Cost of goods sold $850,000  
- Expenses 400,000 $1,250,000
Absolute value of revenues plus expenses $2,750,000

This partnership would have to file since the absolute value of revenues plus the absolute value of expenses is more than $2,000,000.

13. How does the CRA determine whether a partnership has "more than $5 million in assets"?

The cost figure of all assets, both tangible and intangible, without taking into account the depreciated amount should be used to determine whether a partnership meets the "more than $5 million in assets" criterion.

14. Will there be any changes to the partnership information return itself?

The return is currently being updated for the 2011 tax year and will be available at a later date. Go to www.cra.gc.ca/partnership when it is time to get ready to file the 2011 partnership information return for information about the forms you will need to file.

15. Where can businesses get more information?

For more information please contact the Business Enquiries line at 1-800-959-5525.

Date modified:

Nouvelles exigences en matière de production des déclarations de sociétés de personnes en 2011

À compter du 1er janvier 2011, de nouvelles exigences en matière de production des déclarations de renseignements des sociétés de personnes entrent en vigueur. Ces nouvelles exigences en matière de production s'appliquent aux sociétés de personnes (et mandataire ou agent de sociétés de personnes) dont l'exercice prend fin à partir du 1er janvier 2011. Pour les sociétés de personnes dont l'exercice prend fin au plus tard le 31 décembre 2010, les exigences en matière de production actuelles s'appliquent toujours.

1. Qu'est-ce qu'un agent\mandataire?

Agent - Personne autorisée à agir au nom d'une autre personne.
Mandataire - Personne désignée pour agir au nom d'une autre.

Les définitions ne sont pas tirées de la Loi ni du Règlement de l'impôt sur le revenu. Elles fournissent au lecteur le sens courant des termes.

2. Je suis un mandataire ou un agent. En quoi le changement apporté à l’exigence de produire la Déclaration de renseignements des sociétés de personnes me concerne-t-il?

R. Toute personne qui détient une participation dans une société de personnes en tant qu’agent ou mandataire pour une autre personne, doit remplir et produire une Déclaration de renseignements des sociétés de personnes, distincte pour chaque feuillet de renseignements T5013 composé, reçu de chaque société de personnes pour laquelle une participation est retenue pour une autre personne.

3. En tant que mandataire ou agent, quels renseignements dois-je fournir pour respecter les exigences en matière de production?

R. Vous devez produire les formulaires et renseignements prescrits suivants, en plus de la Déclaration de renseignements des sociétés de personnes :

  • le formulaire prescrit T5013FIN, Déclaration financière des sociétés de personnes;
  • le formulaire prescrit T5013SUM, Résumé des feuillets;
  • une photocopie du feuillet de renseignements T5013 composé, État des revenus d’une société de personnes, que la société de personnes a émis au mandataire ou à l’agent au nom des investisseurs;
  • la copie 1 de chaque feuillet de renseignements T5013 émis par le mandataire ou l’agent à chaque personne (investisseur) pour laquelle il détient une participation;
  • l’original du formulaire dûment rempli T5013 Annexe 50, Part de l’associé et opérations du compte, donnant des renseignements sur chaque investisseur (voir la remarque ci-dessous);
  • les autres annexes T5013, formulaires ou documents qui s’appliquent.

Remarque
Vous devez inscrire sur l’Annexe 50 tous les renseignements qui, autrement, seraient transmis par la société de personnes à l’ARC. Les renseignements inscrits sur le formulaire prescrit T5013 Annexe 50, Part de l’associé et opérations du compte   doivent correspondre à tous les renseignements indiqués sur les feuillets de renseignements T5013 que la société de personnes a émis au mandataire ou à l’agent.

4. Je suis un mandataire ou un agent. Ai-je besoin d’un compte de programme RZ?

R. Oui. Vous devez vous inscrire pour obtenir un numéro de compte RZ de 15 caractères pour chaque société de personnes où vous détenez une participation. L’ARC émettra autant de numéros de compte RZ (RZ00001, RZ0002, etc.) que le nombre de sociétés de personnes dans lesquelles vous détenez une participation.

Le numéro de compte RZ est composé de 15 caractères répartis en trois parties; le numéro d’entreprise (NE) de neuf chiffres, un identifiant de programme de deux lettres, et un numéro de référence de quatre chiffres. Chaque entreprise ou entité légale ne devrait avoir qu’un seul NE. L’identifiant de programme et le numéro de référence servent à identifier le compte.

Numéro d'entreprise (NE) Identifiant de programme Numéro de référence
123456789 RZ 0001

Si vous avez besoin d’un compte RZ en votre qualité de mandataire ou d’agent d'une société de personnes, vous devez remplir le formulaire RC257, Demande de compte de programme (RZ) pour les déclarations de renseignements. Envoyez le formulaire RC257 dûment rempli, et le formulaire RC1 – Demande d’un numéro d’entreprise (NE), au besoin, à votre Centre fiscal le plus près. Pour trouver l’adresse, allez à http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/cntct/menu-fra.html. Si vous avez des questions, allez à www.arc.gc.ca/ne ou appelez au 1-800-959-5525.

5. Ma société de personnes n’avait pas été tenue de produire une Déclaration de renseignements des sociétés de personnes auparavant. La société de personnes satisfait maintenant à un ou plusieurs critères de production. Comment puis-je m'inscrire pour obtenir un compte de programme RZ?

Si vous devez produire une Déclaration de renseignements des sociétés de personnes, vous devez le faire en utilisant votre NE et un identifiant de programme RZ. Le numéro de compte RZ est composé de 15 caractères répartis en trois parties; le numéro d’entreprise (NE) de neuf chiffres, un identifiant de programme de deux lettres, et un numéro de référence de quatre chiffres. Chaque entreprise ou entité légale ne devrait avoir qu’un seul NE. L’identifiant de programme et le numéro de référence servent à identifier le compte.

Numéro d'entreprise (NE) Identifiant de programme Numéro de référence
123456789 RZ 0001

Si vous n’avez pas déjà de numéro d'entreprise (NE), allez à Inscription du numéro d'entreprise (NE) pour obtenir plus de renseignements. Pour obtenir un compte RZ, remplissez le formulaire  RC257 – Demande de compte de programme (RZ) pour les déclarations de renseignements , ou communiquez avec l’ARC.

Remarque : Si vous êtes un mandataire ou un agent d’une société de personnes, consultez les procédures d’inscription propres aux mandataires et agents.

6. Pourquoi l'Agence du Revenu du Canada (ARC) a-t-elle modifié les critères de production des déclarations des sociétés de personnes?

Le Règlement de l'impôt sur le revenu, adopté en 1989, exige que chaque société de personnes canadienne produise une déclaration de renseignements annuelle. Depuis, l'ARC a prévu, dans certaines conditions, une exception à l'exigence de production pour les sociétés de personnes comptant moins de six associés. Cependant, comme l'économie et le milieu des affaires canadiens ont évolué au cours des 20 dernières années, l'ARC a procédé à l'examen des conditions donnant droit à une exemption à l'exigence de production pour les sociétés de personnes. Selon l'examen de l'ARC, l'ampleur de l'activité d'entreprise et le montant d'actifs que détient une société de personnes, tout comme la complexité de la structure de cette dernière, sont plus importants que le nombre d'associés.

Les changements apportés permettront à l'ARC de concentrer ses efforts sur la complexité des activités des sociétés de personnes plutôt que sur le nombre d'associés.

7. S'agit-il d'une modification législative?

La loi a toujours exigé de chaque société de personnes qu'elle produise des déclarations de renseignements. Cependant, pour alléger le fardeau des déclarants, l'ARC a rédigé une politique administrative qui distingue les sociétés de personnes tenues de produire des déclarations de renseignements de celles qui ne le sont pas. Les changements apportés aux critères de production sont donc uniquement de nature administrative. Aucune modification à la législation n'est prévue.

8. Qu'est-ce qu'une société de personnes?

Le Bulletin d'interprétation IT-90, Qu'est-ce qu'une société de personnes?, définit une telle société comme la relation qui existe entre des personnes qui exploitent une entreprise en commun dans un but lucratif.

Les contribuables peuvent déterminer s'ils sont un associé d'une société de personnes en examinant le type et la portée de leur participation dans cette société et en consultant les lois de leur province ou territoire.

Une société de personnes peut être constituée de particuliers, de sociétés, de fiducies ou d'autres sociétés de personnes, peu importe la combinaison. Une société de personnes peut être constituée verbalement ou à l'aide d'un contrat écrit.

9. Quelle est la différence entre une société de personnes et les autres types d'entreprises ou de sociétés?

Une société existe de façon indépendante et distincte, sur le plan juridique, de ses actionnaires. Une société de personnes ne dispose cependant pas de ce type d'existence juridique indépendante et distincte de ses associés.

Une société de personnes n'est pas considérée comme une personne distincte, contrairement à une société, et n'est pas taxée à ce titre non plus. Tous les revenus et toutes les pertes sont transférés aux associés, qui déclarent leur part des revenus de la société de personnes dans leur déclaration de revenus (que ce soit la déclaration T1, T2 ou T3). Par conséquent, une société de personnes n'est, à ce titre, pas assujettie à l'impôt et n'est donc pas tenue de produire une déclaration de revenus.

Cependant, l'ARC exige de certaines sociétés de personnes, par l'entremise d'une politique administrative, qu'elles produisent une Déclaration de renseignements des sociétés de personnes (formulaire T5013). Pour en savoir plus sur les critères actuels de production d'une déclaration des sociétés de personnes, allez à www.arc.gc.ca/societedepersonnes.

10. Quelles modifications seront apportées à l'exigence de produire une Déclaration de renseignements des sociétés de personnes?

L'ARC va remplacer l'exigence portant sur le nombre d'associés dans une société de personnes par une exigence liée à des seuils financiers et va préciser les exigences relatives aux types de partenaires.

À compter du 1er janvier 2011, une société de personnes qui exploite une entreprise au Canada ou une société de personnes canadienne, qui exerce des opérations ou qui a des placements au Canada ou à l'étranger est tenue de produire un formulaire T5013 pour chaque exercice de la société de personnes.

  • Si, à la fin de l'exercice,
    • la valeur absolue combinée des recettes et des dépenses de la société de personnes est supérieure à 2 millions de dollars ou si la société de personnes compte plus de 5 millions de dollars en actifs;
  • Si, à un moment quelconque de l'exercice,
    • la société de personnes est multiple (elle compte parmi ses associés une autre société de personnes ou est elle-même une associée d'une autre société de personnes);
    • la société de personnes compte parmi ses associés une société ou une fiducie;
    • la société de personnes a acquis les actions accréditives d'une société exploitant une entreprise principale qui a engagé des frais de ressources canadiennes et a renoncé à ces frais en faveur de la société de personnes;
    • le ministre du Revenu national a demandé qu'une déclaration soit produite par écrit.

11. Que signifie « la valeur absolue combinée des recettes et des dépenses »?

La valeur absolue d'un nombre se dit de sa valeur numérique sans tenir compte du signe positif ou négatif qui le précède. Ainsi, « 3 » est la valeur absolue de +3 et de -3. Pour déterminer si une société de personnes dépasse le seuil des 2 millions de dollars, on doit ajouter le total des dépenses au total des revenus plutôt que de soustraire les dépenses des revenus, comme on le ferait pour déterminer le revenu net. Par exemple, une société de personnes dont les revenus se chiffrent à 1,5 million de dollars et les dépenses, à 1,25 million de dollars aurait des recettes d'une valeur absolue de 2,75 millions de dollars (1,5 million de dollars plus 1,25 million de dollars).

12. De quels détails financiers doit-on tenir compte pour déterminer si une société de personnes répond au critère selon lequel « la valeur absolue combinée des recettes et des dépenses dépasse le seuil des 2 millions de dollars »?

Les détails sur les recettes et les dépenses proviennent des montants figurant dans les états de compte. Les « recettes » désignent les revenus non compensés. Par exemple, on ne se servirait pas du bénéfice brut pour représenter les « recettes » puisque le bénéfice brut s'établit en soustrayant le coût des biens vendus des revenus. Les dépenses comprennent à la fois les coûts actuels et les coûts en capital (p. ex. l'amortissement). Les recettes de toutes sources (recettes non compensées) sont ajoutées au total des dépenses (les dépenses sont ici exprimées en nombres positifs) et le total sert à déterminer si le critère a été respecté.

Exemple :

Recettes 1 500 000 $
Coût des biens vendus 850 000 $
Bénéfice brut 650 000 $
Dépenses 400 000 $
Bénéfice net 250 000 $
Valeur absolue des recettes   1 500 000 $
Valeur absolue des dépenses    
- Coût des biens vendus 850 000 $  
- Dépenses 400 000 $ 1 250 000 $
Valeur absolue combinée des recettes et des dépenses 2 750 000 $

Cette société de personnes serait tenue de produire une déclaration puisque la valeur absolue combinée de ses recettes et de ses dépenses est supérieure à 2 millions de dollars.

13. Comment l'ARC détermine-t-elle si une société de personnes compte « plus de 5 millions de dollars en actifs »?

Le coût de tous les biens, tant corporels qu'incorporels, abstraction faite du montant non amorti, sert à déterminer si une société de personnes répond au critère de « plus de 5 millions de dollars en actifs ».

14. Le formulaire de la Déclaration de renseignements des sociétés de personnes sera-t-il lui-même modifié?

La déclaration fait actuellement l'objet d'une mise à jour en vue de l'année d'imposition 2011 et sera disponible ultérieurement. Allez à www.arc.gc.ca/societedepersonnes lorsque viendra le moment de produire les déclarations de renseignements des sociétés de personnes de 2011 pour tout savoir sur les formulaires dont vous aurez besoin pour produire votre déclaration.

15. Où peut-on obtenir plus de renseignements?

Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec le Service aux entreprises au 1-800-959-7775.

Date de modification :